We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Second time around” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Elounda Mare Relais & Chateaux hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Elounda Mare Relais & Chateaux hotel to your Saves list
Elounda Mare Relais & Chateaux hotel
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Dimokratias 10, Elounda, Crete GR-720 53, Greece   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #22 of 36 Hotels in Elounda
Schaffhausen, Switzerland
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Second time around”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2012

For years we have gone to different places for vacation, just to see what there is to be seen. But this year we decided to go back to Elounda, for to be frank...we fell in love wîth the place and the town. The hotel was just as good as the first time, the staff at the front desk were just great, the beach is the place to just rest and relax, Manolus our friend at the bar kept us cool with the best drinks, and Athena from six seasons massage, really helped me for I was getting over hip replacement.

The town of Elounda is to enjoy, even more so now that we have friends. go and enjoy!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

201 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    138
    41
    10
    9
    3
See reviews for
47
111
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Rio de Janeiro, Rio de Janeiro, Brazil
Top Contributor
543 reviews 543 reviews
53 hotel reviews
Reviews in 135 cities Reviews in 135 cities
369 helpful votes 369 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2012

I've been twice to Elounda Mare Hotel. The first time was my greek travel agent's suggestion. The second was my very choice. It is not easy to describe Elounda Mare, but it is a great place. Maybe one of the best hotels in the world. Excellent to rest, enjoy the sun and the beach. My bungalow had a private pool where all afternoons were spent in its warm and salty waters. Pricey, but worth every cent, even the champagne for breakfast.

Room Tip: Rather than staying in the main building, I would always recommend to stay at the bungalows, altough...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Parbold
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2012

Our third visit to this heavenly place was with 9 other family members. Our party comprised 2 grandparents, 4 parents and 5 children, aged 1 to 10. ALL had a superb 11 days. The staff are wonderful, as are the facilities. Fantastic main swimming pool, beatifully appointed bungalows with their own pools, a lovely safe private beach with some water sports available, superb food at any of 3 restaurants on site, with further excellent choices at the 2 sister properties. Free transport is also provided to the other hotels. The Mare, for us, is the pick of the three. Peaceful, beautiful and with the best staff you could imagine. A great tennis coach/head waiter at breakfast too! (The Marcos Baghdatis of Crete!) Excellent and SO helpful manager, Mr Maranghides for whom NOTHING was too much trouble. What a holiday!! We shall definitely return.

Room Tip: For families, bungalow 50 is perfect! (Sleeps 6-9) ALL bungalows are excellent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fareham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
76 helpful votes 76 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2012

We stayed at the Elounda Mare Hotel at the start of June 2012, the start of the season so it was pretty quiet.

All in all we felt the hotel was very good indeed. The room we stayed in was large with a separate lounge and seating area, two TVs which thankfully we never had the need to turn on and a nice, small, but not too small, pool. It was a sea water pool and in June really too cold to enjoy.

The hotel food was very good, we were on the dine around package which proved excellent value. Top of the list for us was the Old Mill where the food was nothing short of excellent. The Calypso was a little more fine than dine and to be honest I am glad I did not go in there hungry as for a chap I would have wanted a little more on my plate. Nevertheless it was excellent and a great experience. Breakfast was mostly cold buffet, omelettes were good and all round the staff were most attentive.

Wine started at around 30 Euros a bottle, beer was about 5 Euros and whisky for a half decent malt about 15 Euros. Expensive but no more so than most hotels in the class.

Other points that may help the reader are, in no particular order, the hotel is perhaps half an hour to forty minutes from the airport. The drive was pretty easy and the directions the hotel gave us did the trick. Elounda town is about 20 minutes casual walk and you will find more than enough waterside cafes and restaurants. You can eat for two people for around 40 or so Euro for an average meal in the town.

The staff in the hotel were excellent, most especially the ladies that worked the reception who were always happy to help with a smile. One small exception was the guest reservation manager who when we first arrived and said we were a little disappointed with our room basically said that you can’t please all of the people all of the time. True we acknowledged but the room we were offered did no please us and as the customer we felt that we should have been listen to with a little more empathy and certainly not the simple suggestion of a very expensive upgrade if we wished. We were moved the very next morning and the room was much better so all was well that ended well – all of course except that our welcome was ruined and Mrs Planetwalking left very upset. A poor start, senior front of house staff should know better. First impressions count.

Would we recommend? Yes, the dine around option was lovely and being able to walk into Alounda town was great . Would we stay again? Probably not as it was a hotel that offers much for the first timer but nothing much different for a returning guest. Same old same old works for some, especially if you like the knowledge and assurance of continued good quality, but we prefer to discover and explore.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
2 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2012

This was the third time my wife & I have stayed at Elounda Mare. It is an understated hotel with no grand foyer etc. The service is excellent & all the staff charming & friendly.They really do go out of their way to look after you. There are beautiful views both out to sea & of the mountains across the water.
I particularly recommend the junior suites, recently added, on the top floor of the main building 601-
604. The end ones have both a balcony & a sitting out area.We love swimming off the rocks (there are steps) direct into the sea & Elounda mare is ideal.There is also a big swimming pool with kids area.
The food is of high quality but maybe a bit expensive,as is the wine list. The buffet breakfast is absolutely excellent. In our view it is hard to beat.

Room Tip: see above . We loved the junior suites on the top floor of the main building 601-604.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Staffordshire England
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2012

My husband and I have recently celebrated our Pearl Wedding Anniversary at the wonderful Elounda Mare Hotel Relais & Chateux. On arrival we were immediately impressed with the traditional rustic charm of what was once a Cretan Mansion. We were very warmly welcomed by Max and his colleague and offered a glass of champagne. After checking in, Max escorted us to our accommodation which immediately surpassed our expectations. There were fresh flowers, a bottle of sparkling wine and a welcoming letter explaining the Hotel's facilities. When we looked through the patio windows we were completely overwhelmed and captivated by the scenery emerging before us.

Our accommodation comprised a bungalow with pool. The simplicity of the furnishings tastefully blended with the traditional nature of the property including aspects of Minoan design. Our first gaze of the pool and beyond to the sparkling myriad of the Agean and the Sitia mountains on the horizon was beguiling and spectacular. During the mornings the mountains took on the appearance of clouds and as the day merged into the afternoon and evening they took on a more defined shape and colour. Although we hired a car and visited other parts of the island the comfort and intimacy of our bungalow and pool enabled us to fully relax and absorb the beauty and tranquility of our surroundings. The architecture and stone throughout the estate was enchanting and wherever we walked there was an abundance of brightly coloured flora and fauna!

We enjoyed leisurely breakfast times. It was difficult to leave the breakfast terrace because of the splendid views and there was a superb range of eateries reflecting traditional Greek and European diets. Service was always relaxed, charming and efficient. Our evening dining experiences began on the 29th May - our Wedding Anniversary, at Elies at the Porto Elounda one of the sister hotels. We enjoyed their fish and risotto and received attentive service. The highlight of our dining experience, was,however, at the Old Mill. We had planned to dine there on the 29th but it was closed - this did not disappoint us as we enjoyed trying out other venues.

At the Old Mill, we received a warm welcome from Alona Johnson-Ferguson - Guest Relations, who clearly knew we were celebrating our Anniversary. The Maitre d'hotel led us to our table (we cannot remember his name but he was very charming and attentive) and we quickly settled to the sound of the ocean waves and the romantic tunes played by the pianist whilst sipping champagne. Georgio our Waiter immediately struck up a pleasant and friendly banter with us and Marina was delightful. As one would expect the restaurant is formal but on these occasions we like to experience gourmet dining at it's best! Our starters included a delicate fusion of vegetables in filo pastry and a smattering of caviar! The fish was excellent and creatively presented and as we were getting our taste buds ready for flambeed crepes, we were very pleasantly surprised by the presentation of a special Anniversary cake - wonderful - thank you!

We found that each time we went to and through Reception we were always greeted and acknowledged by our names! Housekeeping was delivered to very high standards - as one would expect! All our maids were lovely and unobtrusive, but during the mornings we mainly saw Kara. We loved Kara's delightful personal touches such as her use of flowers and petals from the gardens - displaying heart shapes and other lovely romantic arrangements above our bedhead. Also every so often we received complimentary gifts to eat and drink. The water in our pool was filtered constantly and cleaned daily. It was wonderful to swim in seawater rather than have the smell of chlorinated water on our skin. On our first morning we noticed a newspaper had blown into the pool - it had been a bit windy the previous day. Literally, within minutes of reporting it to Housekeeping, as if by magic, a gentleman appeared to deal with it. We continued to receive a smiley and efficient service by him - thank you! We would have loved to have known his name but he spoke very little English and rather poorly we do not speak Greek. We were aware we could have had complimentary use of Wi-Fi in one of the quiet areas of the hotel. We chose not to use it as we prefer to leave all of that at home and fully experience the culture and the people of the countries we visit! We regret not buying anything from the shop Yannis - but we did enjoy meeting you and chatting with you!

We consider that all of this would not have been possible without the dedication, nurturing and special attention to detali from Mr Harry Manghides - General Manager and his team. We were pleasantly surprised when, just after being shown to our table at the Old Mill; Mr Marnaghides made a personal appearance to congratulate us and to check if everything was to our satisfaction! We were delighted and deeply touched by this gesture and the conversation which subsequently took place including the other occasions we chatted. We have travelled extensively, and have experienced many enjoyable holidays, but never have we been exposed to this level of personal service before!

Yes, we are aware our review is lengthy but it needed it to be so that we could fully show our appreciation of what has been a most wonderful and memorable holiday. Mr Maranghides, the team and the hotel is an exemplary template from which to base and measure all superb levels of hospitality from! Like many guests before us - who clearly are on to a good thing - we shall be returning. Thank you, thank you to all for going that extra mile and giving us such a splendid experience.




Our accommodation comprised a bungalow with pool. The simplicity of the furnishings tastefully blended with the traditional nature of the property including aspects of Minoan design. Our first

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harry_Maranghides, Manager at Elounda Mare Relais & Chateaux hotel, responded to this review, June 18, 2012
Dear Mr. and Mrs. M,
Thank you very much for your wonderful review. We are all very happy and proud that we helped you capture the magic of Elounda Mare and enjoy a memorable holiday during this anniversary trip. We look forward to welcoming you back, with the additional privileges of the 5C Relais & Chateaux membership.
With best wishes,
Harry Maranghides
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, Tennessee, United States
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2012

We absolutely loved our stay at Elounda Mare and wish we could have stayed longer. Get a room with a Sea Side View - it was just incredible. The pool (salt water) was on the cold side, but it was quite nice, and it was within a good walking distance to Elounda for a tour to Spinalonga Island (which I highly recommend). We only got to experience one of the restaurants, and it was quite expensive, but the food was very good.

Room Tip: Ger a room with a sea side view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Elounda Mare Relais & Chateaux hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Elounda Mare Relais & Chateaux hotel

Address: Dimokratias 10, Elounda, Crete GR-720 53, Greece
Location: Greece > Crete > Lassithi Prefecture > Elounda
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Family Hotel in Elounda
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Elounda
#13 Luxury Hotel in Elounda
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Elounda Mare Relais & Chateaux hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Famed for its gracious and attentive service, this hotel is the embodiment of all-time-classic style and cultured luxury, where antique art and traditional architectural themes adorn all of its private-pool bungalows - each with its own terrace overlooking the Aegean Sea. Three fine dining venues reflect the Relais & Chateaux tradition of excellence, their culinary delights ranging from enticing lunchtime snacks to five-course dinners, with flambe and fish specialties. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Escapio, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Despegar.com and Travelocity so you can book your Elounda Mare Relais & Chateaux hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Elounda Mare Hotel And Bungalows
Elounda Mare Relais & Chateaux Hotel Crete

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Elounda Mare Relais & Chateaux hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.