We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We will return” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Elounda Bay Palace

Save Saved
You added Elounda Bay Palace to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Elounda Bay Palace
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Elounda Bay, Elounda, Crete 72053, Greece   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #16 of 39 hotels in Elounda
Sale, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“We will return”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2013

A group of us have been holidaying together for over 10 years and completely unprompted each one of us have said we would return to the Elounda Bay Palace. As a group it is difficult to upgrade accommodation especially when the hotel was hosting 2 company groups but we were pleasantly surprised to find on arrival that we had been upgraded to an all inclusive package. Apart from an initial hiccup on arrival with regard to special requirements the whole stay was enjoyed by all. The meals were attractively presented and plentiful, the staff were really helpful and, as we are all over retirement age we have no need for amenities etc so the relaxed atmosphere was just as we required. When you talk of staff its normally the restaurant, bar and housekeeping who take the plaudits but I must make special mention of the guy who looked after the loungers and parasols whenever we moved towards the sun beds etc he was on hand to provide cushions and towels, raise parasols etc. Just a little point but a nice touch. There is a waterside specialist fish restaurant within the hotel grounds which is well worth a visit, in fact we went twice. All in all a most enjoyable holiday and we fully intend returning.
Ian & Pat (UK)

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MRassoulis, General Manager at Elounda Bay Palace, responded to this review, June 3, 2013
Thank you for writing such a glowing report on the trip advisor website of your stay with us at the Elounda Bay Palace this year. It was our pleasure to read how much you enjoyed the holiday especially as we have the hotel running with a high occupancy throughout this year. We have a longstanding and very loyal staff and repeat guests’ so it is with genuine warmth and Cretan hospitality that we welcome all our guests to the hotel and which all goes to create the special atmosphere of the Elounda Bay Palace. We sincerely look forward to welcoming you and your party again for another holiday in the near future.

Kind regards,

Manolis Rassoulis
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

260 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    118
    77
    34
    21
    10
See reviews for
66
124
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Camberley, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013

We were fortunate to be upgraded to a seaview bungalow with shared pool which was wonderful. Superb hotel set in lovely grounds with two small sandy beaches. The staff were unfailingly helpful, cheerful and polite. Food was excellent. As the hotel was relatively quiet we were able to eat breakfast and dinner every day on a covered terrace overlooking the sea. The buffet area is separate from the dining area so there is no feeling of dining in a canteen as with other hotels we have been to. The location is also excellent. It takes about 20 minutes to walk into central Elounda with its many seaside restaurants and bars. There is a pavement from the hotel for about 500 metres before you reach the outskirts of Elounda. To avoid a busy road with no pavement, turn right off the road at the end of the pavement from the hotel at a sign saying 'Spinalonga - 750 metres to Elounda Square' This takes you along a path for about 200 metres where you meet the sea, at which point you can turn left and walk into Elounda via a quieter road and through the restaurants or turn right to the causeway which then takes you on an enjoyable walk over the peninsula opposite. We did the obligatory trip to Spinalonga Island from Elounda. 10 euro for the boat trip and 2 euro entry to the island. Absolutely no facilities whatsoever although we were fortunate that a large boat had docked and we were able to use its toilet. There is a little road train which takes you along the coast to Plaka which is a delightful village with shops and tavernas. The hotel grounds are linked to its sister hotel Elounda Beach which is another pleasant walk. Would thoroughly recommend the hotel and location.

Room Tip: Well worth paying for a sea view - beautiful
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MRassoulis, General Manager at Elounda Bay Palace, responded to this review, May 30, 2013
We would like to thank you for writing such a glowing review of your stay with us at the Elounda Bay Palace. One of the advantages of staying at this prestigious hotel is that it is only a short stroll from the pretty village, Elounda, that it named after. So with the village so near on one side and the added advantage of having the choice of all the facilities of the Elounda Beach Hotel, our sister hotel, on the other, where to dine is the hardest decision that you have during your stay. With the 7 different restaurants within our hotels and the village tavernas just in to the village, our guests have the best of both worlds. It is our aim at the Elounda Bay Palace to provide a holiday where our guests are offered the best of Crete, with our loyal, friendly and professional staff creating their own special brand of the famous Cretan hospitality. We look forward to welcoming you again to the Elounda Bay Palace for a future holiday at this special hotel.

Kind regards,

Manolis Rassoulis
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stourport on Severn, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

We've been to Elounda Bay Palace a number of times but this year (2012) the hotel has made major changes to it's operation and all of them are bad.
The hotel has handed entertainment management to a German company, Robinsons, and transformed the hotel from a restful, relaxing and peaceful place to an 18-30 singles resort with loud music from the open air bar until midnight every night and HiDeHi activities for the new clientele throughout the day.
Only go if you want to take advantage of the new facilities.
We have been assured that Robinsons will not feature in 2013 but the hotel will be operating the same type of facilities directly.
There is much better on offer at other hotels in the area so don't take the risk

Room Tip: Try a different hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MRassoulis, General Manager at Elounda Bay Palace, responded to this review, April 1, 2013
Thank you for sharing your experience with the readers of Trip Advisor website. We respect the right of all individuals to express their opinions. Robinson Club introduced a Wellfit concept to our hotel with both sporting and fitness facilities and healthy food concept in our main restaurant. Our co operation with Robinson was terminated at the end of 2012 and we have returned the management back to our local team, many of whom have been with the hotel for over 30 years. We have no plans to have any sort of ‘HiDeHi’ entertainment as mentioned above, rather to offer complimentary the wellness facilities such as the centre for Yoga, Pilates and fitness classes, the gym, Sauna and Ham am, to our guests for their enjoyment. We would like to thank the many, many loyal guests who have chosen the Elounda Bay Palace for their annual holidays over the years and assure them that we listen to their suggestions when we make changes at the hotel. Our renovated rooms and wide sporting facilities and friendly, loyal staff are some of the highlights that draw many of our guests back this year and with our own special brand of Cretan Hospitality we shall be looking forward to welcoming all to this special and unique beach resort in Elounda.

Kind Regards,
Manolis Rassoulis
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockport, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013 via mobile

A really lovely hotel, maybe a little tired in places & expensive , (As is all of Greece) ... But you only get what you pay for... We upgraded to one of the beachfront bungalows with shared infinity pool, these are lovely, but again tired. The food is excellent, As are the staff, all in all a wonderfully relaxing hotel. Would like to try the Elounda Beach next time which is right next door.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manolis R, General Manager at Elounda Bay Palace, responded to this review, January 29, 2013
Thank you for reviewing your experience of the Elounda Bay Palace on Trip Advisor. We are delighted that you enjoyed your holidays with us. During the winter we reassess the hotel and where necessary we do refurbish so as to ensure that we keep the hotel up to the excellent high standards expected by our guests.
The Elounda Bay Palace has a unique position in the bay of Mirabello with its two private beaches and within a 10 minute walk to the village of Elounda. With the added benefit to be able to walk through to the Elounda Beach Hotel, its sister hotel and use the facilities, restaurants and bars it is an ideal resort for a varied and memorable holiday experience.
We look forward to welcoming you either to the Elounda Bay Palace or the Elounda Beach Hotel for another stay in Elounda, on the mystical island of Crete.


Kind regards,

Manolis Rassoulis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Αθήνα, Ελλάδα
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2012 via mobile

The hotel is Expensive but the location is nice and private beach too, the rooms are fully equipped and very clean the food at the restaurants is good and the service is exchelent. The two bars in the middle of the sea are unbelievable. One of the best hotels in Greece I have been.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MRassoulis, General Manager at Elounda Bay Palace, responded to this review, October 19, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your experience of the Elounda Bay Palace. We are re opening the hotel on 20th April 2013 just in time to celebrate the Greek Orthodox Easter. We hope that you would consider joining us for this celebration at the Cretan paradise that you have discovered.

Kind regards,

Manolis Rassoulis
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sweden
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012

We stayed, me and my wife, in this hotel in September/october 2012, in a superior room with sea view. The view was amazing but the room was very small. In our room (462) the AC was not enough, it was about 27 degrees in the morning but thanks to Apostolos in the front desk we could change to room 17 with better AC but not so good view.
Overall it was a very nice hotel with a cosy buffet restaurant, nice beaches with a nice coulered water that we have not seen in Crete before and a lot of sunbeds
but Robinson dominated to much, the official language was german.
The staff in the restaurant were very nice and did their best to make breakfast and dinner a good memory.
We had read the novel about the lepra colony on Spinalonga and we wanted to go there from Plaka as in the book so early one morning we took the local bus to Plaka (1,60 Euro per person)
and then the boat over to Spinalonga. We really recommend to do it this way and early in the morning it is not so hot and you are there before the big boats from Elounda and Agios Nicolaus arrives.

We also took the local bus to Agius Nicolaus for just to see it but returnd very quickly to the sun bed in the hotel, as it was very hot.
Overall it was a nice but not 5 star because of the small superios rooms.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MRassoulis, General Manager at Elounda Bay Palace, responded to this review, October 18, 2012
Thank you for writing a review about your holiday experience at the Elounda Bay Palace. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay and were able to see some of the interesting sights that this region has to offer. During the winter we shall be continuing our renovation and your comments about the sizing of the rooms will be considered when making our assessment. Our co operation with Robinson will be discontinued at the end of the summer and our Greek staff with their Cretan hospitality will be re opening the hotel in April next year. We look forward to welcoming you and your wife back for another visit to Elounda.

Kind regards,

Manolis Rassoulis
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2012

I really enjoyed my stay at this waterside hotel in September 2012 - away from main roads and traffic. The location was beautiful and the food (buffet style) was amazing - fantastic choice of dishes. The dining area was just about the best I've ever experienced and the staff were excellent. My room had a very efficient air-conditioning unit that did not make a lot of noise, I could always get a sunbed on the beach and around the pools.when required and the grounds were very pleasant to walk around. The Sail-In bar was the main centre for entertainment, sitting at the water's edge, and most evenings the German-led entertainment was pleasant enough.

The only down side I can think of (if it can be called that) is that our room was a fair walk from the dining area but, then again, close to the beach. If mobility is a problem I would recommend you ask for a room close to Reception and dining area.

Liz B

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MRassoulis, General Manager at Elounda Bay Palace, responded to this review, October 18, 2012
We are delighted that you have so enjoyed your holiday at the Elounda Bay Palace Hotel and thank you for taking the time to post a review. It is our aim to continue with our special brand of Cretan Hospitality and wonderful dining options next season. Our loyal staff is committed to providing a Greek holiday experience for all our guests and we shall be discussing during the winter all the hotels facilities and services in order to re open in April with an even better holiday destination. We sincerely hope that you will revisit the hotel to enjoy another week of perfect relaxation.

Kind regards,

Manolis Rassoulis
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Elounda Bay Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Elounda Bay Palace

Also Known As:
Elounda Bay Palace Hotel Elounda
Elounda Bay Palace Hotel
Bay Palace Hotel Elounda
Elounda Bay
Elounda Bay Palace Crete
Address: Elounda Bay, Elounda, Crete 72053, Greece
Location: Greece > Crete > Lassithi Prefecture > Elounda
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Elounda
#8 Luxury Hotel in Elounda
#11 Romantic Hotel in Elounda
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Elounda Bay Palace 5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Tingo, HotelsClick, TripOnline SA, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Elounda Bay Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Elounda Bay Palace, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.