We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Only OK” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Gorgona Taverna

Gorgona Taverna
Plaka Port, Elounda, Crete, Greece
28410 41073
Improve this listing
Ranked #51 of 91 Restaurants in Elounda
Cuisines: Greek
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Chania Town, Greece
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“Only OK”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2012

Just average. Sorry, but I really don't see any relation to all the reviews here & the food we ate. An acceptable Horiatiki (greek salad), some OK sardines, a passable Pastitsio. & quite expensive.

  • Visited May 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

28 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    17
    8
    3
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Chiipping Campden, England
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Lovely restaurant!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2011

While staying at the Blue Palace, near Plaka, my husband and I visited this taverna twice, One day we tried another restaurant in Plaka, but regretted it and went back to Gorgona! The food is lovely and Adonis is very friendly and professional. We definitely recommend it!

  • Visited September 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Number 1 in Plaka”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2011

Excellent service and food. Family run and happy, friendly staff. Excellent for children. The food was the best we found in Plaka and the house wine excellent. So good, we went back there on our last evening.

  • Visited August 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Park City, Utah
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Don't Walk By This One! Sometimes the 1st Restaurant - IS the best!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2011

We had a lovely holiday in Elounda this month, staying at the Blue Palace. While the Blue Palace is a fantastic hotel, their restaurants were extremely expensive, and the reviews for these pricy meals were not favorable. We had read on Trip Advisor that we should wander down to the Plaka Elounda and check out their restaurants. I was always of the mind that the first place you see is not where you should eat - Taverna Gorgona is the first restaurant, so we walked on by and tried another place that was OK but not exceptional. The next night, same thing. On the third night, as we were walking by, Adonis, their exceptional greeter, asked us to take a look at the menu - we did, and liked what we saw so we thought we would give it a try. We LOVED our meal - so much so that on the last night, we ate there too. This is a family business, the owner's wife does all the cooking, and she is talented beyond compare! Our only regret is that we wasted 2 nights NOT eating there, as we would have dined every night. They have such a great variety, and exceptional quality for all of their produce and fish. I miss it already!

  • Visited June 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, MA
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“So good we kept coming back”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2010

We ate at Gorgona Tavern on our first night in Elounda. We liked it so much we came back the next night. The food is delicious and attractively priced. The fish could not be more fresh and the greek salad is mind blowing. The setting, on the water, is beautiful. There are not many better places to spend a summer evening. Most importantly, the family that operates the restaurant and the staff are delightful. It was truly a special experience and we miss it.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Gorgona Taverna also viewed

Elounda, Lassithi Prefecture
Plaka, Lassithi Prefecture
 

Been to Gorgona Taverna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Gorgona Taverna, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.