We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“bed & breakfast excellent quality/cost” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Selena Village

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Selena Village to your Saves list
Selena Village
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   San Petros, Elounda, Crete 72053, Greece (Formerly Elounda Garden Suites)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #14 of 36 Hotels in Elounda
lecco
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“bed & breakfast excellent quality/cost”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

We've been there for one week vacation to go to the beaches and drive around for tourism. Really good hotel for bed&breakfast. Nice personnel at reception, ready to satisfy requests. Very nice surprise at arrival : a gift in each room (a heavy book with 365 photographs of Crete). The rooms are clean, towels changed even if not necessary. Very good breakfast with bacon, eggs, sweets, cereals, fruit, etc. We've checked the buffet restaurant only once at arrival (they were really kind to keep it open after closure to help us really late); unfortunately not all food were available at 22:30 but we think it obvious.

Room Tip: check if room dimension is dependent on price. The hotel is made of some small buildings close to e...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

104 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    51
    25
    15
    7
    6
See reviews for
18
55
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
McLean, Virginia
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2013

Unbelievable place--rooms, service, food, design, and I could go on and on. I am in the hotel business so am a very picky traveler. The ownership and team there are totally right on target with everything--many places claim to care about the details, this one ACTUALLY does it! The design and layout of the entire hotel does a beautiful job of maximizing the amazing views, and yes it is shades of blue everywhere. Breakfast and lunch buffets are excellent, and staff is very attentive---just an example: the first morning I was there I took my coffee back up to finish in my room. When I came back later in the day after touring, the staff had brought a coffee service up to the room--complete with water kettle, cups, coffee, tea, etc. That is paying attention, and was very much appreciated. The owner/manager has created a team of caring staff that will make your experience on Crete truly special. Don't miss this place!

Room Tip: All rooms have balconies and views, but the ones on the front have a few balconies, so you can have...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raumati Beach, New Zealand
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013

We stayed two nights and found the staff very friendly and helpful.

Unfortunately there was an odour to do with the plumbing of our room which was otherwise good.

The buffet was very good but I felt some of the fresh fruit items at breakfast were below par.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
athens greece
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2013

We had stayed 3 years ago and it was a bad 2 stars hotel with many problems and complains from our side but last year we visit the hotel and we are delighted about the new hotel we see, this year the suprise was perfect
The hotel has been refurbished and it is a good 4 star hotel is recommended for couples who want to feel relaxing, calm good food clean rooms overlooking the endless blue!

Room Tip: ask for rooms looking the island of spinalonga
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heraklion, Greece
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

recommended to all that wish to spend comfortable holidays in a unique place.Elounda is a beutifull summer area and spinalonga is the small fortress island that you have to visit for sure. it is visible from the hotel. Accommodation is very pleasant in Selena and the staff is very helpful and polite.

Room Tip: need a car
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens
1 review
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

Nice and very clean room. Traditional style although kind of minimal. No unnecessary stuff. Quite and piece, very friendly and decreet personnel taking very good care of everything. The location is perfect. Offers fabulous Spinalonga Island view. The beach in a front of the hotel is nice and quiet. If you look for trendy and sandy one - its definitely not your choice - otherwise is perfect. Finally the Cretan buffet offered by the hotel (for only 14 Euro per person) is a real experience. Definitely worth each euro spent. highly recommended.

Room Tip: room 317 is just gorgous
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2012

This is a fairly basic hotel, but pleasant and homely, everything is fresh, clean and comfortable. I liked the calm, clear colours in the room, that with the gorgeous sea and mountain views means you can really put your mind at rest. Because the hotel is at the edge of Elounda village, it's peaceful and feels like being in the countryside.

At the same time the town with plenty of restaurants, bars and shops is close by. There's a lovely tree-lined seaside promenade into it, about 15-20mins walk, or there's a good local bus and taxi service.

(The hotel has just been renovated over the past few months and I believe under new management as of this year).

The hotel is fairly small so if you don't like all those massive resorts and to be surrounded by hordes of other tourists then this is for you! Staff are genuine, friendly and helpful. All the facilities are in good condition and service works fine. (Contrary to some of the other reviews here, my room was cleaned every day and fresh towels provided; air-conditioning also worked just fine, and that was in hot weather around +30C). The hotel serves a delicious home-cooked buffet dinner in the evening (at extra cost), with a variety of local foods.

The hotel has its own little beach, or there are two public beaches, with a bar, on either side.

I'm not a great budget traveller but would warmly recommend Selena hotel. Didn't feel I had a budget experience but the most relaxing holiday ever!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Selena Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Selena Village

Address: San Petros, Elounda, Crete 72053, Greece (Formerly Elounda Garden Suites)
Location: Greece > Crete > Lasithi Prefecture > Elounda
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Elounda
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Selena Village 3*
Number of rooms: 72
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Selena Village Hotel is a family owned hideaway in the famous area of Elounda Crete. Located on a hillside, its’ 72 cozy rooms & suites offer views to the dazzling waters of the Mirabello Bay and the world famous Spinalonga island. Selena Hotel Village is the right choice for couples and families looking for a home away from home combining unique location and tranquil surroundings like being in a picturesque Cretan village. Just a few minutes away guests can also visit the typical greek tavernas or enjoy a cocktail during sunset.Elounda Hotel Selena Village is a boutique hotel that provides services to ensure a relaxing experience with comfort and quality: main restaurant, pool bar, three swimming pools, one tennis court, fitness center, sauna, church, beach, business corner, lounge corner, reception 24hrs/24hrs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com and Despegar.com so you can book your Selena Village reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Selena Village Elounda, Crete

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Selena Village, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.