We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gorgeous.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Blue Palace, a Luxury Collection Resort & Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Blue Palace, a Luxury Collection Resort & Spa to your Saves list
Blue Palace, a Luxury Collection Resort & Spa
5.0 of 5 Resort   |   PO Box 38, Elounda, Crete 72 053, Greece   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 36 Hotels in Elounda
Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Gorgeous.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here on our honeymoon. My husband and i have travelled extensively staying in top hotels all over the world and this is one of our favorites and i would definitely come back. The breakfast was amazing and they catered for special requests like low fat yogurt too. We only had dinner at the hotel twice - both times at the Greek restuarant I think it was called Blue Door. The food was amazing. Other times we ate in the village - Plakas- a short walk from the resort. Our room was away from the phenicular on the same level of the reception. the phenicular was quite slow so we worked out a way to take the stairs down to the pool/beach instead of waiting. Despite being a big resort i found it quite private with lots of space to sit and plenty of lounges by the pool. this isnt a place where you have to bags a sunlounge at the crack of dawn. We did stay in the off season though. We received the honeymoon treatment with flowers, champagne, cake as well. You would be wise to get a hire car to get there as it is about an hours drive from the airport. Having a car also meant we could visit nearby towns as plakas doesn't have much to offer but restuarants. You must also visit Spinalonga. Get a boat from Plakas. I also visited the gym which was ok.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sotikre, General Manager at Blue Palace, a Luxury Collection Resort & Spa, responded to this review, November 12, 2013
Dear Guest,

Many thanks for leaving your kind words following your recent stay and for choosing to spend such an important occasion of your life with us.
I was delighted to read that you enjoyed our breakfast buffet and the Blue Door tavern as well as the special touches we provided for your honeymoon. Our mission is to make your stay memorable in every way; therefore I appreciate your compliments which I was glad to share with the rest of the team.
I look forward to welcoming you back for many more special occasions.

Kind regards,

Sotiris Kremastiotis
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

954 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    549
    217
    106
    49
    33
See reviews for
185
578
11
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (216)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Swansea, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2013

This magnificent complex of rooms, restaurants, pools and bars faces the fabled previous leper colony island of Spinalonga, brought so vividly to life in Victoria Hislop's book 'The Island".
The complex is built on the side of a steep hill side affording every room with a view to the sea but the descent to the beach and swimming pools is by funicular which departs from the main reception area. The four restaurants offer very different menus - French, Italian, Eastern and, of course, Greek. The large sea pool is great for a quick cooling dip and ideal for those who are not so keen to jump into the sea!
The complex is situated about 50K from the main airport but transport is provided and takes about an hour. If you want to chill out in comfort, this is the place to go.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sotikre, General Manager at Blue Palace, a Luxury Collection Resort & Spa, responded to this review, November 12, 2013
Dear Guest,

It is truly a pleasure to hear how much you enjoyed your stay with us. Thank you for taking the time to provide this feedback, we hope to welcome you back to the Blue Palace again very soon!

Kind regards,

Sotiris Kremastiotis
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, IL
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2013

The hotel itself is wonderful. Beautiful grounds, beautiful rooms, wonderful food and restaurants, beautiful view. We had a room with a private pool which was awesome.but to be honest it was too cold to swim in!)

Unfortunately this hotel is filled with families and kids. I get it, it's a huge hotel with tons of pools and beaches. But the kids just make it not as exciting of a honeymoon destination for americas. I recommend that you spend you time and money in Santorini!

Room Tip: As for a pool upgrade!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Herent, Belgium
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2013

We ended up in the Blue Palace resort after having visited some small quiet hotels. The Blue Palace is a very large hotel and maybe it was a little too crowdy for us. The room was ok, the furniture was starting to show some damage. The bathroom was rather small but all the necessities were present.
To go to the beach you needed to use the only elevator avbailable in the resort. Sometimes you had to wait up to 15minutes to get down to the beach and swimming pool.
Big plus for this hotel: the welness facilities are free and women and men are seperated. The first day we wanted to enjoy the spa facilities, the jacuzzi water was cold, we mentioned this at the welness reception desk and the problem was already solved next morning.
Breakfast was very crowded and noisy and it was not very nice to wake up to. The staff at breakfast was so stressed out they couldn’t even smile. This was a big downer to my stay.
While we stayed in the resort, we enjoyed a nice dinner in one of the hotel restaurants. The food was great! There was a nice and calm atmosphere and you could see this worked wonders for the staff.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sotikre, General Manager at Blue Palace, a Luxury Collection Resort & Spa, responded to this review, November 12, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your recent stay with us.
Whilst I was pleased that there were certain parts of your stay that were enjoyable, particularly the Spa and our restaurants, I was disappointed to read about your experience with our staff at our breakfast buffet. We usually receive very positive comments regarding all our staffs’ excellent work and I am sorry we did not meet your expectations on this occasion.
I do hope we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back and proving to you the standards of service our guests have come to expect from us.

Kind regards,

Sotiris Kremastiotis
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bingley, England, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2013

We booked for 10 nights for our honeymoon and we wished we had booked 14 nights. The resort was brilliant and Flame restaurant was amazing. Make sure you try this. The other restaurants were good too, the italian was average.
The rooms were very luxurious and we enjoy lazying around in our private pool, although we did lose the sun around noon.
The staff were very polished in their delievery of everything and they are happy to help with any request.
Great honeymoon, great resort with beautiful views.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the vanicual lift so you get more privacy. The sun disappears from the priv...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sotikre, General Manager at Blue Palace, a Luxury Collection Resort & Spa, responded to this review, November 12, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. I am glad you enjoyed each detail we put into ensuring a relaxing and wonderful stay at our hotel. Every element of our property plays a part in your visit and I am so pleased to hear that we could provide you with the perfect place to escape to for your honeymoon.
Looking forward to having you with us again the next time you are in Crete.


Kind regards,

Sotiris Kremastiotis
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Top Contributor
118 reviews 118 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013

The service level was impeccable, from the greeting at the driveway, to the personalized ride & introduction to the room, etc...The room was sooooooooooooooooo nice!!!! Felt so spoiled! Loved the fruit plate & liquor (still don't know what it is, exactly). Food was pretty good, but not to-die-for...Only thing I would ask them to improve on was the wifi...

Room Tip: They're all great, with water views, great sleeps!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sotikre, General Manager at Blue Palace, a Luxury Collection Resort & Spa, responded to this review, November 12, 2013
Dear Guest,

I am ecstatic you had a fantastic stay at our resort. Our staff is committed to providing an unforgettable experience for our guests and I am delighted that we were able to exceed your expectations.
I hope to welcome you back on any future travels to Crete.

Kind regards,

Sotiris Kremastiotis
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, Wales, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013

We booked three nights here to kick start our honeymoon. It really was a lovely resort - although I think I appreciated it more after seeing the standard of the other accommodation we went on to stay in.

I was a little disappointed with our (upgraded) room. It was a massive space with lovely bathrooms and a plunge pool, but the soft furnishings were a little shabby and dated. A similarly priced UK hotel would be a LOT more plush. We were lucky that our plunge pool wasn't overlooked, as we noticed a lot of them weren't so private.

The service was 5 star though. The beach and poolsides were well tended, the rooms made at least twice a day, the reception staff helpful. Everything was just so comfortable!

The restaurants were a little disappointing since in Crete it seems vegetarians eat fish and ham, but when we mentioned this we were told that as the food was freshly made they could make up a dish for us.The salads at the Italian restaurant were particularly fresh and tasty. Breakfast however was a feast! Everything so fresh, and so much choice - and real champagne if that took your fancy... it quickly became my favourite meal of the day.

I had a bad experience at the spa, but when I complained we were offered a complimentary treatment and the second time it was wonderful - just the relaxing experience you'd hope for.

We must have mentioned that we were on our honeymoon when we checked in, because on our last night, there was a bottle of champagne and a cake in our room, and a bath strewn with petals made ready for us!

All in all a luxurious and memorable start to married life :)

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sotikre, General Manager at Blue Palace, a Luxury Collection Resort & Spa, responded to this review, November 12, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing the Blue Palace for your honeymoon and for taking the time to share your comments with us.
I was very happy to learn that your encounters with our staff were always pleasurable ones. We love to make our guests special occasions feel even more memorable by offering them the special touches you mention. We are very dedicated in making each and every guest stay as unique as possible and I am truly glad we achieved that on this very important celebration of your life. However, I apologize that our guestroom did not fully meet your expectations and have taken on board your feedback for future review.
I look forward to having you back at our resort.

Kind regards,

Sotiris Kremastiotis
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Blue Palace, a Luxury Collection Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blue Palace, a Luxury Collection Resort & Spa

Address: PO Box 38, Elounda, Crete 72 053, Greece
Phone Number:
Location: Greece > Crete > Lassithi Prefecture > Elounda
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Elounda
#4 Spa Hotel in Elounda
#5 Luxury Hotel in Elounda
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Elounda
#8 Romantic Hotel in Elounda
#9 Family Hotel in Elounda
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Blue Palace, a Luxury Collection Resort & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 251
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Blue Palace, Resort and Spa is a place of rediscovery. A member of the Condé Nast Traveler Gold List 2013, this luxury resort with exceptional charm, architecture and style, is the perfect hideaway to experience island luxury accommodations, authentic cuisine and the breathtaking beauty of a Greek island. Crete is a magical place. Spend a day exploring old villages, wineries and the ancient Palace of Knossos or simply unwind with cocktails under the enchanting arches of the Arsenali Lounge Bar. Get on board the traditional wooden boat “Meraki” which will take you around the coast of Elounda, followed by a BBQ on the remote island of Agios Fokas. Explore the island of Spinalonga with its Venetian, Turkish and Arabic monuments just across from the resort and finish your day with an authentic Greek dinner at Blue Door, the tavern right at water’s edge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Starwood EMEA, Priceline, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Blue Palace, a Luxury Collection Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Blue Palace Hotel Elounda
Blue Palace Resort And Spa
Blue Palace Resort & Spa
Blue Palace, a Luxury Collection Resort & Spa Elounda, Crete

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Blue Palace, a Luxury Collection Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.