We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“cozy hotel, very friendly staff, good value for money” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Elounda Palm Hotel

Save Saved
You added Elounda Palm Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Elounda Palm Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Katevati 1, Elounda, Crete 72053, Greece   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #17 of 39 hotels in Elounda
Waregem, West-Vlaanderen, Belgium
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“cozy hotel, very friendly staff, good value for money”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2013

We just got back from the elounda palm hotel. We had a very amusing stay there!
We've booked a seaviewroom, it was a very clean room, large bed, everything we needed was there. The hotel itself is in a very quiet place, you can just relax en take it at ease. It is not so far away from Elounda, you can go by foot to the town and discover some amazing views!
We had a rental car and we would advice everyone to get one to discover Crete! There is a lot of beautiful nature, it really suprised us!
The food in the hotel was ok, you have enough choice..we ate 2 times at the pool bar en the salads were fresh and yummy.
The staff were very friendly, especially the ladies who serve at breakfast and eveningtime!
We also really want to thank Sotos, the bartender! He made every evening to an perfect end by serving us the best coctails we've ever tasted! When you go there you have to try them, they are strong and delicious! Just ask and he makes you the perfect one without any effort! Thanks!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

240 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    94
    96
    31
    12
    7
See reviews for
39
163
2
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2013 via mobile

Sotos

Me and mu boyfriend stayed at the Elounda Palm in May for a week. As soon as we got to the hotel we were greeted by the lovely Maria, she was so welcoming and friendly and showed us a room we could upgrade to, we did upgrade to a room with a pool which is highly recommend, it's so wonderful to be able to walk out of your room to your own pool!! The food was lovely, lots of variety, cold and hot food and the ice cream is delicious!!! The hotel isn't in the centre of Elounda but most of the resort hotels aren't, the village is only a short 5 euro taxi ride where there's bars and restaurants, shops etc. Most nights we spent in the hotel bar, the bar tender Sotos is brilliant...you can tell he really loves his job, he makes beautiful cocktails, the couple who said he was a show off we're obviously just impatient and ignorant. Sotos is a genuinely lovely person and takes real pride in his job especially cocktail making. I was talking to him about the fact I once worked in a bar and was terrible at making the B52 shooter so later that evening he asked me to go behind the bar so he could teach me...so thoughtful!! Ask for the apple mojito.....by far THE best cocktail I've ever had. I am the kind if person who appreciates fine details and this hotel and its staff certainly delivered on this. The whole holiday was lovely and I've never met such genuine and welcoming people as the Greeks, in fact I'm already considering a greek island hopping holiday for next year!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2013

me and my wife visited for a week in may. the breakfast was only lukewarm, but the evening meals were very nice, and the restaraunt staff were very friendly and helpful. However we only stayed in the hotel one night for drinks,as the young barman was useless, only interested in showing off mixing cocktails,and taking ages to serve our drinks [beer]. People were walking away from the bar in disgust, after waiting over 15 mins. for drinks, god help him when its busy! However it was a lovely view from our balcony, although we were told it was 200m from the beach, and the only beach we could use was 25mins walk away.Overall it is a nice hotel, just a bit far from the beach for us.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hemel Hempstead, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

We stayed here for one night as part of a short break to Crete. There was nothing particularly wrong with this hotel but I would say it lacks the finer details and standard that I would usually expect from a 'boutique' hotel. Our room was average, the balcony was nice and not over-looked at all. Staff were very friendly although the barman left a lot to be desired as the service was slow despite being off-peak season. Breakfast was average but had lots of choice. Fairly good location being a 15 minute walk from Elounda. We felt that the hotel must have hired a very good photographer as the professional pictures do not reflect reality! As we were in Elounda to view hotels for our wedding venue I can definitely say that this isn't the best hotel in the area - Elounda Beach Hotel and Porto Elounda are much nicer and better located. Unfortunately I wouldn't return just because I know there are better places around.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
9912, Marketing Director at Elounda Palm Hotel, responded to this review, April 30, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review our property Elounda Palm Hotel.
Although one night stay is not enough to judge a hotel, especially when it was only the 2nd day of operation after a long winter.
We are really happy that you liked the view of your room and our friendly staff. Especially the fact that there was nothing particularly wrong with our property.
I am really sorry that you missed to try our Barman’s delicious cocktails that many of our guests are delighted with. And I would like to apologize if you did find the service slow and had some issues with it.
we are always looking into ways of improving our services and i would like to thank you for bringing it up to my attention.
Regarding your comments and the comparison with Elounda Beach Hotel and Porto Elounda (as you particularly mention these two), we would like to inform you that these hotels are 5 star deluxe Hotels (different category range) and with far different price range to be compared with.
We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back to Elounda Palm in the near future
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, Greece
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2013

Me and my husband visit evey year elounda for a long romantic weekend. After seeing all the hotels in the area, we strongly believe that this is the best one. The rooms are recently renovated and cozy. Last time we stayed in hotels villas and we could not spoil more our selves! We had our own pool, 100% privacy and the amazing view of Elounda. It really worth the extra money. The food is delicious and best quality! We enjoyed breakfast buffet and dinner. The personel is always smiley and helpfull. Overall is a cozy, friendly and beautiful hotel for a relaxing holiday!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2012

We stayed here for a week at the begining of October 2012. Hotel was delightful, staff were fantastic, especially the waitresses Katrina and Chrysanthe. However, the barman left a lot to be desired. A young, arrogant Greek boy who was never prepared when his shift started and seemed to be more interested in looking at the laptop than actaully serving.The upside to this was it saved us a lot of money as we never went to the bar in the evening!

The hotel was perfectly positioned for Elounda as it was a comfortable stroll along the sea front past the many delightful bars and restaurants. Also, as we specifically went to Elounda to visit Spinalonga, the hotel was a perfect location and the views from our room of the island were stunning!! The sunrise was an amazing sight every morning.

In fact the only downside of staying in Elounda was the two and a half hour transfer from Hiraklion airport!!! Despite this we would definately stay at the Elounda Palm again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2012

We went on vacation as a family with a one year old to find some well deserved chill out time and found all we wanted at the Elounda Palm. We booked into a junior suite with a shared private pool which was great. The room itself was adequate(but we werent there to sit in the room!) and clean, the only shortcoming was the lack of closet/storage space for a family with a toddler. The terrace space of the room was outstanding and the view amazing. Elounda village is a enjoyable 15 walk from the hotel and there are plenty of restaurants etc there, you will find all you need, unless your needs are cheap bars and nightclubs, this side of the island is more on the tranquil side. The staff at the Elounda Palm were without exception genuinely friendly and helpful. I wish I could remember their names to thank them in person, but they were all naturally friendly and took time out of their busy days to have a chat. They were all very relaxed, especially considering we were there at the end of a 7 day a week 6 month season for the staff. Heartfelt thanks go out to all of them for making us feel right at home. Special mention goes out to Soto at the bar who slings some of the best cocktails I have had in a long long time. Try his singpore sling or sidecar, they alone are worth the trip! The only major flaw with our stay was that it was to short! See you next time.

Room Tip: We reserved a junior suite room which has a shared private pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Elounda Palm Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Elounda Palm Hotel

Address: Katevati 1, Elounda, Crete 72053, Greece
Location: Greece > Crete > Lassithi Prefecture > Elounda
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#14 Romantic Hotel in Elounda
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Elounda Palm Hotel 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere, Hotels.com and Otel so you can book your Elounda Palm Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Elounda Palm Hotel Crete

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Elounda Palm Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.