We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“"Different!"” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Elounda Residence Hotel

Save Saved
You added Elounda Residence Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Booking.com Priceline.com
and 2 more sites!
Elounda Residence Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Elounda, Crete 72100, Greece   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #17 of 39 hotels in Elounda
Nottinghamshire
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“"Different!"”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

We knew all about the location of the Elounda Residence as we know Elounda well so we were prepared for it to be hilly to say the least. We were on a self catering basis with a hire car so we did not get to use all the hotel facilities which all looked very good. Our apartment was very comfortable, well equipped for this type of Greek accommodation, we even had a sandwich toaster which was very useful. It was cleaned everyday by two very jolly, pleasant ladies and the hotel staff we did meet were very friendly, pleasant, kind and helpful. Our apartment was at the top of the hill up a very bumpy track and the trek down to the hotel was through the garden and a bit dodgy at times. (We are both retired and my husband has walking difficulties so it was a bit painful for him.) We spent a few evenings at the taverna and had a brilliant evening there on their "Lobster Evening". The track down to the village from the top of the resort is an experience in itself, we used to go down it but come back the other way as it was kinder on our little car. All in all we had a good time and would recommend this hotel if you don't mind being away from the village and don't take high heeled shoes!!

Room Tip: Ask for a high floor as the views are better and you may not get creepy crawlers from the gardens in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

405 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    146
    126
    51
    49
    33
See reviews for
118
177
7
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (102)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Heckington, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013

We have just returned from a weeks full inclusive holiday. We can't fault this place. The room was comfortable and clean with amazing views over Spinalonga & the sea off the balcony. The food was lovely, my husband is a very fussy eater but enjoyed all his meals as there was plenty of choice. The staff were extremely friendly and made us feel very welcome. We were going to explore more of the island but spent most of our time relaxing by the lovely salt water pool. The only thing which may be a problem to some is the very steep hill to the hotel & apartments, but without it you wouldn't have such lovely scenery. We will be returning for 2 weeks.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Walsall, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

My husband and I spent a week here half board at the beginning of May and we enjoyed every minute. The room was spacious clean and with panoramic views that were spectacular.The food was excellent with traditional greek food well presented and vegetarian options offered daily. The staff were friendly but never pushy and did all they could to make guests feel welcome. The pool area was pleasant with lovely views and well maintained and the spa was great! I had my first back neck and shoulder massage and can recommend it as a blissful treat. The resort is lovely with a good selection of bars and shops and the setting is so pretty.It was a pleasant walk down to the harbour and the taxi service is cheap if you dont want to walk back in the evening! We visited Spinalonga which was magical and hired a car to visit lots of other beaches markets and villages.The hotel may not be ideal if you love chips or expect show cooking or an international bustling atmosphere. It is simple rustic and that is its charm-this was our first visit to Crete but we will certainly be back and stay again at Elounda Residence!

Room Tip: The higher the room the better the view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

The Elounda Residence caters for mainly all inclusive, and if you are happy to do this you will probably have an amazing time. We wanted to go self catering as we like to eat in different places each night, and see what the whole resort has to offer rather than just being stuck in one place.

We had set our hearts on Elounda as its such a beautiful place and we wanted to visit Spinalonga, but as we booked late we were limited on our hotel choice. We booked the Elounda residence as self catering guests, and were aware it was 800 metres from the town and up a hill, however when we arrived at about midnight and were dropped at the bottom of a hill to wait for the mini bus which then drove us up a HUGE hill we started wondering if we had made a mistake!

The mini bus drove us up to the hotel and we checked in last after two other couples who were stopping on an all inclusive basis, they checked in and were supplied with a picnic after their long journey. We were checked in and I have to admit we did feel like second class citizens somewhat as we were self catering! I wasn't expecting a picnic, but the mini market certainly wasn't opened specially for us to purchase water as some other reviews have said.

Our room was spacious and the next morning we could see we had amazing views of the bay, which were especially stunning as we were up a vey steep hill so could see for miles. This did unfortunately mean that the wind was really wild, so wild that it smashed our bathroom window! We did have to live with this for two days till it was repaired which made me feel a bit uncomfortable!
You can walk into town but the direct route takes you down three very steep hills (fine going down but a real pull coming back up). We did this trip every day at least once, so you need to be fit! The prices in town were fine, we paid about about 35 euros for 2 course for two people with half a carafe of wine. I recommend Leonadias and the Traditional.

We asked to keep our room on for the last day and we were told to check the day before we left, which we duly did, only to be told we needed to check the morning we we leaving....so again we did, other people seemed to be able to keep their rooms on (am presuming the all inclusive people), however we could not, so again, made to feel like 2nd class citizens! on the plus side, I had a nice treatment at the spa with Anastasia and the mini bus did take us back to the pick up point at the bottom of the hill!
Plus points...stunning views, spacious room
Minus points...uphill walk from town centre, hiked up prices on site for self catering people

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
co.durham
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

Just got back from a week here,didnt know what to expect as we have been to a few A.I. holidays in Crete,The staff were excellent,food Cretan as if the lovely female cook was making it for her husband.The hill part did not pose a problem(5 euros )back in a taxi.Our room had a beautiful view,basic and clean.Pool and surrounding areas clean and tidy.I would recommend it to anyone,by the way we have been to Crete 16 times,most A.I.

Room Tip: Pick a sea view room
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
worcestershire
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2013

We have just returned from 14 nights at this wonderful hotel.
The rooms are basic but you don't spend a lot of time in them your too busy sat by the pool overlooking the causeway with a bay both sides.
The food was great and the staff can't do enough to make your holiday special.
The draw back is that the apartments are up the top of a hill so it's a bit of a pull to get to your room,but this is a small price to pay for the fantastic views it has to be the best view in Elounda .
It's paradise I didn't want to come back after 14 days I wasn't bored at all I could of sat looking at the view all day.

Room Tip: We upgraded to a villa it cost £350 extra for 14 days but well worth the money you have your own po...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013 via mobile

We have had the best week ever in this hotel! We arrived at 1am after a 10 hour journey, to be met with friendly helpful staff and a very thoughtfully provided picnic and bottle of water! The rooms are clean and comfortable and the views from this spectacular location are breathtaking! With 2 boys aged 10 and 7 we had worried that they might've been bored but they had a fab time in the lovely pool and there was a games room to entertain them too. Cherry the clown provided some fantastic entertainment for them on a couple of evenings whilst mum and dad enjoyed Manos's amazing cocktails! Absolutely every single member of staff were friendly and helpful- great with the kids and unfailingly polite, also very kindly helped us learn some Greek words! Would DEFINATELY recommend to anyone, we WILL be back!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Elounda Residence Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Elounda Residence Hotel

Also Known As:
Elounda Residence
Elounda Residence Hotel Crete
Address: Elounda, Crete 72100, Greece
Location: Greece > Crete > Lassithi Prefecture > Elounda
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#9 Luxury Hotel in Elounda
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Elounda Residence Hotel 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Overlooking the surrounding mountains and the sea, Elounda Residence offers self-catered accommodation. Its public areas offer free Wi-Fi and include a large pool with hydromassage jets, 2 restaurants and a tavern with live music.The complex consists of spacious apartments with seating room, and fully furnished villas with private pool. All rooms are air-conditioned and have a balcony with sea view.The restaurant serves a daily breakfast and dinner buffet. Taverna serves a variety of Greek dishes for lunch and dinner. Drinks are available at the main bar and pool bar. Children’s menus are available.Elounda Residence features a computer room and a games room. Sports and leisure facilities include a tennis court, mini golf, table tennis and table football. There is also a separate pool for children, and 3 playgrounds.The hotel offers free shuttle service to the village and harbour of Elounda, where you will find wonderful beaches, local stores and frequent boats' departures to the famous Spinalonga island. Free private on-site parking is available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Otel so you can book your Elounda Residence Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Elounda Residence Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.