We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best place for honeymoon!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Elounda Gulf Villas & Suites

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Elounda Gulf Villas & Suites to your Saves list
Elounda Gulf Villas & Suites
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Elounda, Crete 72053, Greece   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 36 Hotels in Elounda
Tel Aviv, Israel
1 review
“The best place for honeymoon!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2012

unbelievable stay! amazing staff! been upgraded to the sick amazing luxury villa with private pool!
Really, we didn't expect for so much luxury! fantastic panoramic view.
That's my third time in Crete and I will defiantly come back to this hotel in the future.
Perfect for honeymooners, young/adult couples.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

262 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    182
    38
    16
    15
    11
See reviews for
88
124
5
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Stockholm, Sweden
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2012

We stayed at Elounda Gulf Villas and we had a GREAT stay!!!
Everybody was SO polite and friendly. We were very happy with the Suite we had booked.
Buffet breakfast was rich and also offered a greek suprise every day.
Food in general was of great quality! Service was very good and overall it was a memorable holiday.
We also made a tour to the Spinlalonga island which we recommend to everybody travelling to the area.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2012

We recently stayed here for a relaxing break and relaxing it was!
From our first day to the last we were looked after so well, everybody was so kind and helpful
on arriving in our suite there was a lovely plate of fresh fruit and a bottle of wine compliments of the hotel and a welcome letter
The suite was spotless with tea and coffee making facilities
every day we were treated to fresh fruit while relaxing by the pool the waiters would just appear and place the fruit beside us, what a lovely touch!
the pool was very relaxing as it was never too busy we had lovely views over the bay of Mirabello. If you are looking for a restful calming holiday this place is perfect, service with a smile, a lovely buffet breakfast where the staff took care of our every need, and if you run out of reading material they have a nice selection of books to choose from in the lounge area, which I took advantage of
I recommend this hotel to anyone who enjoys being pampered and enjoys good service.

Room Tip: Higher rooms have better sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Isle of Man, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

Having read the recent reviews for Elounda Gulf Villas I felt that I had to post to Tripadvisor my personal experience at the hotel. I felt that I ought this to both the staff and the management of the hotel.

We were there for a week, staying in a Villa with private pool. The Villa was amazing, very big, like holiday homes but you can still enjoy all the services of a 5star hotel.
I really liked the Villa; views over the sea were magnificent! Having your own private pool was very relaxing. I strongly recommend it.
Cleaning of the Villa was satisfactory and our maid, called Popy, was very polite and kind. Also I have to mention Clio at breakfast as well as maitre d’hôtel Babis which is a real asset for the Hotel. Girls at the reception were also polite, friendly and helpful with all our requests.
In general, all the staff did their best to satisfy our requests and we felt we were treated with great care. Although breakfast starts at 8:30 in the morning, for our departure which was at 6:30 hrs. the restaurant offered us a breakfast basket and hot coffee at our Villa.
We did have a great stay! Villa was great and service very good. We highly recommend it and we have already booked for end of September to enjoy the mild climate and great weather!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2012

We recently stayed at the Elounda Gulf Villas having booked an 3 bedroom villa for a week. Given what we paid for the holiday, we were very disappointed by our room and by a myriad of poor service issues, none of which was problematic in itself, but which together were just frustrating.

First, our room. Well, it didn't look at all like we expected from the website. We arrived around 11pm at night and were shown to our room which was on 3 levels. The top level was a kitchen/living room opening onto the pool and verandah. The 3 bedrooms were downstairs, the master bedroom half a floor down and the two other bedrooms under the main room. In the morning it was clear that while you could see the sea from the room, the "villa" was on the side of the property overlooking a mini-mart, a couple of derelict buildings and some scrubland. Also, when we took a trip out, it was clear that everyone that drove down the road had a direct view straight at our pool! Worse, the two smaller bedrooms had a view of a wall and no sunlight!! We asked to move but after indicating that this was possible, it was explained that the hotel was full. Overall, the rooms were tired. Our two-year old burnt her finger on some small fairy lights that went up the stairs (i can't believe the first child to do this). There was no conditioner in the bathrooms. The wifi was dreadful and, when we finally complained, the man that came to fix it broke it completely for the last two days of our holiday.

Other than the rooms, the service was generally poor though some staff members were individually very nice. One got the sense they just dealt with a general level of grumbling by guests. We had free half board but on the second night, potato soup and the same fish as the previous day, we switched to a la carte which cost more money and then decided to go out. There are any number of fantastic tavernas in plaka only a 10 minute taxi ride away which serve delicious food. Room service only started at 8.30am -- which meant that the food didn't arrive until some time between 9am and 9.30am. Not great with a toddler. And the food was quite stodgy. Large volumes of frozen chips etc. Paper napkins. No tomato ketchup or mustard. The woman who cleaned the rooms didn't empty the dishwasher, so we had to do it.

Reading the reviews, it does seem that some are very positive. Maybe there are other rooms that are just much better than the ones we had but our experience was that for more than 1000 euro a night, it's not worth the risk.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2012 via mobile

We have just returned from 3 wonderful weeks at the Elounda Gulf Villas. We had problems with our room and the Gym facilities on the first day, but having raised them with the Hotel Management they were dealt with speedily and effectively and we were given a different suite for the duration of our stay. Cleaning staff were pleasant and anxious to ensure that rooms were to our satisfaction.

The dining facilities were excellent. The breakfast buffet can be supplemented by special orders and the half-board table d'hote was of consistently good quality. As a vegetarian my wife had to ask on occasion for an alternative dish and this was readily provided. Service was generally satisfactory but on a few occasions there were delays when coping with peaks of demand.

Receptionists were always ready to help booking tennis facilities, advising on places to visit and even retrieving a lost wallet. Had we known the extensive library of DVDs the hotel maintained our cases would have been the lighter.

The only down note was in relation to the main pool. As a common area most guests recognised the need to respect the quiet enjoyment of the area. Unfortunately we also experienced during our stay some families who didn't.

That said the hotel has been added to our very short list of places to which we would gladly return. It truly deserves its rating as a small luxury boutique hotel.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stratford upon Avon
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2012

My wife and I have just had 10 days at The EGF and have to say that is the best holiday we have enjoyed in Elounda, having visited on numerous occasions. The setting coupled with the friendly nature of all the team mean that we will be going back next year without hesitation!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Elounda Gulf Villas & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Elounda Gulf Villas & Suites

Address: Elounda, Crete 72053, Greece
Phone Number:
Location: Greece > Crete > Lassithi Prefecture > Elounda
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Elounda
#4 Family Hotel in Elounda
#6 Romantic Hotel in Elounda
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Elounda Gulf Villas & Suites 5*
Number of rooms: 28
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Expedia, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Escapio, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Elounda Gulf Villas & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Elounda Gulf Villas Hotel Elounda
Elounda Gulf Hotel
Elounda Gulf Villas & Suites Crete

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Elounda Gulf Villas & Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.