We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Things got better” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Porto Elounda Golf & Spa Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Porto Elounda Golf & Spa Resort to your Saves list
Porto Elounda Golf & Spa Resort
5.0 of 5 Resort   |   Dimokratias 10, Elounda, Crete 72053, Greece   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #25 of 36 Hotels in Elounda
1 review
“Things got better”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Maybe I went a little early with my last review however I hadn't been complaining about the room or the staff do I reviewed. To my surprise my wife and I were asked to meet the manager before dinner. That was impressive and proactive which impresses me. He sat down with us and talked the issues through. He clearly cared. We checked in late and had not met the front of house team which may have explained a lot. At dinner that night there was music playing through dinner and the next morning someone explaining things around the complex.Not down to us but it made a huge difference. I may even be converted. To front people up is a credit as most hide behind email. Now feel I can enjoy the hotel and have access if any issues. Well done as I was furious but ok now. The view from the room is spectacular and always was !!






Stayed May 2015, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

343 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    181
    82
    49
    18
    13
See reviews for
144
112
10
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Suffolk
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
80 helpful votes 80 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Porto Elounda Golf and Spa offers guests the opportunity to enjoy a very relaxing holiday located in a picture perfect setting. Previous visits to Elounda have been to "Domes of Elounda", therefore familiar with the high food and bar costs charged at these high end establishments. Our holiday was on a Half Board basis, the breakfast quality and choice was of a very high standard, evening meals in the same restraunt were served buffet style, again the choice and quality were very good.
Room service was friendly and discreet, quality toiletries were organic of Greek origin, option to have clean sheets daily, towels and toiletries were replenished during evening turn down. The locally produced porcelain dish gift given upon our departure was a very nice touch and will provide a lasting reminder of our time at Elounda Golf & Spa
As per previous reviews we have to comment on the attentiveness of the staff, the restaurant manager in particular worked extremely hard to ensure all guests needs were catered for, we recognised that there were many new trainee members of staff in the restaurant lacking experience, requiring the manager to have to work even harder.
True the hotel had limited evening entertainment, which is normally the case in High end establishments. If guests are looking for the traditional Greek tavernas with low cost food and alcohol Elounda is a 20 minute walk/10 € taxi ride way.
To summarise Porto Elounda Golf & Spa is a fantastic Hotel, In possibly the best location in Crete, the Hotel catering for the most demanding guests, offering Spa and Wellness facilities, golfing, watersports, Kids Ark inc. small water slides, Arsenal football Academy and for the discerning guests private helicopter transfers and private yacht charter.
Given the opportunity we shall look forward to returning to Porto Elounda Golf and. spa again

Room Tip: All rooms overlook Golf course to Elounda Bay, we had a room with private pool that enjoyed the sun...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW via mobile

This is not five star in any way although price wise it would like to portray it was. Positve - nice room with pool and the maids etc very polite and excellent. Buffet breakfast and evening meal is ok but not 5 star. Again however the staff are lovely, polite and attentive.

Now the negative. The most atmospheric less hotel I have ever stayed in. Nothing appears to be going on post around nine ish at night. There are sister hotels but nobody informed us of what was going on there, how to get there etc. Really poor communication.

You can exchange your evening meal for a voucher for lunch. We chose the beach bar. 40 euro voucher that got us two club sandwiches that were soggy and in a box. If you want it to be an elitist Hotel maybe you should start with some lessons from Macdonalds on how to serve food in a box. Dreadful.

Wine - first time I have seen the price in the mini bar better than at a buffet restaurant. Wine in room 4.5 euros for a small but ok bottle. Wine at the table 32 euros for something worse than water. Again dreadful. Please don't listen to the endless excuses form the manager to previous negatives. Will never come back.

Oh and cocktails 11.50 euros and rubbish. Go to Elounda and get one for 5.50 euros that is ten times better. To reiterate, staff on the ground are lovely. Management haven't got a scooby on how to run a hotel.

Unless somebody works it out soon doomed to fail

Back to the Carribean for me if you want fun and quality

Stayed May 2015, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We arrived very very late after a awful transfer from the airport. The front of house were sympathic and immediately got cracking with the very prompt and efficient check in process. Brought some very welcomed cool orange juices which were just what we needed.

Ocean view room with small swimming pool
What a Big surprise !! Laid a supper for us with all the trimmings!
It was now past 12:30 pm we had not eaten for hours. How thoughtful this jesture by the management. Cold meats/salmon/salads/ desserts. We certainly
appreciate this welcome. ( so different to other resorts). Also the pool is cold at first but take a dip & enjoy the cool water in the heat of the sun. FAB

The room itself was big enough for the two of us. Not the biggest we have
stayed in but certainly very comfy. Outside on the patio, there was two sunloungers with matching sun beds. Be aware that there is a shutter in front of
the patio to close if you do not want to be awaken at 6am with the sun rises.
We absolutely enjoyed every morning with the golden sunrise over the bay.

Housekeeping .
The management should be congratulated on the highest standard of hygiene
with the rooms and bathrooms. Clean bed linen and soft towels both bathroom
and beach towels. The resort sets very high standards and the staff perhaps not
always mentioned as 'back of house ' help the management and clients to enjoy
the resort.

Restaurants
There are several here to choose from and you are able to choose on the of your dinner. Which is refreshing as some resorts you have to book so far in
advance and these arrangements don't always go to plan.

The main buffet Nafsilka.
Varied menu with very attentive staff with obvious experience of the hotel trade.
Very informative within the wine selections. Recently there has been an
additional outside seating as an extension to the restaurnant so as guests
can enjoy the beautiful views. The management have an issue at the moment
With pools that lie underneath the decking area but I'm assured this is being
addressed and will therefore enhance this restaurant beyond measure. Staff
here work so very hard but please remember this is a family resort and so there
Are plenty of children.

Agility e Olio restaurant. Beech location
Italian restaurant by the beach. Very nice ambience here. Secluded lighting
which sets for a romantic meal. Again staff very informative with regard to choice of wines and food.

Old Mill Restaurant.
We had lunch here. So relaxed and the views were so beautiful . The food
fresh and seemed locally sourced.which is a big plus in our book.
There are at least another 3-4 restaurants so you are spoiled for choice

Six sense spa.
I have already written a TA on this but needless to say it is a treat not to be
missed. The setting and the whole experice has to be done while you are here.

⛳️ Golf Club.
My husband had a round with another guest today. He enjoyed the facility's. The grounds are so well maintained and the staff again are always working on the
greens etc. So pleasant to watch with a view from the pool.

Children's Ark.
All I can comment is the children seem to have a wonderful time with the sound of laughter what more could a parent want!!

Shops.
Again for the guests the management have provided shops for its guests
Ranging from jewellery/ essentials/ furs/golf/ boutique.

Indoor heated swimming pool/sauna/shower facilities.
Really nice and warm pool. Open from 7am till late. Lots of great areas to relax.
Good sauna and shower facilities. Really nice change.
entertainment.
Very little or should we say none but it is the start of the season. Therefore we did mention to staff evening entertainment but alas the audio system needs attention urgently!! but again assurances from Nikos the manager saying this will be a priority (yes please).

Fishing from the rocks.
If you speak with the management they will help you with regard to position and advice. My husband had many hours relaxing under the sun in the bay and even
caught a few fish. Great relaxation experience.

water sports are available but be aware they are an extra charge. Therefore ask the guys before you assume are are with the hotel facilities. In our opinion, it does not sit comfortably with the policy of a family run hotel .many families enjoy
messing around in water sports but not at these prices!

Over view

We both have enjoyed our stay here. We have had a few issues but have

mention these to staff who have not passed us on to someone else. Tried to deal
with the situation and on most part have resolved the issues. This is a very large resort with plenty of positives. Evie & Teina Front desk / Maria. Guest relations/manager Nikos Kallergis, have the time to listen and assist the guests 100%.
The aim of this resort is for the guest to enjoy and relax.
In 'Our case' this has been achieved. The island is so beautiful that TA members should just come and enjoy the tranquility that this resort is achieving.

Room Tip: Lots of choice
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancashire
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Visited here with my mum for a week and took advantage of a Travelzoo deal so I am writing this based on the price we paid as well. Arrived late at night to a lovely meal waiting in the room, cold meats, cheeses and salads a lovely welcome as it was late. The room was average had all the amenities and a lovely terrace with loungers as well as chairs. Our room had its own pool, this looked great but was Freezing so too cold to swim in dipped my feet too cool down though. The terrace had sun all day until about 4pm so that was great. Breakfast was good and they freshly prepared me poached eggs. The main attraction for me is the Location, the view from the terrace is super like a postcard its got its own private beach just a few minutes walk through the grounds.

The food was buffet style on Half Board you could have 20 euros towards the A la carte
restaurant but the buffet food was good quality and hot and lots of choice. In my view the hotel just falls short of a 5 star, the beds were hard would have benefited from a nice mattress topper, no curtains in the room only a voile so I was woken each morning at 6.30am with the sun streaming in. Our room was positioned underneath a laundry so we constantly felt like we were under water from the noise of the washing machines. On checking out they did present me with a little gift, not sure if they do this for everyone or just me as I did complain a little on my first day! The manager also allowed us to go into the Six Senses Spa for the day (due to my complaint) to use the facilities which are super, the pools and setting are divine. For what we paid through travel-zoo we had a good week, beautiful location and OK food also we were blessed with lovely weather. I want to end this review by saying the staff were wonderful especially the restaurant staff. Would I go back probably not.

Room Tip: Avoid room 219 under the laundry, but chose a room with its own pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2015, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ilias K, Public Relations Manager at Porto Elounda Golf & Spa Resort, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to review porto elounda Golf & Spa Resort, and for your positive comments regarding the location of the hotel, the view and terrace of your room, the Six Senses Spa, the food at the Nafsika restaurant and our staff.
Regarding your remarks please allow us to underline that in regards to the mattress we offer two options: a hard matress and a softer one, so we could have easily changed your matress and we apologize if this was not communicated to you. In regards to the light in your room, we double checked this morning and your room (219) had both a curtain and a voile, so we can’t see how the light could have come in but even if some lights comes in we can always place additional black out curtains, as long as you ask either housekeeping, the Front Desk, or a member of our guest relations team. Finally, your room was not located under the laundry but after reading your review we discovered that there was a problem with the pool of the room above and we are really sorry about that.
Taking your review as an opportunity, we would like to underline that it is always better if guests communicate their demands while staying in the hotel, as our staff is at your disposal to satisfy all of your requests and needs during your stay with us.
Looking forward to welcoming you back to porto elounda Golf & Spa Resort

Kind Regards
Ilias S. Kokotos
Marketing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, Greece
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2015

Crete is a magic place to be. Elounda is an exceptional hotel, with one of the most beautiful views that any customer may wish in his holidays. The hotel is the definition of luxury and exploring the property is just an experience by itself. I wish to anobody to have the opportunity to go there. It is not the beauty and the amenties of this property that makes sense, it is also the wider area of eastern Crete that it is worth to be explored. Just dream, plan and do it!

Room Tip: All of them are good
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2014 via mobile

We love Crete & visit the insland every summer but have never been to Elounda before.Porto Elounda is a great hotel,the best we have stayed in the island.we had a suite with private pool that was very near to the awesome spa of the hotel that we visited every day.there is a golf course inside the hotel & we also had our 1st lessons.breakfast & dinner was included in the rate & it was delicious.we had dinner every night at the hotel.the beach & the sea is the best on the island.we will visit next year again.

  • Stayed September 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Porto Elounda Golf & Spa Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Porto Elounda Golf & Spa Resort

Address: Dimokratias 10, Elounda, Crete 72053, Greece
Location: Greece > Crete > Lasithi Prefecture > Elounda
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Elounda
#11 On the Beach Hotel in Elounda
#14 Luxury Hotel in Elounda
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Porto Elounda Golf & Spa Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 142
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The only golf-and-spa resort on Crete is a whole world on its own, with the "World's Best Spa" according to the Sunday Times' "Travel" magazine 2007. Rooms and suites all have panoramic views of the bay of Elounda over the green expanse of the golf course's 9 holes. Children are particularly well catered for, with a dedicated facility offering indoor and outdoor play areas, a lawn-laid olive-grove, a water-park and a sports field. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Splendia, Odigeo and Despegar.com so you can book your Porto Elounda Golf & Spa Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Porto Elounda Deluxe Hotel Elounda
Porto Elounda Golf & Spa Resort Crete

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Porto Elounda Golf & Spa Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.