We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“July 2013 Hiona Apartments Crete” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hiona Apartments

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Elounda
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hiona Apartments
Save
You added Hiona Apartments to your Saves list
Elounda, Crete, Greece   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #13 of 34 Specialty Lodging in Elounda
london
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“July 2013 Hiona Apartments Crete”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2013

Excellent holiday. We have been many in times in Greece and my husband said it is the most beautiful resort we have ever been and I tend to agree. These family run apartments are spotless, very spacious and command stunning views. We asked for extra pillows and they arrived immediately, they will go out of their way to deal with any requests you may have.They are located next to a crystal clear sea which is great for snorkeling. Main town square and bus stop just a flat 10 min stroll away. A variety of restaurants all reasonably priced and we never had a bad meal in 10 days. Everyone we spoke to was of the same opinion. Thanks to Kostas, Manos, Elena, Eri, Tina and Jon who made our stay a great pleasure. Tina your Jokes are the best. Manos thanks for the delicious but potent Mojitos. Eri kept the apartments spotless and Elena was always smiling and keeping the bar spick and span. We went with Thomas Cook and a special mention for Lauren who was one of the nicest reps we have ever met. I am sure we will return again to this beautiful resort and when we do we will definitely be staying at Hiona Apartments.

Room Tip: We were in a 2 bedroom apartment on the ground floor and it was very spacious.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

83 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    56
    19
    5
    3
    0
See reviews for
24
38
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013 via mobile

Been here a few times and could not have asked for a better place to stay. Pool is a good size for both adults and children alike, bar is reasonable priced and food is excellent! Location is fantastic and if you are lucky enough (as I and many others were) you just might see some rather large Turtles swimming close by! A great site for all the family!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013

Spent a few days here with my sister, She stayed here but I was here during the day. Apartments were basic, but did the trick! The setting is lovely, right on the sea front, with a beautiful view. The pool was great, easy access, just a few steps to climb down, but with a handle to hold on to, just perfect. Lovely sunbeds and some tables and chairs also at back of pool. The family who own it Costas and his son manos were lovely and friendly. Tina ran the bar as well as multi tasking, great night there, with John and Bo the dog, Great singer John. The pool bar served lunches, and also snacks, very delicious, the garlic fries are yummy! The sheltered part for eating\drinking was lovely. I loved the cushion area around the tree, that was a perfect place to sit in the sun and chill. Lovely clean place. well worth the visit.

Room Tip: Only seen one room, it was fine, not huge , basic and had balcony with view. what else does one need...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

Other reviewers have commented on the apartments, basic but clean etc. Absolutely fine for me. Who wants to stay int he apartment when in such a beautiful setting?!
However, I can't emphasise enough the efficiency and friendliness of the staff. Costas, the owner is friendly and professional, never giving the impression that he has "favourites" among the guests.Tina who runs the bar,is warm, efficient and welcoming at all times. Jorgos keeps the pool beautifully clean working as soon as it closes in the evening and first thing in the morning. The handsome Manos, Costas' son, down from Uni, runs the bar with Tina, equally efficiently, and I think he is everbody's idea of a good son - or a toyboy! And Ehri - what would they do without Ehri who cooks and services the apartments. she is such a sweet young lady and always helpfu.l I mustn't forget the "resident" singer, John and Boo (his dog) who not only provided entertainment one evening in the week but during the day you could watch them playing catch with a ball int he sea and when John was snorkelling Boo was riding on his back!
Thank you all for making my holiday unforgettable. I will definitely be back!

Room Tip: Higher floors have a balcony looking out to the sea but any room is good since they are all close to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
147 reviews 147 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2013

Perfect location, overlooking the sea about 10 minutes walk from Elounda village. Lovely clean swimming pool. Really lovely atmosphere and everyone is so friendly. Apartments are basic but a decent size and lovely and clean. Small courtyard outside with washing line. Powerpoints at convenient height. Sheets and towels changed every 5 days. Nice pool/snack bar with friendly owner and staff, Kostas, Tina, Leanne and Manos. Entertainment twice during the week. Menu has Greek and English food and generous portions. Kostas happy to oblige with late check out. Free wi-fi that works well.

Minor niggles. Not enough space round the pool due to two large plant pots. No shower curtains and the floor doesn't slope which means the bathroom is always saturated so we couldn't leave a towel in there and not much space for toileteries. No mirrors in bedrooms and second wardrobe in living area rather than the bedroom. Air con is 45 euros a week extra. If we came back would bring our own shower curtain, bath towel, a tea towel and a squeegee for the floor.

Nothing to do with the apartments but very important If you are arriving on a shuttle (coach) transfer, you will be dropped off on the highway. Walk all the way down the alleyway (don't worry it's not as scary or as far as it looks) When you get to the bottom, turn right and it is about 4 along. If your flight is delayed and it is in darkness, walk round all the apartments, your key will be in the door, just walk in.

Room Tip: Upper floors have a good view but down stairs rooms have the courtyard so both have advantages
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighouse
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013

We agree wholeheartedly with Sue and Alan below who we met at Hiona. We also enjoyed the fish and chip lunch run by Tina. (Sorry Sue, lost your email address).The whole crew are lovely including Kostas and Manos
Our favourite restaurants were Ergospacio and Despinos. We saw a wonderful moonrise from Despinos as well as enjoying a lovely meal. For fish, Canali is a must.
We can't wait to visit Hiona again. This was our second time and there will definitely be a third, fourth, fifth..... The whole atmosphere is so relaxing and there are some lovely walks in the area and places to visit. The apartments are kept clean and any problems are dealt with as soon as they are reported. We had a slight problem with the shower head which was fixed before we returned from our walk.
We met some some lovely people there and would enjoy seeing them there again anytime. I didn't want to come home.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
halifax
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013

Well sadly we are back from our lovely second holiday at Hiona in Elounda and I am just looking to book yet again so that we have something to look forward to.
The holiday was amazing as are the people in Elounda.
Hiona apartments are in a very enviable position only a step away from the sea.
The apartments are very Greek basic but clean and the pool area and snack bar are superb.
We had a wonderful afternoon with Tina which included a lovely lunch of Fish chips and Salad and was accompanied with lots of wine and finished off with fresh melon.
It is only a 10 minute walk along the sea front to the harbour where all the lovely tavernas offer lots of choice
After a day walking backwards and forwards you will find that you are greeted with a friendly good morning,good afternoon and good evening as you pass the tavernas but are not put under any pressure to dine there these people are very very friendly and its a pleasure to speak to them all.
You could eat somewhere different every night for a month and still miss out on some lovely places.
Our favourite taverna is the Poulis restaurant and I have done a separate review for this one
Thanks Tina and gang for making this special yet again can't wait to return next year.
Sue Alan..

Room Tip: side rooms have sunny balconies upstairs
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hiona Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hiona Apartments

Address: Elounda, Crete, Greece
Location: Greece > Crete > Lassithi Prefecture > Elounda
Amenities:
Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 34 Specialty Lodging in Elounda
Number of rooms: 9
Also Known As:
Hiona Apartments Hotel Elounda
Hiona Apartments Elounda, Crete

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hiona Apartments, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.