We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A wonderful day's trip” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Flowers of Crete Day Trips

Flowers of Crete Day Trips
Odos Fillellinon, Elounda, Crete 72053, Greece
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 15 Attractions in Elounda
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Day trips and holidays around Crete to discover rare and beautiful wild flowers in idyllic locations far from the beaten track, with artist and writer Julia Jones, President and Founder of the charitable trust Flowers of Crete,dedicated to protection and conservation of the native flora of the island. Trips can be tailor made for guests preferred interests and abilities. Please enquire for more details.
Hythe, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“A wonderful day's trip”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2013

on 1st May 2013 I spent the day with Julia looking at the rich flower life in the mountains and valleys above Kritsa in Eastern Crete, not far from Agios Nikolaos.
Her knowledge of and enthusiasm for plants and her bionic vision for botanical specimens made this a special day. We leapt in and out of her jeep as she spotted a tiny dot of colour and were well-rewarded with flowers great and small, from a miniature geranium nestled in a crevice, to a huddle of wild peonies. After lunch at friendly Taverna in the mountain valley we were delighted to find several different species of wild orchid still standing. As exciting as an Easter egg hunt (Easter is 5th May in Crete this year) and such riches! Now I know why I need a better camera.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

30 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    30
    0
    0
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Suffolk
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“An enriching experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

Julia took the two of us up hairpin bends, on a day trip to look at wild flowers but in practice we enjoyed marvellous views, remote scenery, stood on Minoan Steps, saw some rare and beautiful wildflowers and a gained a fascinating insight into life in Crete. It greatly enriched our experience of the island and we would certainly ask for another trip if we go to Crete again.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nanaimo, Canada
Top Contributor
115 reviews 115 reviews
36 attraction reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
“beautiful trip and well organized”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2013

The very warm winter has brought out flowers and I came to see the early orchids and annemones. I was not disappointed. Julia knows the spots where the beautiful wild plants flourish. I really commend her conservation efforts because Greece is not an easy country in which to do conservation work. She's a very gifted artist. Colin, her jeep, tackles the gravel roads without a problem. Thank you Julia for such a warm welcome back to Crete and for offering people a chance to get up into the mountains. I really appreciate all you give to so many.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winchester, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Thripti village”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

It's early April in Crete the weather is comfortably warm and sunny,after a simple breakfast of fresh bread and cheese Julia and transport arrivesfor our day out,we climb out of Elounda towards the main N1 roadwith magnificent views of Spinalonga on our left.Once on the main road we by-pass Ag Nikolaos and head towards Orio Thriptis and the mountain village of Thripti.Weturn off of the main roadand almost immediatelystart to climb through a number of hairpin bends and passingroadside flowers such as Bitumen pea and mountain Asphodel.Eventually we arrive at mature pine forest which appears to be virtually goat free and shows no signs of forest fires.Now we can leave the car to go exploring and find Orchis anatolica and pauciflora also Ophrys species of the fusca type,Aceras anthropomorphum,Neotinea maculatum and buds of Limadorum abortivorum.We lso find specimens of Cretan tulip and arum with numerous clumps of mistletoe in the pine trees.Driving onwards and upwards we arrive at Thripti village and head for the local taverna where 4 beers and 1 raki are ordered the drinks appear with 5 plates of delicious rustic Cretan nibbles,finally after a round of raki's we retrace our steps to Elounda and prepare for a relaxed evening mealin one of the many good tavernas a short stroll away from our accomodation

Visited April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bennekom, The Netherlands
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Landscapes, wildflowers, antiquities, lovely people and excellent food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

The new year has started, the days are lengthening, time to think 'flowers' again. Last year a relative from Australia wanted to experience the Mediterranean spring one more time, so we spent the third week of April in Eastern Crete, based at the very hospitable Olive Grove Apartments in Elounda. And what a week it was. Julia Jones of 'Flowers of Crete' had been booked for four days and I can safely say that without her we would not have seen a quarter of what we saw under her guidance. It was wonderful to find, in the most beautiful wild landscapes, all those flowers familiar from gardens in NW Europe: tulips, grape hyacinths, star hyacinths, fritillaries, peonies, cyclamen, irisses, gladioli, anemones, rock roses, Daphne, to name but a selection. Also Dragon Arum and more orchids than you can shake a stick at, especially Ophrys species. Et cetera, et cetera, including lots of species endemic to Crete.
The pace was leisurely, which suited us fine. Why rush on if you enjoy so much where you are at that moment? But if you are limited in time and have a specific wish list, I'm sure Julia can accommodate that, too. An added bonus: Julia, based at Elounda, knows where to go to enjoy antiquities as well. And she knows lots of good eating places on the way. The dishes are often simple, but those superb local ingredients make them delicious. I was never one for olive oil, but the olive oil from Crete has converted me.
So if you the combination of beautiful landscapes, wildflowers, antiquities, lovely people and excellent food appeals to you, Crete is the place to go and Julia Jones of Flowers of Crete as good a guide as you can wish for.
Joost Brouwer, Bennekom, The Netherlands

Visited April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Flowers of Crete Day Trips also viewed

Elounda, Lassithi Prefecture
Elounda, Lassithi Prefecture
 
Elounda, Lassithi Prefecture
Elounda, Lassithi Prefecture
 

Been to Flowers of Crete Day Trips? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Flowers of Crete Day Trips, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.