We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place! Great hosts! Great food!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Megaro

Megaro
Elounda Square | elounda, Elounda, Crete 72053, Greece
+302841042220
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #40 of 91 Restaurants in Elounda
Cuisines: Greek
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romance, Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Moscow
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great place! Great hosts! Great food!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

This is the place we go every time we are in Elounda. If you do not know what you want to order - just tell the hosts how hungry you are - they will bring you the variety of food whatever you decide - a small meze from seafood for ice cold beer during the daytime or a full dinner for a group. The kids like very much grilled haloumi cheese, which they serve flambee, and all the fish is amazing. The best we had was grouper from the oven. We never had such a tender dish - tried to order next few days in different places later in Crete - never that good. But need to order in advance - just preparation will take up to 3 hours.
Put 4 points for value - just to let you know that it is not cheap. But value for money for sure. Do not order cheap wine - retsina is not the this place.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

123 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    90
    22
    3
    4
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Croton on Hudson, New York
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Wonderful restaurant, on the water, great service, great food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013

We ate at Megaro in Elounda in August. The food was terrific! The staff lovely. They had great seafood for the adults and great pasta for the kids. The view is beautiful. I see that another reviewer said they were rushed and the food was pricey. The food in this part of Crete is expensive period end of discussion. However, this restaurant was not the most expensive that we ate in and quite frankly we ate almost the same thing every night so we are a good gauge of pricing. We felt the amount of food for the price in this part of town was fair. We did not feel rushed in any restaurant in all of Greece, especially not at Megaro. The staff was lovely and would have welcomed us to stay much longer than we did.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Lovely place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013

We had a table right on the water front which was lovely as there was a lovely breeze to cool us. The food was lovely, the staff welcoming.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Very rushed and quite pricey”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013

We ate here on our first night in Elounda.
There was a menu outside and the prices were different to those charged. Compared to most of the other restaurants we visited, it seemed very pricey for the standard of the food.
They seemed concerned with impressing a certain few customers and virtually ignoring others.
Service was very rushed and hectic. Only ate there once, always looked busy so obviously suited some.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
1 review
“What a fantastic surpise”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013

We just returned from a 12 day trip to Greece. We visited Athens, Crete, Mykonos and Santorini. My wife decided to ask a bartender at our accommodations in Crete (name with held since he was very hesitant to talk to her for fear of angering the management) for his recommendations of where to eat. He said we should go to Megaro and let the owner that he had sent us.

Probably the best meal we have had in a decade and we live in San Francisco (peninsula) so we have access to great food. They were aware that our youngest was getting tired and hungry so appetizers started coming almost immediately. We ordered a variety of dishes, meat, vegetarian and fish. For the fish my wife went up with Dimitri to look at the fresh fish and selected one.( We later found out that his father is local fisherman and they use his fish whenever possible). When the fish was done he brought it out in this huge roasting pan with the fish surrounded by roast vegetables and with a glorious sauce. My kids (including the youngest who never eats fish) decided to try it and we all loved it! Even though we were full they brought out a desert platter that we devoured.

We had a leisurely meal and while we were there I had an opportunity to watch the owner and his cousin in action. This is a family restaurant and you can tell. They actually care. They were gracious to couples dining quietly. They were appropriately laughing with groups who were out to dine jovially. They were able to work with large groups with 3 generations at the table. They were fantastic with us in spite of having some tired and jet lagged kids.

To top it all off we asked them to get us a cab to take us back to our hotel. When the cab did not come, Dimitri asked us to wait a moment and came back with his car and drove us back!! Never in my life has that happened to me anywhere.

I hope to return to Greece someday and hope that Megaro is still in business.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Megaro also viewed

Elounda, Lassithi Prefecture
Elounda, Lassithi Prefecture
 
Elounda, Lassithi Prefecture
 

Been to Megaro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Megaro, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.