We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A magic place for R and R” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Blue Palace, a Luxury Collection Resort & Spa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Blue Palace, a Luxury Collection Resort & Spa to your Saves list
Blue Palace, a Luxury Collection Resort & Spa
5.0 of 5 Resort   |   PO Box 38, Elounda, Crete 72 053, Greece   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 37 Hotels in Elounda
Swansea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
91 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“A magic place for R and R”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2013

This magnificent complex of rooms, restaurants, pools and bars faces the fabled previous leper colony island of Spinalonga, brought so vividly to life in Victoria Hislop's book 'The Island".
The complex is built on the side of a steep hill side affording every room with a view to the sea but the descent to the beach and swimming pools is by funicular which departs from the main reception area. The four restaurants offer very different menus - French, Italian, Eastern and, of course, Greek. The large sea pool is great for a quick cooling dip and ideal for those who are not so keen to jump into the sea!
The complex is situated about 50K from the main airport but transport is provided and takes about an hour. If you want to chill out in comfort, this is the place to go.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sotikre, General Manager at Blue Palace, a Luxury Collection Resort & Spa, responded to this review, November 12, 2013
Dear Guest,

It is truly a pleasure to hear how much you enjoyed your stay with us. Thank you for taking the time to provide this feedback, we hope to welcome you back to the Blue Palace again very soon!

Kind regards,

Sotiris Kremastiotis
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,055 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    621
    238
    111
    51
    34
See reviews for
202
642
12
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (250)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, IL
Level Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2013

The hotel itself is wonderful. Beautiful grounds, beautiful rooms, wonderful food and restaurants, beautiful view. We had a room with a private pool which was awesome.but to be honest it was too cold to swim in!)

Unfortunately this hotel is filled with families and kids. I get it, it's a huge hotel with tons of pools and beaches. But the kids just make it not as exciting of a honeymoon destination for americas. I recommend that you spend you time and money in Santorini!

Room Tip: As for a pool upgrade!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Herent, Belgium
Level Contributor
29 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2013

We ended up in the Blue Palace resort after having visited some small quiet hotels. The Blue Palace is a very large hotel and maybe it was a little too crowdy for us. The room was ok, the furniture was starting to show some damage. The bathroom was rather small but all the necessities were present.
To go to the beach you needed to use the only elevator avbailable in the resort. Sometimes you had to wait up to 15minutes to get down to the beach and swimming pool.
Big plus for this hotel: the welness facilities are free and women and men are seperated. The first day we wanted to enjoy the spa facilities, the jacuzzi water was cold, we mentioned this at the welness reception desk and the problem was already solved next morning.
Breakfast was very crowded and noisy and it was not very nice to wake up to. The staff at breakfast was so stressed out they couldn’t even smile. This was a big downer to my stay.
While we stayed in the resort, we enjoyed a nice dinner in one of the hotel restaurants. The food was great! There was a nice and calm atmosphere and you could see this worked wonders for the staff.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sotikre, General Manager at Blue Palace, a Luxury Collection Resort & Spa, responded to this review, November 12, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your recent stay with us.
Whilst I was pleased that there were certain parts of your stay that were enjoyable, particularly the Spa and our restaurants, I was disappointed to read about your experience with our staff at our breakfast buffet. We usually receive very positive comments regarding all our staffs’ excellent work and I am sorry we did not meet your expectations on this occasion.
I do hope we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back and proving to you the standards of service our guests have come to expect from us.

Kind regards,

Sotiris Kremastiotis
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bingley, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2013

We booked for 10 nights for our honeymoon and we wished we had booked 14 nights. The resort was brilliant and Flame restaurant was amazing. Make sure you try this. The other restaurants were good too, the italian was average.
The rooms were very luxurious and we enjoy lazying around in our private pool, although we did lose the sun around noon.
The staff were very polished in their delievery of everything and they are happy to help with any request.
Great honeymoon, great resort with beautiful views.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the vanicual lift so you get more privacy. The sun disappears from the priv...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sotikre, General Manager at Blue Palace, a Luxury Collection Resort & Spa, responded to this review, November 12, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. I am glad you enjoyed each detail we put into ensuring a relaxing and wonderful stay at our hotel. Every element of our property plays a part in your visit and I am so pleased to hear that we could provide you with the perfect place to escape to for your honeymoon.
Looking forward to having you with us again the next time you are in Crete.


Kind regards,

Sotiris Kremastiotis
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
119 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013

The service level was impeccable, from the greeting at the driveway, to the personalized ride & introduction to the room, etc...The room was sooooooooooooooooo nice!!!! Felt so spoiled! Loved the fruit plate & liquor (still don't know what it is, exactly). Food was pretty good, but not to-die-for...Only thing I would ask them to improve on was the wifi...

Room Tip: They're all great, with water views, great sleeps!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sotikre, General Manager at Blue Palace, a Luxury Collection Resort & Spa, responded to this review, November 12, 2013
Dear Guest,

I am ecstatic you had a fantastic stay at our resort. Our staff is committed to providing an unforgettable experience for our guests and I am delighted that we were able to exceed your expectations.
I hope to welcome you back on any future travels to Crete.

Kind regards,

Sotiris Kremastiotis
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, Wales, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013

We booked three nights here to kick start our honeymoon. It really was a lovely resort - although I think I appreciated it more after seeing the standard of the other accommodation we went on to stay in.

I was a little disappointed with our (upgraded) room. It was a massive space with lovely bathrooms and a plunge pool, but the soft furnishings were a little shabby and dated. A similarly priced UK hotel would be a LOT more plush. We were lucky that our plunge pool wasn't overlooked, as we noticed a lot of them weren't so private.

The service was 5 star though. The beach and poolsides were well tended, the rooms made at least twice a day, the reception staff helpful. Everything was just so comfortable!

The restaurants were a little disappointing since in Crete it seems vegetarians eat fish and ham, but when we mentioned this we were told that as the food was freshly made they could make up a dish for us.The salads at the Italian restaurant were particularly fresh and tasty. Breakfast however was a feast! Everything so fresh, and so much choice - and real champagne if that took your fancy... it quickly became my favourite meal of the day.

I had a bad experience at the spa, but when I complained we were offered a complimentary treatment and the second time it was wonderful - just the relaxing experience you'd hope for.

We must have mentioned that we were on our honeymoon when we checked in, because on our last night, there was a bottle of champagne and a cake in our room, and a bath strewn with petals made ready for us!

All in all a luxurious and memorable start to married life :)

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sotikre, General Manager at Blue Palace, a Luxury Collection Resort & Spa, responded to this review, November 12, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing the Blue Palace for your honeymoon and for taking the time to share your comments with us.
I was very happy to learn that your encounters with our staff were always pleasurable ones. We love to make our guests special occasions feel even more memorable by offering them the special touches you mention. We are very dedicated in making each and every guest stay as unique as possible and I am truly glad we achieved that on this very important celebration of your life. However, I apologize that our guestroom did not fully meet your expectations and have taken on board your feedback for future review.
I look forward to having you back at our resort.

Kind regards,

Sotiris Kremastiotis
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2013

We visited 2nd week of October, and it can get windy on Crete this time of year. We were lucky, we spent 5 days there of which 1.5 were windy and about 24 deg. The rest were 28-29 Deg. They shut down end of October so this is really end of Season.

The Hotel is lovely and we had booked a room with a pool (not heated). As SPG Gold members, we were upgrade to a Maisonette with a pool (not heated) and free WiFi throughout the Hotel. (Please note that there are Free WiFi spots but only in a couple of areas otherwise you have to pay)...but as others have stated...its a tad too cold.

As its end of Season, you lose the sun on the deck area in your room around 12pm-1pm depending on where you are in the resort, which means down to the pool areas (there are 2, fresh heated pool - comfortable, by reception, or sea water pool by the beach unheated) or the beach (pebbles). It maybe worth saving the pennies if you are travelling end of season to get a regular room as the rooms with pools are really useable realistically.

End of Season means you are never hunting for a sun lounger either !!

The rooms are clean, views of the bay and Spinalonga spectacular, staff are polite, good selection of restaurants (we ate at the Isola - Italian, and Blue Door - Greek), which was comparable price wise to eating out in Elounda or the nearest village, Plaka). The food was lovely at both places and servings were healthy. Breakfast Buffet was also included, which ranged from Cold Meats, Cheeses, Croisants, Cerals to fry ups.

Plaka is walkable (5-7 minutes) and you can get the boat to Spinalonga from there EUR 8 pp return as well as some lovely restaurants. Elounda is probably 5-7 minute Taxi ride at EUR 7 one way.

Taxi from the Airport (Heraklion) to the Hotel is EUR 97 and EUR 85 from Hotel back to the Airport (1hr each way). Car rental from the Airport works out roughly EUR 26-32 per day (without Fuel) for a Panda/Polo with excess protection at this point in the Season, so it may be worthwhile renting a car as it allows your to wander around the Island.

Would we go back...definitely, one day...but only because there are lots of lovely places to visit in the meantime.

PS. One thing that niggled with us was why no tea/coffee facilities in the room ?
Having said that you can ask them for a kettle and then go buy tea/coffee/milk from Plaka...

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sotikre, General Manager at Blue Palace, a Luxury Collection Resort & Spa, responded to this review, November 28, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for the feedback and I am pleased to hear that you had a wonderful stay while with us. We take pride in what we do and always aim to deliver a brilliant service.
Looking forward to welcoming you again here at the Blue Palace.

Kind regards,

Sotiris Kremastiotis
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Elounda
4.8 mi away
Elounda Beach Hotel & Villas
19.3 mi away
Creta Maris Beach Resort
Creta Maris Beach Resort
#6 of 183 in Hersonissos
4.5 of 5 stars 1,529 reviews
70.9 mi away
Rimondi Boutique Hotel
Rimondi Boutique Hotel
#2 of 171 in Rethymnon
5.0 of 5 stars 359 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Elounda Bay Palace
Elounda Bay Palace
#13 of 37 in Elounda
4.0 of 5 stars 399 reviews
10.2 mi away
Daios Cove Luxury Resort & Villas
6.2 mi away
St. Nicolas Bay Resort Hotel & Villas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blue Palace, a Luxury Collection Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blue Palace, a Luxury Collection Resort & Spa

Address: PO Box 38, Elounda, Crete 72 053, Greece
Phone Number:
Location: Greece > Crete > Lasithi Prefecture > Elounda
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Elounda
#3 Spa Hotel in Elounda
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Elounda
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Elounda
#6 Luxury Hotel in Elounda
#9 Family Hotel in Elounda
#9 Romantic Hotel in Elounda
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Blue Palace, a Luxury Collection Resort & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 251
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Blue Palace, Resort and Spa is a place of rediscovery. A member of the Condé Nast Traveler Gold List 2013, this luxury resort with exceptional charm, architecture and style, is the perfect hideaway to experience island luxury accommodations, authentic cuisine and the breathtaking beauty of a Greek island. Crete is a magical place. Spend a day exploring old villages, wineries and the ancient Palace of Knossos or simply unwind with cocktails under the enchanting arches of the Arsenali Lounge Bar. Get on board the traditional wooden boat “Meraki” which will take you around the coast of Elounda, followed by a BBQ on the remote island of Agios Fokas. Explore the island of Spinalonga with its Venetian, Turkish and Arabic monuments just across from the resort and finish your day with an authentic Greek dinner at Blue Door, the tavern right at water’s edge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Splendia, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Venere so you can book your Blue Palace, a Luxury Collection Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Blue Palace Resort And Spa
Blue Palace Hotel Elounda
Blue Palace Resort & Spa
Blue Palace, a Luxury Collection Resort & Spa Elounda, Crete

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Blue Palace, a Luxury Collection Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.