We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Sceney!!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Tasmania Village

Save Saved
You added Tasmania Village to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Tasmania Village
Mouzaki, Elounda, Crete 72053, Greece   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #17 of 32 Specialty lodging in Elounda
Gloucester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Beautiful Sceney!!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2013

Just spent 2 fantastic weeks at Tasmania Village!! Scenery Beautiful, especially from our apartment balcony, even glimpsed the giant turtles in the sea. Apartments very clean and adequate for self catering. Very comfy beds! And what lovely people. Thank you Maria, George and Sharon for such a welcome. You'll be seeing us same time, same place, next year. God willing? Cretans are such lovely warm people and the food was yummy. A must have is a Gyros!!
Would recommend having a car so you could see more of the Island, but not a must.

Room Tip: If you can get rooms 6,8,9,or 10,you'll have such beautiful views. On the whole the resort is a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

87 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    36
    27
    6
    12
    6
See reviews for
14
44
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Southampton
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012 via mobile

We were looking for a quiet get away and certainly got it. Situation for us was perfect 20 min walk from the small town of Elounda and right beside the bay.
Maria and George were very helpful and Maria could rustle up some amazing food very quickly, recommend the kebab ( not to be mistaken for the uk' s sad attempts)
Apartment was as you would expect & clean with good views just right for a base to explore.
All in all great memories of a short break.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012 via mobile

This was my second visit to tasmania village. Just couldn't wait, to wake up in the morning and go to the bar/pool area for the fantastic english breakfast that maria cooks, and of course to enjoy it, with the spectacular view of the golf of elounda and spinalonga island. Love the way of the greek and mostly cretan people way of life. They are so laid back!! So relaxed. I actually envy that!!!!! For the rooms,the views,the people just cant find the words to describe them. Ignore any bad reviews!!! Where ever you go you ll always find people that are not happy with anything!! Try tasmania village and you dont have to loose a thing!!!. On the other hand you ll have a lot to gain...

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

My parents have been going to Tasmania Village for 17 years, and at last I was able to join them this time.
What a fabulous holiday! Maria and George are so welcoming. It is like being part of the family. The accommodation is comfortable and clean, the pool is spotless too, and Elounda is so laid back you cannot help but relax. I will be back next year, just try and stop me!

Room Tip: All rooms seem to have fabulous views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carmarthen, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012

We havent been back for five years and the welcome we received was amazing we couldnt of been treated better - its very easy going and we loved every day of our 3 week holiday totally relaxed what more could we want - big thankyou maria george and family - great we will be back -this was our fourth time over 10 years what more can you say

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2012

Spent 2 weeks at Tasmania with my partner, came back refreshed and restored. This was our first holiday without the children and we made the right choice. On arrival at 3am, after a 2hr coach journey , we were relieved and quite delighted when we saw our studio appartment, due to the negativity which is unfair from previous reviews. Although our room was basic it was clean and had all the amenities needed (after all we wasn't expecting a 5* luxury) After a couple of hours of anticipated sleep, we woke up to breathtaking and spectacular views, from our balcony. We found Maria,Goerge the owners, there family very warm and welcoming also Sharon the house keeper. The pool/bar area small, intimate but enough, never crowed or to busy.

The walk to Elounda Village around 20 mins (like previously stated) is a nice walk for taking in the scenery i.e. shoreline, mountains and backdrops.

Elounda is a small, rural unspoilt village,which captures alot of tourists due to it's traditionalism. This is why it is deffinetly more suited to the holiday maker who wishes to slow things down, unwind and have a nice meal by the harbour.

Thoughout the 2 weeks we spent here, we met some great people who have been returning to Tasmania and Elounda for years (one couple, 17yrs)....So does this not tell you that there is obviously something special worth returning for? We wlll be.

Marcel & Sharon..

Room Tip: The view from our studio room 8 was perfect looking out into the bay so was either side of us, the f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Isle of Man
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2012

We always said we would never go back to a place time and time again, but Tasmania really kicked that belief into touch as this was our fourth visit there. As soon as we wake on the first morning and look at the stunning views, it's like we have come home. It's such a relaxed atmosphere and Anna, Maria, George and their families (and Sharon, the cleaner) are so welcoming, that we can switch into holiday mode and forget our 'other' life as soon as we get there. Our apartment was spacious and cleaned every other day and linen/towels changed frequently throughout our stay. The variety and quality of food on offer at the bar is super and customer service is second-to-none. Both Anna and Maria are bilingual, speaking English (with an Australian accent) and Greek, and have helped us deal with parking tickets, care-hire problems and are a source of much local knowledge. If you make the effort to talk to them and other holidaymakers you will get so much more out of your holiday at Tasmania than a simple 'flop and drop' experience. We have already booked for next year. Very highly recommended!

Room Tip: The apartments at the top of the property have amazing views and are well ventilated, so you may not...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Tasmania Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tasmania Village

Address: Mouzaki, Elounda, Crete 72053, Greece
Location: Greece > Crete > Lassithi Prefecture > Elounda
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 32 Specialty lodging in Elounda
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Tasmania Village reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tasmania Village Elounda, Crete
Tasmania Village Hotel Elounda

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tasmania Village, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.