We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best of the best.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Porto Elounda Golf & Spa Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Porto Elounda Golf & Spa Resort to your Saves list
Porto Elounda Golf & Spa Resort
5.0 of 5 Resort   |   Dimokratias 10, Elounda, Crete 72053, Greece   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #24 of 36 Hotels in Elounda
Oslo, Norway
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“The best of the best.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2014

When you came to Elounda is it like you are home. In the Resepsjon you meed the Keynes staff ewer. The are given you smile and the the way they are is the way you never will forget. Can I help you....... They help you with everything you want. There is no problem they can not fix for you. The rooms is delekat, clean and big . Room service is weary good, they are ther after few min it's. The Eric around the Hotel is beautiful, private for the guest. The spa in the hotel is on top in Europe 2200 square meters. You must go there. .

Room Tip: Don't take the big sweet. is the biggest sweet in Europe.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

343 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    182
    82
    49
    17
    13
See reviews for
144
112
10
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2014

The resort overall is an extraordinary place. The price of the rooms and the environment of the hotel is absolutely beautiful.
The restaurants are extraordinarily overpriced to the point of being obnoxious.
However, the service people of the hotel are extraordinarily accommodating in organizing your schedule around the area. Maria in guest services made our trip a wonderful experience. The only thing that actually bothered me was the ridiculous over pricing at the restaurants. If you could stay here and eat somewhere else it would be the ultimate vacation experience.
As an example. Dinner is town was 75% cheaper than the hotel.

Stayed June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EloundaSA, Public Relations Manager at Porto Elounda Golf & Spa Resort, responded to this review, June 30, 2014
Dear Guest
Thank you for taking the time to review our property,for your kind words, and the excellent rating.
We would like to take advantage of your comment regarding food prices and explain our policy,especially to a guest like you who was so satisfied by the resort.
Porto Elounda Golf & Spa resort is the only property in the area that offers free half board or a 20€ Food Credit per adult to use for lunch or dinner throughout the season.Dinner is served at the renovated area of Nafsika restaurant in a buffet style while there is also an Italian restaurant where guests can have a 3 course dinner starting from 31€ per adult, which means that by using the food credit it would only cost 11€ per adult for a 3 course dinner.
Moreover we offer the guests the opportunity to use this 20€ credit in one of the restaurants of our sister properties: the elounda mare Relais & Châteaux hotel and/or the elounda peninsula All Suite Hotel. At the Mediterranean Yacht Club of the elounda mare prices are similar, thus guests can have a 3 course dinner starting from 31 € per adult.Indeed, at the two other restaurants, the Cretan Gourmet Old Mill of the elounda mare and the French Gourmet Calypso of the Elounda Peninsula prices are more expensive, but we really think that you can't compare the rates of a fine dining gourmet restaurant with a local taverna, especially when we have the honor of having these two restaurants awarded every year as 2 of the 20 best restaurants in Greece at the annual Toque d’Or awards.
Finally, please understand that in order to keep the highest quality in all our restaurants we always buy the best ingredients, we have a high labor cost as all our staff is very well trained, we offer live music in most restaurants and additionally we have a 23% VAT cost for all services and drinks.
Thank you once again for your nice review and for giving us the chance to clear the air regarding our food and beverage policy.
Best Regards
Ilias S.Kokotos
Marketing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2014

Beautiful view and location, private beach. Nice rooms with big balcony. Amazing spa.

I'd suggest going for a halfboard option, otherwise this resort will cost you an arm and a leg. Prices which I can go to Michelin star restaurant in London!
Restaurant mains - 35-45
Pool side club sandwich - 18
Beer 5.5
Local wine - 8.5

Breakfast is poor, exactly the same food every day with stale cereal and bread.

Resort is money hungry, charges 1 euro for a kettle a day and charges for snorkels and canoe, which are generally free in other resorts.

Resort also deceives you by not being clear that Creche is extra for those under 6 and suggesting that you can use all the facilities in their other hotels (Elounda mare and Elounda Pennisula). What they really mean is, you can go to their restaurants but not use their beach. They also have a sales person at breakfast and around the pool pushing you to go to their restaurants and spa!

The reality is that this is a nice resort, but the service and quality of the hotel does not justify the price. The resort is dated and in need of renovation, staff are lovely but need better training

I would not recommend a friend going to this resort.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EloundaSA, Public Relations Manager at Porto Elounda Golf & Spa Resort, responded to this review, June 29, 2014
Dear Guest
Thank you for taking the time to review porto elounda golf & spa resort and for your very positive comments regarding our rooms,the location and view,the private sandy beach and for your excellent review of our Six Senses Spa.
We are really sorry to hear that you felt that the resort needs renovation but please keep in mind that from 2007 to 2014 we have renovated all areas of the resort keeping the Cretan traditional style of decoration.We fully understand that you may not appreciate this but traditional doesn't mean "dated". Also we are sorry it was not communicated to you that there is an extra cost for the creche (kids under 5 years old).
Regarding your comment about food and beverage cost, please note that porto elounda is the only hotel in the area that offers free half board throughout the season or a 20€ food credit per adult to use within the resort.Also please note that:
For lunch, prices are:

Starters: from 9€
Main course: from 18€
Desserts: from 6.60€
For the snack menu: prices start from 7€

For dinner, prices are:

Starters: from 7€
Main course: from 16.50€ and not from 35€ that you mention in your review.While the cost of 45€ that you mention at your review is for a Black Angus beef,which in European capital restaurants starts from 70€
Beer priced at 4€ and not 5,50€ that you mention in your review
Wine by the glass costs 5.50€ and not 8,50€ that you mention in your review

I can assure you that these rates are very competitive,keeping in mind that the quality of the ingredients used are of the highest standards.Finally please keep in mind that for all services and drinks include a VAT of 23%.
Having cleared the air we look forward to welcoming you back to porto elounda Golf & Spa Resort
Best Regards

Ilias S.Kokotos
Marketing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2014

Rooms are huge for standard category and have really nice views.Flat screen tv,dvd,very big bathroom.The beach area and the sea are really lovely and the service is great.Food in all restaurants that we had dinner and lunch was very good.It is true that some dishes are very expensive but there are always cheaper options.As another reviewer said the spa is a reason by itself to visit this hotel.Overall we had an excellent experience and we are looking forward to go back.

Room Tip: rooms on the sixth floor have a great panoramic view
See more room tips
Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2014

Porto Elounda Golf and Spa…first of all I would like to mention the side of the mental rest you can get there.. Everything is so special, even the air around))!!! You can finally get relaxed, you can finally find a real harmony - inside and outside. By the way, about outside: was so nicely surprised that the main restaurant has been totally reinvaded with a new amazing area over the pool and by the beach a new lounge bar has been created next to the pool.. So it gives more opportunities to feel the comfort.. I mean, to feel the care and the art of the high class service for each person who came there to claim only one aim - just like me - to have a rest. Actually it is always great to see that even in the time of crisis, people are investing means and ideas to make the life of others more beautiful, more full with impressions..This resort always gives me the best impression and inspiration..So, when i am returning back from this heaven i feel myself completely full with the new energy…And probably it is the reason why I always want to come back to Porto Elounda.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
athens
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2014

This was honestly the best holiday of my life!! The hotel is fantastic: wonderful rooms, super friendly staff, great service and the place includes just about anything one might need: breath-taking location (golden beaches, crystal waters, not to mention the intoxicating smell of the pine trees), divine food, every activity in the book with top of our list the best spa we've ever been to (seriously, it's worth going there just for this) and an excellent care center for the kids!! The cherry on the cake? We got to spend our holiday right next to the Red Hot Chili Peppers, our favorite band!!!!! And we did not just catch a glimpse through their private fence: they were everywhere next to us, from the beach to the restaurant!!! Can't blame us for being super excited...!!!! And really. What's so amazing about Porto Elounda is that the crowd, from the most sophisticated or VIP people to us families with kids coexist in the most harmonious environment without ever, not even for a minute, feeling be don't all belong there together. This trip changed me.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2014

It is probably a GOOD overall, but the 3 dots just says average.

Had 10 nights at Porto Elounda; and at this stage must state I have no problem paying for quality........however. First the good points - Rooms were spacious and beds very comfortable, although typically Cretan/Greek and therefore a bit sparse. Hotel staff were very courteous and the maids/room service with bed linen changed everyday and towels whenever necessary (bathroom and beach). Rooms very clean - so very good from that point of view. The facilities from the brochure look impressive and sell you the whole 5 star thing, but in reality the 3G Arsenal Soccer School at 30 Euros per hour ensured all the children who might have gone did not and for most of the day the pitch was empty as the soccer school took appointments from 5pm onwards. In the meantime the pitch was free with no one using it, but lots of other families with boys (mostly) just wanting to have a game together (as they do when they are making friends on Hols). Despite enough space to play on grassy areas around the pool/beach area the hotel would not let the boys do that (which I understand as there are others to consider) but would only let them on the 3G pitch which they wanted to charge 30 euros an hour (to use a facility that was mentioned as a brochure as a feature you'd think was inclusive given the cost of the hotel which is by no means cheap). Again the slides in the kids club which were mentioned in the brochure as somewhere the kids could play were chargeable at 30 euros per hour (unless you went from 10-1130) which is when you have just had your breakfast so not at all child-friendly needless to say, it was empty most of the day. Milkshakes at nearly 7 euros each, a chicken salad at 18 euros for lunch, with barely a breast in it. We have bed and breakfast tarrifs at most hotels we stay in , as we like to see the places we are going to visit and eat out at night or go out for the day, but usually stay in a night or two in our break in the hotel. There was no way I was going to be ripped off. And for those of you who are reading this, and maybe doubting what i have written; I have stayed in many places more expensive and less so, but I think 5,200 euros for B & B is alot to pay for not being totally satisfied, that is why i hope my review is useful and truthful. Elounda Town and Agios Nikolaos were lovely places to eat, we didn't have a bad meal, and the Greeks are great family people. Thank goodness we had a car!! I am afraid the Porto for me needs to brush its act up if it is truly going to call itself 5 star (although it actually has 6 on its logo - what a cheek), and be straight about it's facilities and say they charge for them, etc., as many other hotels of similar and better stature do not.

Room Tip: Most rooms face East and all have lovely views, I would stay on the tope floor as there is a lot of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EloundaSA, Public Relations Manager at Porto Elounda Golf & Spa Resort, responded to this review, June 13, 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to review porto elounda Golf & Spa Resort and for your very positive comments regarding the rooms, the service and the facilities of the resort.
Regarding your main remarks please note that, 5200€ was the cost of staying for 10 days in a 2 bedroom suite, with 2 master bedrooms with en suite bathrooms, a living room and a private pool.We can assure you that the price is a very competitive price as are the prices of food and beverage.Regarding your comment about the soccer field camp,please note that it has been build with the highest of standards and its maintance cost is very high.The cost to rent the whole field is 30€ for up to 10 people, which we feel is not that expensive since it is 3€ per person.Regarding the waterslides please note that as from this year a London based company, World wide kids, has taken over the operation of our kids club entertaining kids from 6 to 12 years old for free. We felt that they where so many activities that one and a half hour of free use of the waterslides was enough, but after your remarks we are now operating the waterslides from 10:00 am to 13:00 pm.
Finally please note that the logo of porto elounda doesn't have any stars but two small waves,a blue one and a green one.
After clearing the air we do hope to welcome you back at porto elounda Golf & Spa resort in the near future.
Best Regards
Ilias S. Kokotos
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Porto Elounda Golf & Spa Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Porto Elounda Golf & Spa Resort

Address: Dimokratias 10, Elounda, Crete 72053, Greece
Location: Greece > Crete > Lasithi Prefecture > Elounda
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Elounda
#11 On the Beach Hotel in Elounda
#13 Luxury Hotel in Elounda
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Porto Elounda Golf & Spa Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 142
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The only golf-and-spa resort on Crete is a whole world on its own, with the "World's Best Spa" according to the Sunday Times' "Travel" magazine 2007. Rooms and suites all have panoramic views of the bay of Elounda over the green expanse of the golf course's 9 holes. Children are particularly well catered for, with a dedicated facility offering indoor and outdoor play areas, a lawn-laid olive-grove, a water-park and a sports field. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Splendia and Odigeo so you can book your Porto Elounda Golf & Spa Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Porto Elounda Deluxe Hotel Elounda
Porto Elounda Golf & Spa Resort Crete

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Porto Elounda Golf & Spa Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.