We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful but pricey.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Aquila Elounda Village Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Bookmark
You added Aquila Elounda Village Hotel to your Saves list
Aquila Elounda Village Hotel
5.0 of 5 Resort   |   P.O. Box 16, Elounda, Crete 72053, Greece   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 36 Hotels in Elounda
Chelmsford, Essex
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Beautiful but pricey.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2009

Have just returned from a 7 day stay at Elounda Village. The hotel setting is stunning. The views from all aspects of the hotel to die for. Food was plentiful with a lot of choice. Staff were all very helpful at all times. Two things let it down. 1. The bar prices were extortionate - 17.20 euros for a G&T and a glass of wine! We did what many others did and bought our own from a supermarket in Elounda and sat on our own terrace of an evening. 2. Although we knew the hotel was in a quiet position it would have been nice if there was a courtesy bus into Elounda. Have stayed in other 5 star hotels and often there is a courtesy bus. It is such a shame - there is a lovely new bar area but unfortunately there is no atmosphere at all and is almost empty most evenings. Hotel owners must reduce bar prices.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,020 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    598
    305
    90
    17
    10
See reviews for
56
837
7
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (309)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
scotland
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2009

We went to Elounda village for our 40th anniversary I was so dissapointed with thisholiday. We were so far out of Elounda and to walk the road was not the best. The prices in the Hotel were a total rip off a small glass of wine was 9euros 30 cents, A bottle of table water was 3euros 60cents. The room we had was not 5star and the floor was not washed everyday . The pool area certainly not 5star and a very small swimming area, the sun beds could have been a lot better as well.We felt as though we were trapped as you needed a Taxi to go anywere, so they had the monopoly to charge high prices. I would not go back to this Hotel or recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2009

We went to Elounda Village for our honeymoon, we really enjoyed it, but were a little disappointed with one or two things.

The good points are definitely the staff and the location (the view not for transport!).

The staff were fantastic the entire time we stayed there always friendly and helpful, sometimes being a little over attentive, but it didn't bother us too much. Special mention to Zia who was the barlady at the beach bar, who was always friendly, happy willing to give a bit of her time to tell you a bit about Crete.

The location is really beautiful, we had a sea view superior suite, which was really nice although not entirely private as it was very large shared balcony. The little private beach was wonderful and offers fantastic snorkeling all around (Go to the village and buy fins and mask for +- 20 euros definitely worth the money), be warned there are not enough sunbeds to accomodate all guests so get there early! It was so fantastic there, we did not use the pool once in the 9 days we were there!

The negatives were the location and it was not a 5* hotel, but definitely has the 5* price tag and as another reviewer commented no nightlife or entertainment.

The room was spacious but having come straight from 4* hotel in Spain (Melia Alicante), this did not offer anything close Spain. No option to watch any on demand movies or TV altough it was not needed was a little disappointing.

To get to any where from the hotel is either expensive or requires a bit of fitness. A taxi from the hotel to Elounda village will cost you 7 euros, so you can imagine it would get a little expensive 14 euros each time you want to go out, which is still cheaper than buying a drink at the bar in the hotel! If you decided to walk, no problem be warned it is 20-25 minute walk and good part of that is up steep hills! We got around this by hiring a car for the week +- 16 euros a day, much better and we got to see alot more of Crete.

Buying a bottle of wine for dinner cost at least 20 euros for dinner, so we sometimes went to the local village and went for dinner (even though we had half board), which was about 40 euros and the food was better. Don't get me wrong the food at the buffet was really good, but pales in comparision to what the local restaurants can offer. (One restaurant we must mention is Okeanis, on the way out of Elounda towards Plaka. Amazing food, 10 euros for 1 litre of wine and great view and service)

The gym was good although, one of the machines was broken and another did not work properly, but you can get a decent work out.

As mentioed before we have stayed a 4* hotels that offered more and are half the price, even if the location is different, but if you have not been hit by the recetion and cash is not a problem I'm sure you will love this hotel and really enjoy it. For us next time we will probably take just the room and eat out every night, better value.

Lastly I would like to thank the hotel for giving us a lot of gifts while we were there, they gave us a bottle champagne for our honeymoon, fresh fruit everyday, raki (local liquer), and even a bottle of water everyday, plus a very nice greek vase! THANKS!

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Henley-on-Thames, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2009

Perfect friendly staff, views to die for, good food - what more could one ask for - other than slightly cheaper drinks and the re-opening of the Symposium Restaurant to offer an alternative to a buffet every night!
The hotel has been extended in the last 12 months with several new bedrooms. These are spacious and well fitted out with only a few snags (lack of a full length mirror for example) yet to be sorted but these are minor quibbles. It's a fair walk - in the heat - into Elounda village and back and a courtesy bus for one leg of the return journey would be a welcome addition.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2009

We booked a week at Aquilla Elounda Village, on a half board basis through Thompson in June 2009 - cost around £1,000, including flights to Gatwick.

From our point of view, if you go expecting 4 star you'll have a good holiday - as we did - if you go expecting 5 star luxury you may be disappointed.

Food
Buffet breakfast - good selection, of cereals, breads and 'European/German focused' cooked breakfast - as expected, but not, in our view, 5 star.

Dinner
Buffet - good selection of salads, breads, main courses and desserts - the food was okay and what we expected, but not what we would call 5 star. Table water (1 litre) EUR3.60. Wine - We paid EUR23 for what in essense is house red or white.

Bar
Large beer 400ml EUR5.40 soft drinks (diet coke) EUR3.40. Frappe EUR 4.90

Hotel Pool/beach
The best beach is the 'mini-port' - with loungers either on the small beach or quay - lovely clear water and the opportunity to try out diving for free. Beach towels provided.

Room
The hotel was clean and our room , a standard room, was fairly large, with a balcony. We had a second room including a sofa bed and two day beds. Flat screen TV.

Walk into Elounda
35 mins or taxi EUR 7 (one way)

Local Restaurant
We found a good restaurant towards the outskirts of Elounda - if you walk round the bay away from the 'Pizzerias' (toward Plaka) there is a quiet family run restaurant (apologies but we forgot the name - sign was in Greek) where you can get proper greek food - Geraniums - in the flower beds outside and old fashioned wooden chairs and tables.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2009

We went to the above 5 star hotel on a half board basis and it did not live up to the standard one would expect of a 5 star hotel. The room was ok but needed more storage space. The hotel itself did not have enough evening entertainment. The drinks are too expensive, about 9 Euro each. There is a global recession going on and the hotel doens't appear to acknowledge this!! They do not promote the hotels facilities vey much, for example, they don't push the gym or the fact there each room should have a DVD player. I could go on and on but I need to stop now.

Anyway, I wouldn't recommend this hotel. Its too arrogant in the current climate.

Gillian and Brian.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Solihull, West Midlands, UK
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2009

We arrived very early in the morning and they greeted us with a smile and sent us to have breakfast in the restaurant while they got our room ready. By the time we had finished, our luggage had been taken to our room which was on the first floor level of the little buildings dotted around the village, we had an amazing sea view from our balcony and woke up very early every morning just to see the sun rising out of the sea - amazing! There was fresh fruit and wine in the room to welcome us, a nice touch. The room was immaculate, in fact all of Elounda Village was kept spotless. The pretty gardens were lovely to walk through, such a relaxed atmosphere. Lots of couples of all ages staying here. The pool area was quiet and peaceful too. We only ate in the main restaurant and had a choice of being inside or outside, the food was of a very high standard with lots of choice and we enjoyed every meal. Yes, the drinks were expensive but a glass of wine with our meal and perhaps a liqueur in the bar afterwards didn't exactly break the bank and after all we were on holiday. If you wanted more you could always stock up at the local Lidl (their wine at £2.99 a bottle wasn't bad!) We had a lovely time at the Elounda Village and will definitely return.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Aquila Elounda Village Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aquila Elounda Village Hotel

Address: P.O. Box 16, Elounda, Crete 72053, Greece
Location: Greece > Crete > Lassithi Prefecture > Elounda
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Elounda
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Elounda
#2 Luxury Hotel in Elounda
#2 Spa Hotel in Elounda
#4 Romantic Hotel in Elounda
#12 Family Hotel in Elounda
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Aquila Elounda Village Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 208
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Aquila Elounda Village ELOUNDA in Elounda, an exclusive couples and adults only Hotel, for those who seek privacy as long as luxury, set amongst beautiful gardens and magnificent view of the Mirabello bay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Venere, Expedia, Priceline, Despegar.com, Odigeo, Otel, TripOnline SA, Prestigia and Tingo so you can book your Aquila Elounda Village Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aquila Hotel Elounda
Aquila Elounda Village Hotel Crete

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Aquila Elounda Village Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.