We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Owner very pleasant - Apartment dire!” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Tasmania Village

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Tasmania Village to your Saves list
Tasmania Village
2.5 of 5 Condominium   |   Mouzaki, Elounda, Crete 72053, Greece   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #12 of 34 Specialty Lodging in Elounda
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Worthing, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Owner very pleasant - Apartment dire!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2010

We didn't choose this accommodation but were changed to this 24 hours before departure by our tour operator. A good 30 minute walk from Elounda centre. The apartment was tatty, the smell of drains, especially on the patio was overwhelming. The owner was helpful (not helpful enough to change our apartment though!) - nice pool & bar area. Elounda and the surrounding area were lovely and a visit to Plaka and Spinalonga is a must (try to read "The Island" by Victoria Hislop before you go). Great resort but wouldn't recommend this accommodation.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

104 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    48
    28
    9
    12
    7
See reviews for
22
52
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Staffordshire
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
82 helpful votes 82 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2010

We have just returned home from a week staying at the Tasmania Village for the first time, but it certainly won't be our last. We had booked a studio for 2 this was in the older of the two blocks but it was traditional,clean with a balcony with a side seaview & thats all you need. The apartments are situated about 25mins from the centre of Elounda but the walk in to the town is lovely all along the coast & there is a good footpath all the way, the apartments themselves are set on the hillside so you have great views.
There is a freshwater swimming pool on site with ample sunbeds & panoramic views of the bay from the pool area. There is also a pool bar serving food & drinks. Anna was in charge while we were there & she is a lovely lady nothing is too much trouble for her & will help you with anything you need. The food at the bar was excellent with a wide choose of snacks served from early morning to late evening, the prices at the bar are very reasonable, no different to what you will pay in the traverns in the village. Overall, a fantastic week in Elounda which was made even better by Anna's warm personality & friendly advice.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicestershire, England
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2010

What a lovely spot halfway between Elounda and Placka villages. Wonderfull bay with views to Spinalonga. Ahgios Nicholas is just 20mins away, also beautifull.Tasmania is just right for a good relax . Good basic base with clean linen every fourth day. Anna and Maria, and their family couldnt do enough for us. Well stocked bar and nice pool. Good weather made it a great holiday. Just what we wanted

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2010

We booked this at the last minute to get some sun before winter kicked in, and it was the perfect break.

The hotel itself is pretty basic but this is all we were after. We really enjoyed breakfast on the balcony overlooking the sea, with a great view of Spinalonga. I don't think the facilities are quite good enough to describe it as self-catering as I imagine cooking dinner would be difficult, but you can certainly have breakfast and make sandwiches for a day out.

The complex is obviously meant to be a base rather than a place to stay throughout the holiday - the pool area is small but nice, and the staff and other guests were quite friendly but not intrusive. It's not far from Elounda and Plaka is very close too, but being out of the centre means that it's very quiet. If you're after a larger town, Heraklion is only a 20-minute drive away.

The location is definitely the best thing about Tasmania Village, and the fact that we felt welcome but were essentially left to our own devices. A great get-away.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Yorkshire
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2009

We had a wonderful 2 week holiday at the Tasmania. Our room was spacious & bright & simply but adequately furnished. The bathroom could probably do with some refurbishment but the lovely views made up for this. There are some basement rooms which are not so good but the Cosmos rep told us that Cosmos do not use these. Remember this is budget price accommodation so do not expect luxury. The pool and pool bar are both good. We found all the staff friendly. Anna, who runs the pool bar from 9am to midnight, could not have been more helpful.
The Tasmania is built on a slope so there are steps but we have stayed in places with far more. It is about 25 minutes walk into Elounda centre but it is a flat walk along a pavement by the sea with lovely views. There are buses but they are not very frequent. We enjoyed the walk. We used a taxi once when we had a lot of shopping. It cost 5 euros. It is easy to get around from Elounda centre as there is a very frequent service to Agios Nicholaus. This is a beautiful part of Crete with lots to see and plenty of good restaurants and tavernas in both Elounda and nearby Plaka.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2009

Our room was spacious, suitable equipped and was all that we could have wanted on this, our first holiday in Crete.

We arrived in the dark & when we opened the door the next day, we were both dumbstruck by the FANTASTIC view - the bay, the peninsular & Spinalonga Island!
There was a steep walk to water level but flat, lit paths to either Plaka or Elounda itself and great places (not sandy beaches) along the way to stop and sunbathe,swim or snorkel. Once you reach either - plenty of places to eat, drink or shop.
Tasmania Village itself has a lovely pool, with sun loungers and parasols; all located by the bar, where you can buy food & drink from 9am to 12 midnight and would be quite content to pass the whole holiday.

So whilst the location was really fine, I must say that the real bonus of Tasmania is Anna, who was working whilst we were there ( Her sister-in-law Maria, shares the workload).
Maria was a star. Friendly, helpful and so wiling to help in any way she could - I cannot recommend highly enough her dedication to the village and her desire to make every single visitor's holiday as special as possible.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
manchester
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2009

A beautifull location very scenic
studio apartment basic but clean
excellent hostess in Anna (manager)
extremely helpfull lovely lady
couldnt fault anything.
Only draw back being took 30 mins to walk to elouda village extremely hot in daytime
good points beach over the road although small and rocky always managed to get a sun bed the swimming is wonderfull, a calm bay.
trip to spinalonga on boat to be combined with reading the novel by Victoria Hislop The Island before you go excellent (I beleive they are making a film of said book this September)
Please don't hesitate to stay at these apartments as we had a great time and would love to visit again.

Stayed August 2009, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Tasmania Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tasmania Village

Address: Mouzaki, Elounda, Crete 72053, Greece
Location: Greece > Crete > Lasithi Prefecture > Elounda
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 34 Specialty Lodging in Elounda
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Tasmania Village 2.5*
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Despegar.com and Priceline so you can book your Tasmania Village reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tasmania Village Elounda, Crete
Tasmania Village Hotel Elounda

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tasmania Village, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.