We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great holiday,and resort/accomadation,” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Elounda Residence Hotel

Save Saved
You added Elounda Residence Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Elounda Residence Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Elounda, Crete 72100, Greece   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #18 of 36 hotels in Elounda
wales
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Great holiday,and resort/accomadation,”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

Fantastic views drop apartment.lovely pool.not too overcrowded.didn't try food,as we were self catering. Only one negative bcourtesy bus only goes down at 10, then back at 3.very steep,otherwise excellent place.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

469 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    167
    142
    71
    55
    34
See reviews for
145
210
7
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (132)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Stourport on Severn, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

The Elounda Residence is by far the happiest and most friendly hotel we have ever stayed in. After getting to the hotel at about 1am we were given a bag of goodies and taken to our apartment. The joy of apartment 3 was in waking up that first morning to the sun just starting to rise and shining through the shutters of the balcony and side window. The view was magical. I don't think that any of the other hotels in Elounda could have a better view than the Residence. It is wonderful. All of the staff were friendly and helpful and always greeted you with a smile and a chat. Roula and her team must be congratulated. The apartment was clean and beds and towels changed every other day. Do not go to this hotel if you want European bland food! What you get is pure Cretan homemade delicious food with plenty of choice and variation. The pies and moussaka are to die for! My husband wanted to bring the chef home with him!! We took the all inclusive option which worked really well for us and consequently have put half a stone on! The pool area was lovely and there was never any problem of having to get up at the crack of dawn to put a towel on the sunbed - there were loads. The panoramic view from the pool area covering Spinalonga, causeway and the sea are beautiful.The entertainment at the hotel was hilarious! The 'Lobster night in the Taverna' included Cretan music with a wonderful singer. We learnt Cretan dancing with 'dancing on the table' !! We had a dancing competition and karaoke night which was a first for us and will remain for ever in our memory.
Yes, the hotel is on a hill which is not ideal for anyone less mobile but our room was no 3 near to the pool and facilities and was fine. We did hire a car which was very reasonable. The hotels shuttle bus drops you at the bottom of the hill in a morning and picks up in the afternoon. There is a short walk into Elounda at the bottom of the hill and taxis cost 5 euro from the centre to hotel reception.
Can't realise that we have been back for nearly a week!
A really wonderful holiday where we were made to feel like part of the Residence family.
Yes - Dancing Queen and Sex Bomb will be back!!!

Room Tip: Room numbers start at 1 which are nearer to the pool etc and the higher the room number the further...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013

My boyfriend and I returned on Monday from a fantastic 10 day holiday at the Elounda Residence. As soon as we arrived we were welcomed and were stunned by the beauty of the views from this place. In our view it was definitely worth being up on the hill, to get those stunning panaromic views of the blue blue sea. We were in room 107 which was right at the top of the apartments hill, and had a fab view over the blue sea. We didnt mind the walk up but be mindful it is quite a steep hill if you are not able. From this same hill, instead of turning left to the taverna, pool, reception etc, if you continue down for 10mins you will reach the main town of Elounda which has some fab bars and restaurants. We went here most nights for dinner and drinks. The hill back up is pretty steep but again if you are fit like we are, you'll be fine. I think it is worth the hill for the views! We went half board, only because it wasn't much more than b&b, and we ate the fab breakfasts every day: fresh fruit, yoghurt, honey, bread, cheese, ham, hot eggs, bacon, beans, sausages, cereals, coffee, juice...etc etc! It was a fab start to the day, We had dinner twice and it was ok - we don't like seafood so found it a bit restrictive. It is very cheap though to go half board. The pool bar served good cocktails, if a little expensive, but they have a monopoly over the area so they can charge more. We LOVED the taverna and ate in here lots of lunchtimes. Ilias the head waiter is fantastic, he was great to talk to and attentive. The chef (I didn't catch his name) was also brilliant, serving fresh, yummy food at good prices. Their evening menu deals were also very reasonable and they always offered a free dessert! The pool area was lovely, it sometimes got very windy up there so it was good some sunbeds were bolted to the floor to prevent accidents. The only complaint I'd have is that I didn't think the rooms were cleaned very thoroughly, the bathroom floor got wet a lot and I felt it wasn't cleaned really during our stay, but the room was really nice apart from that with a huge balcony as it was on the corner. In short = STAY here! You won't be disappointed.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013 via mobile

Just returned from 3 weeks and have just booked our flights to go back in September. The pool area and bar have been extended which makes such a difference. It opens up an amazing panoramic view of the causeway and Spinalonga from your sunbed. There's a new gym and conference room. 
All the staff are as friendly and welcoming as always. Special mentions though to Roula Assistant Manager who goes above and beyond every day to make every guests stay a memorable one and also to Manolis in the bar who makes amazing cocktails. Nothing is ever too much trouble and he remembers everyone's names giving that more personal touch. Maria in the mornings is the frappe queen and knows exactly what you want to drink before you do. 
We went all inclusive for the first time this year and it is definitely worth paying the extra. The bar prices are fair and consistent with hotel prices around Elounda. Branded drinks are not included in the all inclusive but there is usually an adequate local alternative which is included. For example instead of paying for Malibu have the coconut liquor it tastes the same. 
The Taverna now has themed evenings twice a week. A Lobster night and a BBQ. Both are fantastic evenings with amazing food by Dimitris the Chef. The main restaurant is buffet style and we found the food to be of a very good standard throughout our stay. 
There is a varied entertainment programme with something on every night. Also an entertainer for the children throughout the summer. 
You won't find a more friendly and personal hotel in Elounda nor one with better views, so don't book anywhere else or you will miss out on this little gem. 

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013 via mobile

Staying at this hotel truly made our holiday. Me and my partner both celebrated our birthdays whilst here. The taverna provided us with amazing meals on both occasions, local dancing and were even able to direct us to local celebrations for Easter. Our villa was clean and tidy and the swimming pool was skimmed all the time. The main bar and swimming pool were equally clean and relaxing. Luckily we were both fit as it is at the top of the hill but the walk and balconies provided us with lovely views. We plan to go back next year.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottinghamshire
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

We knew all about the location of the Elounda Residence as we know Elounda well so we were prepared for it to be hilly to say the least. We were on a self catering basis with a hire car so we did not get to use all the hotel facilities which all looked very good. Our apartment was very comfortable, well equipped for this type of Greek accommodation, we even had a sandwich toaster which was very useful. It was cleaned everyday by two very jolly, pleasant ladies and the hotel staff we did meet were very friendly, pleasant, kind and helpful. Our apartment was at the top of the hill up a very bumpy track and the trek down to the hotel was through the garden and a bit dodgy at times. (We are both retired and my husband has walking difficulties so it was a bit painful for him.) We spent a few evenings at the taverna and had a brilliant evening there on their "Lobster Evening". The track down to the village from the top of the resort is an experience in itself, we used to go down it but come back the other way as it was kinder on our little car. All in all we had a good time and would recommend this hotel if you don't mind being away from the village and don't take high heeled shoes!!

Room Tip: Ask for a high floor as the views are better and you may not get creepy crawlers from the gardens in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heckington, England, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013

We have just returned from a weeks full inclusive holiday. We can't fault this place. The room was comfortable and clean with amazing views over Spinalonga & the sea off the balcony. The food was lovely, my husband is a very fussy eater but enjoyed all his meals as there was plenty of choice. The staff were extremely friendly and made us feel very welcome. We were going to explore more of the island but spent most of our time relaxing by the lovely salt water pool. The only thing which may be a problem to some is the very steep hill to the hotel & apartments, but without it you wouldn't have such lovely scenery. We will be returning for 2 weeks.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Elounda Residence Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Elounda Residence Hotel

Address: Elounda, Crete 72100, Greece
Location: Greece > Crete > Lassithi Prefecture > Elounda
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Elounda
#10 Luxury Hotel in Elounda
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Elounda Residence Hotel 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Overlooking the surrounding mountains and the sea, Elounda Residence offers self-catered accommodation. Its public areas offer free Wi-Fi and include a large pool with hydromassage jets, 2 restaurants and a tavern with live music.The complex consists of spacious apartments with seating room, and fully furnished villas with private pool. All rooms are air-conditioned and have a balcony with sea view.The restaurant serves a daily breakfast and dinner buffet. Taverna serves a variety of Greek dishes for lunch and dinner. Drinks are available at the main bar and pool bar. Children’s menus are available.Elounda Residence features a computer room and a games room. Sports and leisure facilities include a tennis court, mini golf, table tennis and table football. There is also a separate pool for children, and 3 playgrounds.The hotel offers free shuttle service to the village and harbour of Elounda, where you will find wonderful beaches, local stores and frequent boats' departures to the famous Spinalonga island. Free private on-site parking is available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, HotelsClick, BookingOdigeoWL and Otel so you can book your Elounda Residence Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Elounda Residence Hotel Crete

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Elounda Residence Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.