We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“fantasic hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Elounda Blu

Save Saved
You added Elounda Blu to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Elounda Blu
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Agia Paraskevi, Elounda, Crete 72053, Greece   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 40 hotels in Elounda
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“fantasic hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013

First do not believe a word of any negative reviews you have read they all are rubbish.
I am a 58 year old business man and only am used to staying in good hotels throughout England and abroad. I have 3-4 holidays a year and this hotel is one of the best that I have ever stayed at

You will not be disappointed with this hotel the food is wonderful, breakfast as good or if not better then any 4 star English hotel, the evening meal is even better some lovely home cooking always hot and well prepared, the chefs here are of a high standard everything cooked fresh, nothing here comes from a packed, the soups well there so nice I need to go back again.

All the staff are so caring I could not fault anyone the service was just first class.

info you need to know, some holidays you need to have a balcony, yes you will get one, but do not be disappointed if you do not get a room without a view as believe me you will rarely use it

yes its on a hill side, but its not that difficult,

Room- good soft bed, nice shower/toilet LCD TV, on the large size we were on 502

tips, you want to sit out on the terrace at night time for your evening meal, its just lovely the views

are just wonderful, we stayed half board, and after out evening meal walked every night to the town its one of the nices walks you will do, along the sea front a pathway all the way into town
its takes 20 minutes maximum , a few drinks in the charming village town of elounda and a walk back we were ready for our bed!!!
tip- the walk to plaka do first thing in the morning and go to the leper island for half the price of anyone else-on your return catch a taxi back only 5-6 euro to avoid the mid-day sun

the small beach area in front of the holiday is also very nice-there is no charge for beds or unbrellas but note is note a private beach area just for the hotel.
normally we go a bed each day, but try and go down there straight after breakfast -towels are free from reception-
tip - if you get down there and find all the beds are gone, just up pass the beach shop there is a few stacked on the side, you will not have umbrella but you will have a bed

wine at meal--have the crete house wine its fine they do this at 11 euros for white/rose and 12 for red not that expensive

Room Tip: like must holiday firms they pick you up 4.30hours before departure on your last day and have to be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

605 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    226
    249
    86
    31
    13
See reviews for
52
402
7
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (159)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013

Lovely apartment, went half board. Hotel staff lovely. cannot fault them Shop was lovely. Lady in there was kind and very helpful. Trips out are great. Gorgeous views from apartment. Beach is a bit stoney. food was lovely. Pool has salt water in so watch out!

If you can get a apartment please make sure you are fit as there are some apartments up a hill. The views of Spinalonger are great. Watch out for the wildlife around the place. If you go on the trips make sure you take plenty of water and wear appropriate foot wear!!

Room Tip: If you can get a apartment please make sure you are fit as there are some apartments up a hill. The...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

Stayed at this hotel for 1 week from 14th April 2013. Lets start with the positives, the location of the hotel is wonderful and the views are stunning. Our room overlooked the bay with clear views of Spinalonga Island.
The room was a bit 'tired' but very clean and the large double bed was very comfortable. You needed a degree in engineering to work out the shower, but hot water was plentiful.
The walk to and from the bus stop, road and private beach is very steep and not suitable for those who are infirm or have difficulty either walking or breathing.
The staff are absolutely fantastic and nothing is too much trouble. The two members of staff who were outstanding was the lovely lady who ran the Asian Restaurant (delicious food and a must) and the young lady who is the Client Liaison person.
Food however (with the exception of the Asian restaurant) was average. Well cooked but boring and repetitive (I don't know anyone who wants to eat rabbit!!!)
Bottled water was provided on the table when dining, but if you wanted bottled water for your room you had to buy it, very poor for 'all inclusive' especially in a hot climate.
Lunch could be taken either in the dining room or 'snacks' were available around the pool or on the beach (not appetising).
This hotel needs to sort out what it wants to be. There was no tea and cakes at 4pm which would be very welcome. The pool bar looks tired and drab although the service was excellent. There is a distinct shortage of sun loungers and space and yet in other areas a lot of wasted space.
Don't expect any evening entertainment, just one evening that was worth watching with a fantastic singer and a second night with a rubbish quick change act. So if you don't like propping up a bar then it will be a taxi ride for any entertainment.
The nearest town of any note is Elounda about a 30 minute stroll (buses are only about 1 per hour). From Elounda you can get the bus to Ag Nic at a very reasonable cost of 3.40 Euros return.
Lastly PLEASE DON'T BOTHER with the all day boat trips to Spinalonga as you end up only getting an all too short 1 hr visit to this interesting island. Save your 40 Euros per person and take a 40 minute stroll to Plaka and take an 8 Euro boat trip and spend a couple of hours there.

Overall an enjoyable holiday, but the hotel needs to upgrade itself if it aspires to a Boutique Hotel

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

We are typically not package holiday people, but on this occasion it seemed, after all the research that Elounda Blu via Thomas Cook was worth a try. We booked for 11 nights and arrived on a Friday night around 9pm. Quickly un-packed and down for dinner on the patio overlooking the swimming pool and further down, the sea. First impressions were good, nice clean room, comfortable bed with memory foam mattress, balcony with sea view, fridge and aircon...what more do you need??
The hotel staff were all amazing with particular mention to Maria our waitress and Manolis, Restaurant Manager, who was everywhere, working so hard, always with a smile and time for the guests. Food was very good for a buffet and we had good variety and mainly local produce too. Some amazing (imported) blue cheese which seemed to go very quickly.
Rooms were cleaned on a daily basis, pool towels were provided, which added to the good experience.
Entertainment was minimalist but wasn't sure what to expect......most notable was the very talented Michael with his Reggae set...he was on our last night and it ended up being a real party night, due to the participation of a group of Welsh ladies, who were fantastic too.
Elounda Blu is a very good hotel located in a great position, ideal for a very relaxing holiday, no traffic noise, un-interrupted sea views, but close enough to take in Agios Nikolais and other bigger attractions....Thanks to all at Elounda Blu

Room Tip: Some rooms have their own pool but I'm not sure if they are good value as they are tiny and over...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

We arrived very late approx. 3am in the morning after having a 3 hour delay at Gatwick, not the start I had hoped for. On arrival we were shown to our room. A little disappointing I have to confess there were a few cracked tiles on the floor, one side of the patio door was broken and the air con was a bit lazy - however on the plus side the view from our room was stunning, we could see Spinalonga Island and it was simply beautiful. The shower was glorious with jets all over the place and the water was always hot. We spent very little time in our room anyway so even though we were disappointed initially it mattered not. The maids kept our rooms very clean and we had clean towels every day and beds changed too.

The hotel staff are really friendly, helpful and polite. I had just got an IPhone and was unsure how to get the Wi-Fi, no problem the duty manager was only to happy to input the info I needed so I could use the internet etc.

We had booked as all-inclusive and the food was good, but the choice was not always to my liking, rabbit stew was not a favourite of mine but you could always find something to eat. The puddings were lovely and I must admit it got to the point that dinner was less important than the puds. Breakfast was delicious with plenty of choice and the yogurt and honey, to die for. If you go on a trip you can ask reception for a packed lunch, plenty to eat including fruit, cheese, a sandwich but with no butter and a bottle of water, talking of water, you can only get water it would seem by the glassful, understandable around the pool but if you want to take water to your room keep your old water bottles and they will refill them at the pool bar. Speaking of water it is very expensive in the little shop in the basement of the hotel. If you go into Elounda you can buy 4 big bottles for approx. the same price as one in the shop.

Thomas Cook trips - we went on 3 and to be honest they were very disappointing and you can do them so much cheaper elsewhere. We went on the Crete Highlight trip this cost $57 each . We visited 4 destinations, the trouble was because it was early in the season and they only had enough people for 1 coach we spent 3 hours on the coach from 7am to 10am just picking up people from other hotels, 3 hours dropping off the same people then there was the journey time from one destination to the other, we arrived back at our hotel at 7pm with very swollen feet after spending 8 hours altogether on the coach, Do not even think of doing this trip if you have children. The destinations were ok, although I felt as though we were rushed through when we eventually got there to keep up with the time schedule. We also did Chrissy island $54, it is lovely, but again as the season was early, the sunbeds were not there and the parasols were very tatty and windswept. My sister who is almost 70 was unable to get onto the sand and as there were no sunbeds she had to perch herself on a tree truck for the day. We had not been told there would be no sun beds or toilets when booking these trips we were only informed on the way there by the Cretan tour guide There is a hut which is the loo and a cafe' type place where the boat docks but you are told to walk across the island about 10-15 mins to where the nice beach is , only when you get there, there are no toilets or anywhere to get a drink, so please make sure you have plenty of water and find a nice tree for this will be your public convenience, not a nice thought when you think how many people will need the loo at some point in the summer. The last trip we did was Spinalonga Island $37 and a cruise around the island and then an hour in the main town (sorry cannot remember the name). We got a meal on the boat, some time on a lovely beach where you could swim, and where they barbequed the pork chops. Spinalonga Island was very interesting, especially if you have read the book "The Island" somehow makes the book come to life, my only criticism is that again we were rushed through. There were photographs which I would have loved to look at, and articles to read but no time to do either. I did complain about the time spent on the coach on the Crete Highlight trip and the lack of information regarding the lack of sunbeds and toilet on Chrissy island, nothing was done, the rep did apologise, but that was as far as it went. My advice, do the trips yourself, it will be much cheaper especially if you make friends and all share a taxi for the day.

My only regret about this holiday is that we spent too much time doing trips, as you obviously want to get a feel for the country your in, and not enough time in the hotel, the pool is lovely if not a little cold and the views from the dinning room, swimming pool and most, if not all, of the rooms are stunning. The staff are great.

Don't miss "Michael" he performed on the Wednesday evening by the pool area, he was great, he is a singer who did loads of Bob Marley, Michael Jackson to name but a few, not to be missed. There was another show involving a magician and a lady who changed her clothes about a million times, cannot remember there names and wish I could forget their act, this is one to avoid. In fairness the lady was very talented, good dancer, nice voice, but the other half of the act the so called magician was embarrassing.

Would I go to this hotel again, probably not, only because the location is such that if you want to go anywhere in the evenings it is a good 45min walk maybe more or a taxi ride. The hotel did not have entertainment every night, but were lucky enough to have some lovely people sharing the same weeks holiday as we were.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln UK
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2013

We have just returned after spending our wedding anniversary at this hotel. Great friendly staff, fabulous views, steep hill but this is well documented in brochures. Pools & hotel clean and food is good. Only criticism is that our room could have done with a refurbishment as it looked a little tired but the view was stunning and adequate for our needs. Entertainment could also be improved but there was plenty to do in Elounda which is only a pleasant 20 minute walk away. Well rested and would recommend.

Room Tip: Higher rooms have steeper climb but have been refurbished already.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northampton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2013

we recentley returned from the elounda blu hotel on 12th june we were both totally blown away by the hotel and the surrounding views, which were amazing. we couldnt fault the hotel in any way, the food was excellant every day with lots of variety to cater for all. the staff were all very helpfull in every way possible and would go out of their way to help. we are now planning our return visit for next year but have decided to go for 2 weeks so we can go off exploring with a quad bike.
once again a fantastic hotel.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Elounda Blu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Elounda Blu

Address: Agia Paraskevi, Elounda, Crete 72053, Greece
Location: Greece > Crete > Lassithi Prefecture > Elounda
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in Elounda
#10 Romantic Hotel in Elounda
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Elounda Blu 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Tingo, Escapio and Otel so you can book your Elounda Blu reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Elounda Blue Bay Hotel Elounda
Blue Bay Hotel Elounda
Elounda Blu Crete

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Elounda Blu, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.