We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Way better than expected” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Markakis Apartments

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save Saved
You added Markakis Apartments to your Saves list
Markakis Apartments
Minoos 5, Elounda, Crete 72053, Greece   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Scotland
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Way better than expected”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2014

We were really dubious about this place after seeing how cheap it was - we were convinced it was either horrible or miles from anything but we could not have been more wrong.

Location:
5 mins (even in heels) walk from the town square which you can get to via the main road or directly opposite the entrance to the apartment is a set of steps down to the water where you can walk along passed all the restaurants into the square and take in the gorgeous views to Spinalonga.

The road with the apartments is on a steep hill - so steep that you will really struggle going down it in heels but its so short that it's not an issue at all.

Apartment:
We were in apt4 which is mid way up the hill so we had a view of the sea (although blocked by some buildings) but the views from the higher apartments must be amazing. The balcony was huge and you get the sun all day. There is a table area with shelter too if you prefer.

The living area was a really good size too with a dining table, coffee table, sofa and kitchenette.

The bathroom was small with just a shower unit but clean and all you really need. There is no window so it can get a bit stuffy but no big deal.

The bedroom wasn't quite as spacious as the rest of the apartment but is all you need for two single beds and room for a suitcase and dressing table.

The apartment was very clean and clearly well looked after. The wi-fi is fantastic, it dropped off once during our stay but after a quick text Mikhalis had it fixed within a couple of hours.


Why its better than other apartments in the same price bracket:
On arrival our late night flight was delayed and we didn't reach Elounda until 3.30am. Mikhalis very kindly picked us up from the town square and drove us back to the apartments to save us searching in the middle of the night.

When we arrived in the apartment it was immaculate and there was a much needed bottle of wine waiting for us which was a really nice touch.

The family invited us and the other apartments to a barbecue on our 2nd night and they could not have been more friendly and hospitable, they provided lovely food which Dmitri cooked on the enormous purpose built barbecue and drink including home made wine and raki and gave us lots of good advice on what to see and do in the area.

We had friends staying in one of the other apartments who had a birthday while we were there and Rena and Dmitri kindly gave him a bottle of wine to celebrate.

When we arrived back to our apartment one evening we found a bottle of raki in our fridge which was really generous.

Mikhalis was always contactable even with a quick text if there were any issues.

On our last day our flight was late at night so we requested a late check out (7pm!!) which Rena told us not to worry about and there was no charge. Also just by chance Mikhalis arrived at the apartments as we were leaving and kindly drove us to catch our transfer at the square.



I'm sure all of the above is dependent on how busy they are and what ability they have to be able to do these extra things but we were definitely not disappointed and will be back again as soon as we can!

Room Tip: Ask for a higher room if possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

47 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    32
    15
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
14
26
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Middlesbrough, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2014

We stayed the first week in May 2014 so the season was just starting. Following a late flight into Crete we were welcomed by Michael and shown to our apartment. We had speciifcally asked for Apt 7 (this is the one with the view on the website) and were not disappointed. Spacious, a view to die for, clean and light with an excellent kitchen facitlity (not that we used it much other than for breakfast). We didn't see much of the owners as we were out early most days but it wasn't our first time in Elounda so that didn't matter to us. However, whenever we needed anything it was just a quick call and someone was there to help. Although this is a 2 bedroom apartment in doesn't afford much privacy as the 2nd bedroom is an annexe off the master - so bear this in mind if you are 2 couples sharing. The beds were a bit hard but that's down to prefrence and in my experience most of the beds in Greece are like this. The apartments are a bit further from the square than Google suggests, however the steep hill is only short and even shorter if you get an apartment on a lower floor. It only took us a leisurely 5 minutes to walk to the Harbour each night where there are an abundance of bars and restaurants to choose from. I would definietly stay here again or recommend to a friend.

Room Tip: Apt 7 for the view, balcony and space
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Middlesex
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2014

We did a lot of research in choosing Elounda as a resort and Markakis apartments and our expectations were exceeded on both counts. We booked directly with Michael - very straight forward , he offered us a choice of apartments and helped sort out a taxi transfer from the airport. The apartment was close to the centre , very well designed, the beds comfortable, the shower hot. Cooking facilities were reasonable - we were able to cook a few meals using tasty local ingredients that we ate out on the balcony. And what a balcony - huge , with views out over Spinalonga Peninsula with glorious sunrises for me to attempt to sketch. Linen and towels were changed and the bins emptied every couple of days and the family constantly checked everything was ok (eg fixing a faulty shower while we were out at dinner) The wifi signal was better than we have at home and it was great to be able to keep in contact with friends and family so easily as well as listen to R3 via iplayer. We loved it and are already planning coming back next year.

Room Tip: The higher up the better the view - we were in room 6 with a huge balcony and views of the sunrise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
flitwick
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2014 via mobile

Michael and his family couldn't have made us more welcome. They provided information about bus times, restaurants etc. there was water, French toast, butter, jam and milk when we arrived. The apartment was cleaned thoroughly twice a week with a change of shower towels. It was cold at night in April so take jumpers, warm night wear and slipper socks (the floor is cold). The wifi connection was very fast so could download films for a quiet night in. The safe and sandwich maker was great. It was easy to e-Mail Michael if we needed anything, he always replied promptly. The bus fare to the airport was €8 per person plus €3 to Aghios, taking approx 90 mins depending on connections. Hope to return again.

Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2014

we are ready to go back at Makakais appartment. the place is really quiet and calm with a fantastic view?.
besides , Michaels's T famiyl was relaly helpful, very avalubale for us and cocooned us !!
I would definitely recommend the appartments to friends !

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chichester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2014

We have been to Elounda before but wanted somewhere different to stay than on our last visit. We chose Markakis Apartments on the recommendation of Tripadvisor and were not disappointed. The apartment was clean, suitably equipped and well positioned in the town, being a 5 minute walk to the town centre and the harbour side, but quiet and private. The owners were very helpful - fed us from a family barbecue they had one evening - but not intrusive.
We hired a car but this is not essential as all amenities are within a reasonable walking distance. The apartments are positioned on a steep road but not too far up. We would gladly go back and will do so again.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haugesund, Norway
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2014

We were very pleased with the spacious appartment and the Elounda location. We were tràveling by rental car and booked the same day we arrived. Car park could be better, but ok!
The owner checked in to ensure we were comfortable.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Markakis Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Markakis Apartments

Address: Minoos 5, Elounda, Crete 72053, Greece
Phone Number:
Location: Greece > Crete > Lassithi Prefecture > Elounda
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 33 Specialty Lodging in Elounda
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Markakis Apartments are situated in the famous vacation resort of Elounda in the Eastern Crete region. The Markakis apartments in Elounda are a family business which numbers eight modern residents, fully furnished, able to accommodate from 2 to 6 people.All our apartments feature spacious bedrooms and living rooms, spacious terraces modern indoor and outdoor furniture, all chosen with the personal taste of the owners.The modern and ingenuous design combined with the wealth of the amenities offered, will steal your heart from the very first time. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Markakis Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Markakis Apartments Elounda, Crete

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Markakis Apartments, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.