We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Special hotel with unique surroundings” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Elounda Beach Hotel

Save Saved
You added Elounda Beach Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Elounda Beach Hotel
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Elounda Lasithiou, Elounda, Crete 72053, Greece   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 39 hotels in Elounda
Kelso, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Special hotel with unique surroundings”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2012

We stayed in a bungalow which was secluded with a sea view and large terrace area. Very clean and well maintained although the interior of bungalow and some public areas were dated. The technical infrastructure was a bit unreliable. We had 3 differnet tv controllers and never connected to Internet in room in spite of resetting router. Not a big problem as it was easy to connect in main reception area. The pool was huge and brilliant although the salt water didn't suite my wife's eyes. Don't let any of this stop you coming to this hotel. The sea swimming is accessible and easy even for weak swimmer. A bit short of life belts but you can always borrow them from neighbouring hotel! The food was original and excellent. Elounda was 30 mins hike but excellent choice of eating. € 6 for a taxi. There was a wide choice of rooms at different budgets and all users get access to the wonderful grounds. The spa was lavish but overpriced without discount vouchers. But we would go back to this hotel and that is a rare distinction from us.

Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

173 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    101
    37
    18
    11
    6
See reviews for
47
78
7
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Jersey, CI
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2012

We stayed here for a week in September in a suite on the waters edge. Room was nice but not what I was expecting for that price. We had a few days with a broken air conditioning unit but the staff eventually got this fixed so that was fine. Room was always clean and there were always clean towels etc but again, for the expense of this resort, this is what you would expect. We found the food very good. We particulary found the Kafenion staff service and food better than the other restaurants. The head of house at the Italian, for me, was not genuine and appeared to only be interested in those guests that perhaps had left good tips on their previous visits. It really irritated me so we only ate here twice. It was also very expensive for the food that was served and not much different to what I normally cook on a week night. The food at Kafeneon was unpretentious and just what we were after being on holiday in Crete. The Veghera bar was lovely for early dinner cocktails. Breakfast service and food was excellent and overall we had a lovely time. I am not sure we found it good value for money though but we may return next year.

Room Tip: There are so many room options available that make it quite confusing so try to make sure you unders...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MRassoulis, General Manager at Elounda Beach Hotel, responded to this review, October 8, 2012
We would like to thank you for the feed back that you have given us by taking time to write a review on Trip Advisor. We regret that the holiday did not quite meet up to your expectations and that you were without efficient air conditioning at the start of your stay. Your comments about the food at the restaurants of the hotel will be taken in to consideration as we review our services and facilities this winter. The value for money aspect is one that we strive to meet with the standards of service and overall satisfaction but of course one that always under assessment to provide the best possible experience for our guests. We would look forward to welcoming you for another stay at the Elounda Beach hotel and hope that we will provide just the holiday that would meet your expectations of this famous hotel.

Kind regards,

Manolis Rassoulis
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2012

This is an amazing hotel, we stayed for a week and I really don't think there is anything I could I fault. Beautiful saltwater pool in lovely secluded setting, utter peace with a stunning view from my sun longer over the sea to the mountains. Food and drink is not cheap but you get what you pay for, the food was fantastic and the service excellent. The staff made this holiday for us, they are so friendly and helpful, nothing was too much trouble and we came away feeling relaxed and pampered. All I can think of now is when can i go back!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MRassoulis, General Manager at Elounda Beach Hotel, responded to this review, October 8, 2012
We are delighted that you have enjoyed such a wonderful holiday here with us at the Elounda Beach Hotel and for taking the time to write your review on Trip Advisor. The ambiance of the hotel combined with the friendly Cretan hospitality of the staff and the perfect Mediterranean setting make the Elounda Beach the icon it is. This is reflected by the number of satisfied repeat guests who return to our hotel year after year. We sincerely hope to welcome you again to the Elounda Beach Hotel for another stay of completely satisfying stress free days.


Kind regards,

Manolis Rassoulis
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012 via mobile

This was a lovely hotel until a party of 200 conference guests arrived with scores of children with over 15 nannies!
It changed from tranquil to a children's playground around the beach and pool, there was nowhere to go to avoid the games - had we known we would have gone a different week as this was advertised as a romantic resort. We felt the hotel could have dealt with this better.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MRassoulis, General Manager at Elounda Beach Hotel, responded to this review, September 29, 2012
We regret that your holiday was disturbed by the arrival of a group for a couple of days. We did try to keep their entertainment as unobtrusive as possible. We are not a hotel that has this sort of group on a regular basis and we would be only too happy to inform guests before they reserve their holidays if there was a possibility of there being one in the hotel during their stay. We sincerely hope that you will return to the Elounda Beach Hotel for another stay when we shall take the opportunity to provide the truly romantic weeks break that you expected.

Kind regards,

Manolis Rassoulis
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Russia
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012

+++
+ We've stayed in a spacious room (Imperial building), with a large bathroom which had a steam sauna and a jacuzzi. We've also had lots of buttons, which control the brightness of the light and electric curtains. Please note that the hotel is very big, so there are two main hotel buildings and bungalows. Room quality may be very different
+ 4 large restaurants and 2 bars are available so you have a good choice of where to eat out in the hotel
+ Taxis, which you cab order at reception, come very quickly to the hotel, all mostly Mercedes e-class
+ Very friendly and helpful staff - we were really impressed
+ Breakfasts are vey good and the service is fast friendly and efficient
+ Rooms in the building were very clean and well kept
+ Water sports team offers a great variety of things to do, including set skis, water skis, diving, wind surfing, yachts, etc, etc
+ Gardens are well kept and look good
+ Swimming pool with sea water is available
---
- Restaurants are a bit overpriced. The food is good, but somehow you'd expect more quality for the price. Alternatively, you could always go to either Elounda village or Aghios Nikolaos village to try some reasonably priced local restaurants
- Tea. For some reason one would expect proper leaf tea, not teabags in a good hotel
- You can't see the horizon when you are on the beach, generally. There is only one spot on a small beach from which you can see it
- On a small beach you'd expect to have the covers changed more often on the sun beds
- Wifi is vey slow and doesn't work on either of the two beaches
- Equipment is a bit dated (e.g. old TV sets, old style switches). But this also feels a little nostalgic
- No evening animation, although there are some live events at the French restaurant
- No buffet dinner, although there is a buffet dinner service in a neighbouring hotel at 60 euros per person, which seems expensive

Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MRassoulis, General Manager at Elounda Beach Hotel, responded to this review, September 25, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write on the Trip advisor site about your family holiday at the Elounda Beach Hotel. We have taken note of all your comments and they will be taken into consideration when we are discussing our services and facilities for next summer. We were intrigued by your comment about not being able to see the horizon; as we are in a secluded bay and the outcrop of islands opposite the hotel shelter the beaches from adverse weather so making it an ideal area for swimming and watersports. The views from the hotel are magnificent and stretch across the bay of Mirabello to the mountain range on the eastern side of Crete. It is these mountains that turn a pinky-purple hue at dusk which enhances the magical atmosphere when sat at our Veghera Jetty bar for the sundowner cocktails.
We look forward to welcoming you and the family again to the Elounda Beach Hotel next summer.


Kind regards,

Manolis Rassoulis
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
1 review
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2012

The style of the hotel is more reminiscent of a Travelodge than a classy Greek resort. It is a cramped property, consisting of two long, plainly built several story buildings which are a sore to the eye, and a bunch of bungalows (in the name only, but really just rooms with a separate entrance) and other rooms/suits with fancy names.

The majority of guests appeared to come on a mass holiday from Russia - if you are looking for a classy international crowd - forget about it.

Common areas are build in the 80s style, and are quite poorly maintained.

I stayed in a bungalow, which I was told was renovated 3 years ago (other rooms where last updated 7 years ago). Even so, my room had some seriously dated furniture, ugly curtains that were torn on the top, and, worst of all, the wooden full length shutters right over the bathtub/shower, that had water stains all over and rusty fittings. Unpleasant to take a quick shower, not to mention to try and relax in a bathtub with a view of old dirt right in your face.

In the hindsight, one should alway be weary of booking a room in a hotel that has 20 different categories. Do they really cater to every guest, or do they cater to their "most special" guests? Is it a 5 star because your room and experience will be 5 star, or only your neighbour's, who paid 10 times as much?

With this in mind, I did ask to see other rooms. I was shown one room that was 8 categories higher than mine (water edge with a private gym), and another one that was supposed to be even "higher end". The first one was 1000 euros more expensive per night than my room. It had the same tired look as mine, dark bathroom with mould building up, and, I kid you not, a treadmill and some other gym equipment separated from your bed by a glass wall - you'd be waking up in the morning and looking at that treadmill.

Tasteless, at best, but added to the poor maintenance of the property, shameful, really.

The beach is small and cramped - you will not get a gorgeous view of the sea and the mountains, which is what you are probably going there for in the first place. If you want a nice view, you'll get it in the nearby Blue Palace hotel.

I do not recommend this hotel to anyone - it has no class, no taste, no natural beauty. I pity them for being proud of their property, because they have clearly not seen better themselves.

If you are considering going to this hotel, feel free to first send me an email for suggestions of where you may find true class and luxury in Greece.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MRassoulis, General Manager at Elounda Beach Hotel, responded to this review, September 21, 2012
As a member of the Leading Hotels of the World, The Elounda Beach Hotel’s first and foremost aim is to provide a luxury 5 star holiday experience. Our 60% repeat guest rate and over 80% average occupancy rate this year bears out that we are providing just that. We strive to satisfy the expectations of our discerning clientele by offering a wide array of accommodation to meet every budget. Despite the reviewer being shown several options within their budget and indeed in the next category of accommodation; sights were set on some thing higher at no extra charge, which we were unable to offer. Our hotel is set in 140,000sqm of mature colourful Mediterranean gardens, with 74 villas located directly on the waters edge plus 65 villas with private pools. The hotel has two private sandy beaches and the award winning architecture of the hotel blends in to the natural surroundings of the Crete.
We feel sure that readers will trust their own judgement about the Elounda Beach Hotel experience and we welcome any queries that may arise from the above review.


Kind regards,
Manolis Rassoulis
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guernsey
Top Contributor
98 reviews 98 reviews
68 hotel reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2012

We stayed a week here in a waterfront room. The room was spacious and comfortable with an enormous bathroom. We had a verandah with sunbeds, table and chairs, and sunbeds and umbrella down at the waterfront. However, since the waterfront was north facing, the sun did not stay on these sunbeds very long, so we spent our afternoons (after morning sightseeing) by the pool. The pool is saltwater and a little warmer than the sea, so this was no hardship.
All the staff were very friendly and helpful. Nothing seemed to be too much trouble.
We ate in the Greek taverna restaurant a few lunchtimes - the food was excellent each time. In the evenings we walked into the town to eat there. The walk is about 20-25 minutes and can be mostly in quiet lanes if you go the right way. We walked through the hotel to the exit of the Elounda Bay Hotel, then on the pavement until we got to the small path which leads to the causeway, thereby avoiding the worst of the traffic.
The breakfast buffet at the hotel caters to every possible taste and the outside seating area is attractive.
All in all, a pleasant experience.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MRassoulis, General Manager at Elounda Beach Hotel, responded to this review, September 17, 2012
Thank you for your kind review of your stay at the Elounda Beach Hotel. Our waterfront accommodation affords our guests of a panoramic view over the turquoise Mediterranean and the sunrise over the islands is an unforgettable experience that our loyal guests return for year after year. The Cretan Hospitality in the ambiance of our whitewashed Bungalows set in the colourful Mediterranean gardens of the hotel gives our guest the best relaxing holiday that Greece has to offer. We look forward to welcoming you to the Elounda Beach Hotel for a further stay in the near future.


Kind Regards

Manolis Rassoulis
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Elounda Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Elounda Beach Hotel

Address: Elounda Lasithiou, Elounda, Crete 72053, Greece
Location: Greece > Crete > Lassithi Prefecture > Elounda
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in Elounda
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Elounda
#11 Romantic Hotel in Elounda
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Elounda Beach Hotel 5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Splendia, Priceline, HotelsClick, Despegar.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Elounda Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Elounda Beach Hotel Crete

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Elounda Beach Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.