We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Thank you George ” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Kalypso Piano Restaurant

Kalypso Piano Restaurant
Port of Elounda, Elounda, Crete, Greece
2841041367
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #30 of 91 Restaurants in Elounda
Cuisines: Greek
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Thank you George ”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2014

This was by far the nicest meal that we had whilst on holiday. The waiters were welcoming and George's local knowledge was second to none, everyone was friendly and attentive. The food was the best we have tasted all holiday and the portion sizes were spot on. Thank you and we'll definitely be returning this holiday.

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

128 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    90
    22
    9
    5
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Swindon, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Great food, shame about service”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2014

When we arrived were greeted and treated fantastically. Food was excellent but lack of attention was poor. Staff seemed to be in a pickle over who had or had not been served. We asked for desert menu but that didn't arrive so after waiting we decided to get bill and leave. Another table were also not happy re level of service. Shame it went downhill after initial reception.

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Fantastic George”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2014

The food was fantastic atmosphere idyllic and George's knowledge of the dishes and local history was amazing

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hornchurch
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Lovely food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2014 via mobile

Me and my girlfriend went to kalypso piano restaurant and had a lovely evening. George the waiter provides a very good service, the food was great too. Would Reccomend to any1 visiting elounda.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Nice - but does not live up to its polished appearance”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2014

On first impressions we were drawn to the pretty appearance of the kalypso - it has been decorated to a high standard and really looked the part. We were greeted by George who quickly got us seated on a busy Friday evening. We were given menus to browse and unfortunately from there it went downhill!! We waited 20 minutes for some water to be brought to the table, we ordered sea bass which we were then told was no longer available so were offered the sea bream instead. We ordered the house wine which was not listed on the wine menu (when we got the bill this had come in at 39 euros for a carafe!! - this was our mistake as in the more expensive restaurants the house wine is their house choice as opposed to being the local wine) our only saving grace was that the extra half carafe we ordered with the meal was forgotten as the service was soooo slow! We waited for over 1.5hours for our food to arrive - 2 of our 4 meals came out then George came over to dress the 2 sea bream - this took around 10 mins for him to complete - he did not do this easily and left several large bones in parts of the fish - I would have done a better job myself! He didn't serve the fishes individually - he put half of one on one plate and half on the other & mashed it together like potato - I've never seen anything like it! By this time the other 2 meals were virtually cold as we waiting to eat together. I don't like leaving bad reviews but this place really needs to gets its act together. The food, once received was excellent but the poor service really lets it down - George appears to want to do everything himself obviously spreading himself a little too thinly and not letting the other staff help him run his restaurant more efficiently. To conclude - the food was great but the service was poor and for the prices charged I would have expected much better. Competition is stiff in elounda - there are many restaurants offering much better service and food for a whole lot less.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kalypso Piano Restaurant also viewed

Elounda, Lassithi Prefecture
Elounda, Lassithi Prefecture
 
Elounda, Lassithi Prefecture
Elounda, Lassithi Prefecture
 

Been to Kalypso Piano Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kalypso Piano Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.