We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An Excellent Hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Elounda Beach Hotel & Villas

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Elounda Beach Hotel & Villas to your Saves list
Elounda Beach Hotel & Villas
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Elounda, Crete 72053, Greece   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 36 Hotels in Elounda
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Bangor, United Kingdom
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“An Excellent Hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2012

We are looking forward to our yearly visit to this hotel. We began visiting about ten years ago and now it has become a non-negotiable part of our year. We visit hotels around the world but none offers the wonderful environment or service we experience at Elounda Beach.

So much is good. Where shall I start? The amazing location, its beauty and tranquillity, the wonderfully kept gardens with flowers of stunning colour and scent among extensive walkways, the lovely accommodation and the impeccable housekeeping - new linens, new flowers....

Our days are spent on a gloriously quiet platform with views the mountains, a good book and a ladder into the warm, clear, Mediterranean sea. Some days we explore the fascinating villages around or the historic sites. Other days we walk into Elounda or visit the splendid variety of shops in Aghios Nikolaos by hotel boat.

Every evening is a delight with a choice of wonderful, entirely different, hotel restaurants to select for dinner. Shall we choose Italian? Shall we choose a relaxed Greek evening at the Kafenion where the warmth and friendliness is second to none? Shall we go to our favourite Polynesian restaurant - The Blue Lagoon - where we can sit in the warmth of the evening around the boat lagoon enjoying wonderful oriental flavours or sushi or to our other favourite, the Dionyssos where we enjoy a French menu among the trees in a courtyard listening to a great singer. Or shall we visit the stunningly situated, Thalassa seafood restaurant and choose the day’s catch or lobster, again with entertainment from a great pianist and singer. So many hard choices!

Our only disappointment is the fifteen euro service charge now added to every room service order. This does not happen in other hotels where we stay. It may seem a small issue, but each accommodation is so attractive that to have the pleasure of afternoon tea or lunch delivered is a great delight. A ‘niggle,’ as another reviewer said, but an unnecessary one as it curbs full enjoyment of the hotel facilities.

I have left this hotel's greatest asset to last: it's amazing staff. Every member of staff is dedicated to giving you the best holiday ever. Their professionalism is second to none and they will do all that is possible to ensure that your holiday surpasses your expectations.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MRassoulis, General Manager at Elounda Beach Hotel & Villas, responded to this review, June 14, 2012
We would like to thank you for such a wonderful review about your annual holidays at the Elounda Beach Hotel.
It is with all credit to our loyal staff that goes that extra mile to ensure that not only are all our guests are made to feel special and looked after but to ensure the upkeep of the hotel, gardens and facilities. We aim to anticipate every wish of all of our guests and so leaving you just to enjoy the whole Cretan holiday experience.
We listen to the comments and opinions of those who stay with us, so we have been able to refine our facilities and services though out the years to the hospitality that we provide today.
It will be our pleasure once again to welcome you to the Elounda Beach Hotel with hope that you will continue to visit us for many years to come.

Kind regards,

Manolis Rassoulis
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

212 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    125
    46
    21
    13
    7
See reviews for
58
98
8
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bury, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2012

Just returned from a weeks family holiday and stayed in one of their lovely villas. The place is very impressive as are the Villas and personal swimming pools, the facilities are great and the breakfasts cater for everyone and are scrumptious. All of the staff were so helpful and it really was a great time. lots of little niggly things I could pick on but really insignificant, like no messaging on phone system and charging 15 Euros every time for Room service, but forgetting all that , the place is great and only a few minutes from Elounda and Agios Nikolas both bustling and buzzing places.

Sea was great and very clear and warm and great fun and there are really good skiing and wake boarding and other large boats available , big bit boat for 3000 euros per day, nice if you have that sort of cash to spare.

The restaurants try hard but never really get there and are horrendously expensive, family of four ( with one 6 year old having spaghetti bowl) for lunch snack and light evening meal 300 euros to you sir!

Spa was great and lots of variations, I had some massages with the suction pump and reflexology both very very good.

Would I recommend it ...Yes wholeheartedly and we will probably go back again.

Room Tip: Make sure you include the breakfast and try for a villa
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MRassoulis, General Manager at Elounda Beach Hotel & Villas, responded to this review, June 14, 2012
Thank you for the review of your holiday at the Elounda Beach Hotel. Our unique location on the north eastern coast of Crete with over 1000ms of coast line is perfect for all kinds of nautical activities.
The Elounda Beach Hotel is one of the only resorts in the Mediterranean that has kept its tradition of excellent service whilst blending in to the surrounding area. The white washed buildings and villas, surrounded by colourful Mediterranean gardens, are built to represent a traditional Cretan village.
The hotel exudes the peace and tranquility that enable our guests to totally relax and escape.
There are so many different venues for both dining and enjoying drinks with in the resort that along with the variety of sporting activities, keeps our guests amused all day. The island is so steeped in history that when the guests decide to explore the local area, they don’t have to travel far to go back in time and visit sites that are up to 3500 years old.
After a hard day our spa is on hand to offer treatments to rejuvenate the guests ready for the evenings ahead.
We look forward to welcoming you and your family again to the Elounda Beach Hotel in the near future.

Kind regards,

Manolis Rassoulis
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2012

Just back from 4 nights at this resort, and it was idyllic. Can't fault it at all, but for me, the high point was the outstanding customer service from everyone. These guys made our holiday - nothing that we asked for was too much trouble.

Yes, the drinks/meals are expensive but only in line with other 5 star hotels. The breakfast was superb, and the hotel atmosphere was lovely.

I actually cried when we left :-)

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MRassoulis, General Manager at Elounda Beach Hotel & Villas, responded to this review, June 14, 2012
Thank you for your kind review about your stay at the Elounda Beach Hotel. It is the aim of our staff to make your vacation one that will keep you returning to the Elounda Beach Hotel for many years to come.
We look forward to having the pleasure of welcoming you again to the Elounda Beach Hotel in the near future.

Kind regards,

Manolis Rassoulis
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monmouth
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2012

First time of staying here. It's excellent with quiet grounds, plenty of facilities, great rooms, excellent food in the various a la carte restaurants and, most importantly, staff who really do seem to care about doing everything they can to ensure you enjoy your stay. It's about a 35 minute walk into Elounda itself starting from the Beach Reception area but a golf buggy will readily be provided to take you to the exit from the next door Elounda Bay hotel. It's only about a 20 minute easy walk from there.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gloucester, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2012

We visited the Elounda Beach Hotel and as almost every single reviewer says, it is perfect, tranquil and elegant. The grounds are beautiful, the communal rooms stylish, the staff are polite and friendly. However, like many, many other reviewers say, the one thing that lets this hotel down is the price of drinks. I am afraid that I am just not willing to pay the best part of £5 for a diet coke - particularly as I get through about 5 a day. And that is just the soft drinks. Imagine when you get to the end of your holiday and realise you've spent £250 on diet coke - you would feel like a bit of an idiot - wouldn't you?! I was called at the end of the holiday by a lady who asked if our stay was pleasant and I did express that it was, beautiful, wonderful, perfect, except for that one gripe. So... I await my management response telling me that the price of drinks in in line with........ etc. But to those considering it, do go, you won't be disappointed. If you are a diet coke adict you will just have to take the short hike down to the village.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MRassoulis, General Manager at Elounda Beach Hotel & Villas, responded to this review, March 5, 2012
Thank you for writing the review about your stay at the Elounda Beach Hotel. We are sincerely sorry that the price of the diet cola had such a detrimental effect on your holiday. To set the record straight the price was 4.5 € minus the 10% discount that was afforded to all our guests on their consumption from their bill last year, as part of our anniversary celebrations.
However, as you point out, we do ask the opinion of our guests and encourage them to make suggestions, on how we can improve the holiday experience at the Elounda Beach Hotel. So with this in mind, we shall be reviewing our pricing policy for the coming season. We look forward to welcoming you again to the Elounda Beach Hotel in the near future.

Kind regards,

Manolis Rassoulis
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sofia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2012

I spent one week in the hotel with my girlfriend and friend couple. It is a great hotel, rooms are not what you expect for luxury but the view and the atmosphere are unique. The whole complex is very good, excellent location, great restaurants, just do not go to the Chinese one (we did that and missed the great fish/sea night at the main one). Crete is a good place to rent a car and explore.The only bad thing for the hotel was the lack of Internet connection. They will tell you that you can use the hotel’s Wi-Fi at the reception but it is hopeless.

Room Tip: Choose as sea view or share pool room
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MRassoulis, General Manager at Elounda Beach Hotel & Villas, responded to this review, February 10, 2012
We are delighted that you and your friends enjoyed your summer holidays here at the Elounda Beach Hotel. We have such a wide range of accommodation that to view all the possibilities you would have to visit our website and look on the interactive map to make a good informed choice about which category you would like. There are varied options for both entertainment and dinning at the hotel. All this set in to our unique and spectacular surroundings makes our holiday experience here at the Elounda Beach one to remember.
Our internet connection is under review and we sincerely hope that it will be widely available and up to international speed standards by the time we re-open in March.
We would look forward to welcoming you and your company again for another stay at our Cretan holiday paradise.


Kind regards
Manolis Rassoulis
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Russia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2012

Jumped onboard with friends to go there for a week. Had a great time. The beach, although its small is good for hotel guets with enough beach/water activities. Breakfast was great, so were the dinners at all 4 restaurants of the hotel: good food, different cuisines. Very nice spa, althouh i don;t usually use spas often, went here every day: a fantastic massage therapist Ira. Very good service, althogh a bit slow, but hey, this is vacation and Greece)))
Probably not a place for more than 10 days. Guests are a usual mix...noveau riche Russians...somewhat drunk and misbehaved, from Germany, UK and some other countries.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MRassoulis, General Manager at Elounda Beach Hotel & Villas, responded to this review, February 10, 2012
Thank you for the review you have written on Trip advisor about your holiday at the Elounda Beach Hotel. I am pleased that you discovered our spa. As the spa is on the top floor of the Imperial Building it affords the most stunning views over the Mediterranean Sea and the Mirabello Bay. Our signature concept for the spa features the methods of Henri Chenot which are becoming a firm favourite with all our loyal guests. Our therapists tailor make the therapies to suit the individual and so leaving our guests feeling totally pampered and with a great sense of well being.
The Elounda Beach Hotel experience is one that our guests treasure and keep them returning to the hotel year after year. The huge variety of things to do through out the day and different venues to dine at enhanced by the spectacular surroundings, makes the hardest part of the holiday deciding where to try first. Our sundowner cocktails at the famous Veghera Jetty Bar last long in to the night. As the sea gently lulls around the waters edge seating of the bar with its views across the sea to the distant dusky mountains, invite guests to gather to enjoy the balmy warm breeze of the summer evenings.
We hope to see you again this summer and that you will also become one of our loyal guests who dream of the Elounda Beach Hotel during the long winter period.

Kind regards,
Manolis Rassoulis
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Elounda Beach Hotel & Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Elounda Beach Hotel & Villas

Address: Elounda, Crete 72053, Greece
Location: Greece > Crete > Lasithi Prefecture > Elounda
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Elounda
#3 Spa Hotel in Elounda
#4 Luxury Hotel in Elounda
#7 Family Hotel in Elounda
#10 Romantic Hotel in Elounda
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Elounda Beach Hotel & Villas 5*
Number of rooms: 219
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline and Despegar.com so you can book your Elounda Beach Hotel & Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Elounda Beach Hotel & Villas Crete

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Elounda Beach Hotel & Villas, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.