We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't miss out on Greek Night” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Porto Elounda Golf & Spa Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Porto Elounda Golf & Spa Resort to your Saves list
Porto Elounda Golf & Spa Resort
5.0 of 5 Resort   |   Dimokratias 10, Elounda, Crete 72053, Greece   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #25 of 36 Hotels in Elounda
Burlington, Vermont
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Don't miss out on Greek Night”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2014

We stayed at the Porta Elounda Hotel for three nights as part of a group tour of the Greek Islands. The lobby and common rooms are tastefully decorated with original indigenous regional art. Very classy. The breakfast and dinner buffets feature Cretan cuisine and the staff resupplies the food often. Our group arrived late on the first night and the restaurant staff kept the dining room open until 10 for us, which was very accommodating. We've heard that purchasing meals and wine on your own is expensive at this hotel; some people in our group took a taxi to the nearby town during the day and had lunch there. Others saved bread and cold meats and cheese from the breakfast buffet, combined with fresh fruit supplied in the room, for poolside munching later in the day. One evening, my husband and I walked down to the poolside bar for a late night drink. The live music (jazz guitar) was very romantic. However, the drinks were very expensive. I wanted prosecco, but at 22 Euros ($30 U.S.) per glass, I ordered a virgin mojito instead. (Still steep at 7.5 Euros/$10). The beach is small but clean and the sea water was surprisingly warm. Be aware that this hotel is popular with vacationing families so you will be surrounded by children (and often, their au pairs) in the dining rooms and at the pool. The highlight of our stay was Greek Night, outdoor dining and entertainment on Monday. The troupe of Greek musicians and dancers gave a lengthy and impressive performance and of course, invited the enthusiastic diners to join in the festivities. It was like being part of a big fancy Greek wedding!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

332 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    179
    76
    47
    17
    13
See reviews for
142
106
10
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Athens, Attiki, Greece
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2014

This is my second time in the area,last year we stayed at a junior suite at the Elounda Peninsula but this year we chose porto elounda since we came with our newborn baby.As all previous reviewers said, the private beach is lovely while rooms are really spacious with stunning views.The decoration is unique, giving you the feeling that you are staying in a room of a Cretan house.For me, the cost of food and beverage was not more expensive than any other 5 star hotel I have stayed in.To top it all up, on the first night of our stay we realized the Red hot chilli peppers where also staying there.We had dinner at the Italian restaurant and they were sitting right next to us while they were taking pictures of the area and the son of the singer even wanted to take a picture with the band playing live music at the restaurant.What a great experience!

Room Tip: CORNER SUITES ARE LARGE AND SUNNY! ROOMS ON THE SOUTH SIDE this year since they are quieter! The pla...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arundel, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2014

This hotel is absolutely beautiful and the staff are wonderful. We had a problem with what the travel company had said the holiday included and arrived to find out it did not. The Customer services manager, Maria, sorted it out with the Manager and there is no doubt that the Hotel "took the hit" to ensure that our holiday went smoothly. I was hugely impressed with this as I was with Maria; she is a real asset to the Hotel. Quiet, warm, dignified and professional.

The only down side was the unbelievable price of the wine. I had read this before I left on other Tripadvisor reviews but gosh even then I was not prepared. Everyone we spoke to expressed discontent, some quite loudly, with the prices. It did not benefit the hotel as it led to an ill will and indeed people would just not buy it. They had water instead ... at 7E a bottle! The management really ought to reconsider this as I know that some guests were so unhappy that they said they would not return or recommend the hotel. Apart from this, the place and the manager and his staff were a joy and I thank them for their effort and generosity in sorting out our difficulties.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holon
2 reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2014

Back when we reached the hotel, and during check-fastest met Ilona, ​​who served us orange juice and accompanied us to the room, I must mention a familiarity with her was one of the pleasant things on vacation, wherever we met her, she was always smiling and trying to help, it is definitely an asset to the place.

The room we got good looks and nothing more, but the view from the room overlooking the stunningly beautiful - Park golf course and the stunning beach of Elounda.

The food - we stayed half board, buffet meals just great!
During dinner there is always a guy standing and prepares you to place hot dishes, all fresh and tasty.
Also excellent, professional service, and the atmosphere and the view during dinner is just pleasant.

Great missing these meals at the hotel are the prices of food and drinks during dinner you "must" reserve drinking because not advisable to drink the tap water in Greece, the prices are expensive and not reasonably justify the money, for example a cup of tea costs 4 euros! The same goes for prices in the sea and the pool.

The hotel - immaculate, small private beach and cozy, pool clean and clear (including indoor pool), sauna, steam at a high level.
Beautiful golf park.

For the reception - they have always been nice and tried to help, but I had a little glitch that ruined my opinion the receptionists.
I wanted to watch the World Cup games and the television channel that broadcasts the games did not work properly, I phoned reception and asked people to line it up, they reach security but it did not! Even when I called again no technician came.
The next day I went to the counter and asked for the day someone will come to fix and did not come back - a shame.

It is important to note that free Wi-Fi at the hotel and this is a big plus!

Overall we enjoyed very much! Anyone looking for a relaxing and pleasant it is definitely the place.

Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2014

When you came to Elounda is it like you are home. In the Resepsjon you meed the Keynes staff ewer. The are given you smile and the the way they are is the way you never will forget. Can I help you....... They help you with everything you want. There is no problem they can not fix for you. The rooms is delekat, clean and big . Room service is weary good, they are ther after few min it's. The Eric around the Hotel is beautiful, private for the guest. The spa in the hotel is on top in Europe 2200 square meters. You must go there. .

Room Tip: Don't take the big sweet. is the biggest sweet in Europe.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2014

The resort overall is an extraordinary place. The price of the rooms and the environment of the hotel is absolutely beautiful.
The restaurants are extraordinarily overpriced to the point of being obnoxious.
However, the service people of the hotel are extraordinarily accommodating in organizing your schedule around the area. Maria in guest services made our trip a wonderful experience. The only thing that actually bothered me was the ridiculous over pricing at the restaurants. If you could stay here and eat somewhere else it would be the ultimate vacation experience.
As an example. Dinner is town was 75% cheaper than the hotel.

Stayed June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EloundaSA, Public Relations Manager at Porto Elounda Golf & Spa Resort, responded to this review, June 30, 2014
Dear Guest
Thank you for taking the time to review our property,for your kind words, and the excellent rating.
We would like to take advantage of your comment regarding food prices and explain our policy,especially to a guest like you who was so satisfied by the resort.
Porto Elounda Golf & Spa resort is the only property in the area that offers free half board or a 20€ Food Credit per adult to use for lunch or dinner throughout the season.Dinner is served at the renovated area of Nafsika restaurant in a buffet style while there is also an Italian restaurant where guests can have a 3 course dinner starting from 31€ per adult, which means that by using the food credit it would only cost 11€ per adult for a 3 course dinner.
Moreover we offer the guests the opportunity to use this 20€ credit in one of the restaurants of our sister properties: the elounda mare Relais & Châteaux hotel and/or the elounda peninsula All Suite Hotel. At the Mediterranean Yacht Club of the elounda mare prices are similar, thus guests can have a 3 course dinner starting from 31 € per adult.Indeed, at the two other restaurants, the Cretan Gourmet Old Mill of the elounda mare and the French Gourmet Calypso of the Elounda Peninsula prices are more expensive, but we really think that you can't compare the rates of a fine dining gourmet restaurant with a local taverna, especially when we have the honor of having these two restaurants awarded every year as 2 of the 20 best restaurants in Greece at the annual Toque d’Or awards.
Finally, please understand that in order to keep the highest quality in all our restaurants we always buy the best ingredients, we have a high labor cost as all our staff is very well trained, we offer live music in most restaurants and additionally we have a 23% VAT cost for all services and drinks.
Thank you once again for your nice review and for giving us the chance to clear the air regarding our food and beverage policy.
Best Regards
Ilias S.Kokotos
Marketing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2014

Beautiful view and location, private beach. Nice rooms with big balcony. Amazing spa.

I'd suggest going for a halfboard option, otherwise this resort will cost you an arm and a leg. Prices which I can go to Michelin star restaurant in London!
Restaurant mains - 35-45
Pool side club sandwich - 18
Beer 5.5
Local wine - 8.5

Breakfast is poor, exactly the same food every day with stale cereal and bread.

Resort is money hungry, charges 1 euro for a kettle a day and charges for snorkels and canoe, which are generally free in other resorts.

Resort also deceives you by not being clear that Creche is extra for those under 6 and suggesting that you can use all the facilities in their other hotels (Elounda mare and Elounda Pennisula). What they really mean is, you can go to their restaurants but not use their beach. They also have a sales person at breakfast and around the pool pushing you to go to their restaurants and spa!

The reality is that this is a nice resort, but the service and quality of the hotel does not justify the price. The resort is dated and in need of renovation, staff are lovely but need better training

I would not recommend a friend going to this resort.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EloundaSA, Public Relations Manager at Porto Elounda Golf & Spa Resort, responded to this review, June 29, 2014
Dear Guest
Thank you for taking the time to review porto elounda golf & spa resort and for your very positive comments regarding our rooms,the location and view,the private sandy beach and for your excellent review of our Six Senses Spa.
We are really sorry to hear that you felt that the resort needs renovation but please keep in mind that from 2007 to 2014 we have renovated all areas of the resort keeping the Cretan traditional style of decoration.We fully understand that you may not appreciate this but traditional doesn't mean "dated". Also we are sorry it was not communicated to you that there is an extra cost for the creche (kids under 5 years old).
Regarding your comment about food and beverage cost, please note that porto elounda is the only hotel in the area that offers free half board throughout the season or a 20€ food credit per adult to use within the resort.Also please note that:
For lunch, prices are:

Starters: from 9€
Main course: from 18€
Desserts: from 6.60€
For the snack menu: prices start from 7€

For dinner, prices are:

Starters: from 7€
Main course: from 16.50€ and not from 35€ that you mention in your review.While the cost of 45€ that you mention at your review is for a Black Angus beef,which in European capital restaurants starts from 70€
Beer priced at 4€ and not 5,50€ that you mention in your review
Wine by the glass costs 5.50€ and not 8,50€ that you mention in your review

I can assure you that these rates are very competitive,keeping in mind that the quality of the ingredients used are of the highest standards.Finally please keep in mind that for all services and drinks include a VAT of 23%.
Having cleared the air we look forward to welcoming you back to porto elounda Golf & Spa Resort
Best Regards

Ilias S.Kokotos
Marketing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Porto Elounda Golf & Spa Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Porto Elounda Golf & Spa Resort

Address: Dimokratias 10, Elounda, Crete 72053, Greece
Location: Greece > Crete > Lassithi Prefecture > Elounda
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Elounda
#11 On the Beach Hotel in Elounda
#14 Luxury Hotel in Elounda
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Porto Elounda Golf & Spa Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 142
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The only golf-and-spa resort on Crete is a whole world on its own, with the "World's Best Spa" according to the Sunday Times' "Travel" magazine 2007. Rooms and suites all have panoramic views of the bay of Elounda over the green expanse of the golf course's 9 holes. Children are particularly well catered for, with a dedicated facility offering indoor and outdoor play areas, a lawn-laid olive-grove, a water-park and a sports field. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Escapio and Odigeo so you can book your Porto Elounda Golf & Spa Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Porto Elounda Deluxe Hotel Elounda
Porto Elounda Golf & Spa Resort Crete

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Porto Elounda Golf & Spa Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.