We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delightful & different!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Kafenio Paparouna - Poppy's

Kafenio Paparouna - Poppy's
Vlichadaki, Elounda, Crete, Greece
Improve this listing
Ranked #14 of 91 Restaurants in Elounda
Cuisines: Greek
Dining options: Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Delightful & different!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013 via mobile

Like everyone else we'd passed here many times & thought how lovely it looked, when we eventually tried it we were sorry we hadn't gone sooner. The food is great _ best cheese saganaki we'd tasted, and lots of other tasty things, house wine really good. Marvelous laid _back ambience in a delightful quirky garden overlooking moonlit sea, holiday bliss.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

80 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    65
    11
    4
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Greek first
  • Any
English first
Welshpool, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
109 helpful votes 109 helpful votes
“A little piece of Cretian paradise”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013

We must have walked past this little taverna with its lovely garden a dozen times before we called in. We will never walk past it again!.It became a regular port of call as we went down to the harbour.Poppy the owner has green fingers and the tables and chairs are all deep in the luxuriant vegetation a perfect place to stop and relax after the heat of the day.Poppy serves a little plate of meze, all made by herself on the premises, with every round of drinks, Judgeing by the number of locals that call in every evening this has got to be one of the most authentic Cretian tavernas in Elounda. Well worth a visit.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Fabulous family run restaurant.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013

Wonderful situation, like sitting in someone's lovely garden but with a view of the sea. Unhurried and unrushed you can stay as long as you want and eat and drink as much or little as you like. Fabulous food!

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
83 helpful votes 83 helpful votes
“Authentic , Amazing and an Absolute must ....”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2013

Could probably walk past this little piece of heaven and not realise you are missing out on one of the best places to eat in Elounda ( or anywhere for that matter)

The views alone make it worth stopping for a drink or two - especially as Poppy brings out a small plate of meze per PERSON for every round of drinks - and such a variety : home made potato salad , bean salad , sometimes several tasty dips ... just a slice of typical Cretian hospitality second to none !

Its cheaper to drink here too than most all bars in the area - which makes it even better ( the litre of house Rose for 8 Euros is a must ! )

There is a small ( but larger than last year) menu if you want something a bit more filling too.... the Liver and Onions at 4.5 Euros is ESSENTIAL eating --- by far and away the tastiest , sweetest most awesome dish I have had in a long long time . The cheese / spinach pies are home made -as are the Dolmades ( in fact a fresh batch was being made up whilsts we were there on our last night) -- even the marinated anchovies were different to anywhere I have had before - obviously prepared on the premises and not pre packaged.

So whether you just want a few drinks before moving on else where , a lazy evening of drinking and eating " picky" bits -- or a few plates of genuine local cuisine where you know that as there isnt a lot of choice - everything is made fresh there and then to order - you honestly cannot go wrong with " Poppys Place " .... ENJOY !!!!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redditch, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
“A brilliant find”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2012

I visited this restaurant last week. I dont know why I never tried it before! The food was amazing. Traditional Greek cooking at it's best. The cheese pies (obviously home made) were the best I have tasted. I also had chicken with a white wine sauce, served with just a few fried potatoes, and rice. Delicious. The atmosphere is something else. Very romantic, with lots of lanterns hanging from the trees, and Greek music played gently in the background. The restaurant is right next to the sea, and it was lovely to eat (and drink!) with the moon shining on the water. Four of us ate, and with a copious amount of wine, the bill only came to just over 40 Euros. Amazing.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kafenio Paparouna - Poppy's also viewed

Elounda, Lassithi Prefecture
Elounda, Lassithi Prefecture
 
Elounda, Lassithi Prefecture
Elounda, Lassithi Prefecture
 

Been to Kafenio Paparouna - Poppy's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kafenio Paparouna - Poppy's, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.