We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Breathtaking” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Aquila Elounda Village Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Aquila Elounda Village Hotel to your Saves list
Aquila Elounda Village Hotel
5.0 of 5 Resort   |   P.O. Box 16, Elounda, Crete 72053, Greece   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 36 Hotels in Elounda
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Breathtaking”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2013 via mobile

What a fantastic hotel, truly deserves the Five Star Rating given . From the moment walked into the hotel , we felt relaxed , also that we had made the right choice of holiday hotel. We were shown to our room which was 474, on the third floor, it took our breath away with the quality, the view from the veranda was amazing, overlooking the Med, ahead of us, and to our left we looked out towards Elounda.
We found the food excellent, and plenty of choices , there was something for everyone, if you wanted something extra special , there were two other dining venues to choose from.
The staff throughout the hotel were very friendly towards everyone, even if some guests forgot to say please and thank you, I am pleased to say, that the ones I noticed being ignorant were not British.
The beach area has plenty of loungers with comfortable cushions, also reed umbrella's which are permanently fixed between each pair of loungers, your beach towel can be exchanged at anytime, and as often as you require.
The beach bar is a great place for lunch, overlooking the Med enjoying a cold Mythos beer.
There are so many staff we would like to say a personal thank you to, for making our holiday a special one.
There is the local bus , which picks up and drops of at the hotel certain times of the day.
We will return again in 2014, for another enjoyable holiday.


Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,026 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    600
    305
    93
    18
    10
See reviews for
57
841
7
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (309)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
St. Albans, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2013 via mobile

We absolutely loved our time there .
As a couple in our mid 50s this was actually our first ever
package holiday , let alone adults only and all inclusive. We decided it was time for a grown up holiday and we weren't disappointed . The location is stunning , architecture and landscaping were superb . The planting ( olives , bougainvillea , oranges ! ) wonderful .
We paid extra for a sea view bungalow room which was great. The beach , sunbathing jetty and seafront areas are awesome . The sea was warm and the snorkelling great. Some of the terraces and beach accesses are quite steep but shouldn't be a problem to most people and actually add to the views and surroundings.
The all inclusive package is a bit confusing at first but once you get used to it is actually very good value . The " house " wines and beer are perfectly nice ,
the Raki mojitos and large Metaxas in and around the lobby bar were sublime.
The staff were just fantastic every one of them , the service is outstanding , very welcoming , friendly and helpful . Food was very good always . There is a huge range at breakfast lunch and at dinner too . It is varied to appeal to a large range of tastes and they had different options every day .There was always something appetising and interesting on offer. The a la carte restaurants are very good too .
We were lucky , the weather was hot and sunny . It got windy at times but it was a warm wind.
If you are the picky sort I'm sure you could find fault , perhaps a cobweb or patch of scuffed paintwork . We weren't troubled by anything . All in all a comfortable , relaxing and indulgent stay.

We would go back at the drop of a hat !

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013 via mobile

I loved this hotel. It is in a beautiful location and even though there are other hotels around you, you don't feel closed in or over looked. I read ppl complaining about the steps and slopes down to the beach, (witch is fantastic best sun bathing area iv ever bin to) but your on a cliff with amazing views so what to you expect. Besides there not as bad as they are being made out to be and with the amount of food I ate was glad for a little exercise lol.

We upgraded our room to a superior sea view room witch I think was around £1700 for a week hb. In our room we had champers on arrival and a bottle of wine, fruit, sweet, flowers, the works it was a lovely welcome. The down side to the room was the shower. It was a bath shower, fine for me being 5ft 3, not so good for my boyfriend who's 6ft 5 and didn't quit fit. That morning we asked if there was any thing bigger we could have and the next day they upgraded us (free of charge) to a room with a walk in shower and all in all a bigger and better room very please. Amazing survice with helpful and friendly staff.

The buffet was good but couldn't of eaten there every nigh. As we upgraded to a superior room we became mythica guests witch ment we got some extras this included being able to eat at the other food pleases for free were as other hb would have to pay, so we did that some nights and other nights we swaped our dinner for Lunch and headed out for dinner. On out last night we were also left a beautiful key ring as a present for being a mythica guessed. the only thing I would say is if I went all inclusive I would have been quite disappointed as it is more of a discount very little if free and drinks are very expensive.

The sea pool was outstanding never seen so many fish. Water was crystal clear and so worm. Lovely and relaxing.

Iv never stayed some were, were the other guests are so friendly and chatty and I believe that is down to the clientele this hotel attracts, of cores there are some that do like a good mone but don't let them put u off. elounda is a lovely resort and the hotel is grate.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cranage, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013 via mobile

We visited in mid-September having booked a one week break through Thompson. Flight was OK but as usual, no entertainment, lack of leg room and limited refreshments, only good part was we landed ahead of schedule! Transfer time was as stated, although we had to wait an age before the coach actually moved off and as stated in other reviews reps got off halfway through the journey.

Hotel lived up to expectation and on arrival we found we had been upgraded to a Junior Suite and Mythica package, so very pleased with this as we had only booked half-board as we had decided to try out some of the local restaurants.

We considered breakfast in the main restaurant to be good and ended up eating in the Mirabello restaurant for three of our evening meals and one lunch. Every time we ate the staff we very attentive and the cuisine excellent, couple this to the fantastic views of the sea, a very enjoyable experience indeed.

We hired a car from the hotel with Budget and found the lady behind the car hire desk to be extremely helpful and pleasant, we would definitely recommend that anyone wanting to hire a vehicle used this facility, try a make sure you get a diesel car though as along with better fuel consumption diesel is considerably more cheaper than petrol.

We ate out on three occasions getting a taxi into both Agios and Elounda, both locations offer plenty of restaurants to choose from and to suit any budget, both places a must to visit during a stay at this hotel.

Overall we had a great time during our stay in Crete and wished we had opted for a longer stay, a week was just not enough time to do all we wanted, so we'll definitely be heading back but will probably try another hotel as although this hotel doesn't quite live up to a 5 star establishment.

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2013

It is difficult to find something to say that hasn't already been said
The week was the most relaxing break we have had. I agree with other reviews regarding the price of drinks but the cocktails during Happy hour were excellent value
As a fan of villa holidays, this is one hotel that we would go back to. The hotel was spotless, food superb and the staff were very helpful and attentive
The bus service into Ag Nik and Elounda was fantastic value plus the taxis are also good vfm. If you want to completely chill out this is the place for you.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basildon, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2013

Stayed at the Aquila Elounda Village Hotel between 26th Sept until 6th October (10 Days) All inclusive. Booked through Thompson (approx cost for a superior room with flights £3000.00) On arrival welcomed with drinks which included fizzy wine and orange juice. Hotel porters on site to collect your luggage after your long coach ride to this hotel from the hotel.
On checking in we were awarded the upgraded status of being part of the Mythica Program, allows you to have certain extra's during your stay. We were shown to ROOM 153 which was indeed a pleasant room, very spacious. However the situation of these few rooms seemed to be an after thought of the hotel. The view from the balcony was directly overlooking the car park and entrance of the hotel. Constantly coaches arriving, taxi's and even the local Bus. Our sea view if you could call it was in the very distance once your eye's were taken away from the derelict hotel that sits adjacent to Elounda Village.
Hotel was clean and tidy and the staff were very friendly. As for the house keeping for room 153 it was ok but she never pulled any stops when it came to turn down service. Actually she emptied the bin and that was about it. Our room consisted of tea making facilities hair dryer, a proper one and we had flowers fresh fruit and a bottle of fizzy wine on arrival. (Which was fine if you could drink it "yuck")
Hotel Bar - All inclusive status allows you to drink local beer, bottled water local, coke, spirits local, however if you ask for fizzy water you pay.!!! You have to be careful when ordering and its best to ask for the menu as this shows you what you can and can not drink if boarding on All inclusive. Otherwise you will find you are paying through the roof for your stay. It was so funny to think I could drink a Gin and tonic FREE but to ask for a bottle of fizzy water I had to pay, Bizarre is an understatement. Main Restaurant was fine until you have rain or bad weather. If you encounter bad weather the hotel has to close all the outside area's of eating and the inside eating area's become limited which then creates a wait in line to be seated. All of which is not mentioned in the brochure when booking. Food was okay but not for me, nothing seemed to go together. Even the salad area didnt offer lettuce.
Pool bar area was okay, breakfast can be obtained there if on All inclusive, but walking to it is steep and the upward climb either steps or the paths are for the young and no consideration for the elderly.
If you plan to book a car whilst at the resort, use the Budget with the Hotel, this lady was excellent and very sincere. DO NOT book your car through thompsons at the resort. Although you can't book directly with Thompson at the resort they do arrange it and to be honest we was given a car that was unsuitable for the road condition of the area, but expected to pay over and above on price of hire. So do your self a favor and see the BUDGET REP she will provide you with a road worthy car that will be what you are expecting.
We were so disappointed with our Room we upgraded further at our cost to a much more suitable room, however no fruit, for a few days, no flowers, no fizzy wine, and a wall mounted hair dryer, you know the ones that make a racket but dont dry your hair. Views were better but unfortunately the weather turned bad so we spent the last few days away from the hotel, visiting the Island. In fact the last day of our stay the beach area was destroyed in a 24 hour storm whereby sun beds and parasols were washed away into the sea, the once small beach area was washed away leaving hardly any area's the sunbath other than the small area's around the pools. One last point is beware the fish bite you when standing in the sea, nice for those that like the foot spa treatment but not so nice if it makes you feel uncomfortable.
Overall we were very dissapointed with our time at the Aquilla Elounda village however the Island of crete is beautiful along with is people, The only positive I can say is that we are more keyed up on the area and its other hotels and If we are to return I am afraid it will not be to the Aquilla Elounda Village Hotel, Last but least it took us at least 45 mins to walk from the hotel into Elounda so if your looking for a hotel near to the resort please consider this when booking.

Room Tip: Room 765 is a two roomed suit, however expensive. Sea views are great all round views. Do not allow...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kon_Vogiatzis, Marketing Coordinator at Aquila Elounda Village Hotel, responded to this review, October 16, 2013
Dear Guest,

We would like to thank you for your comments regarding your stay in our Hotel. We always welcome any criticism, in the process of making our Resort better. However, we would like to answer on your statement regarding Aquila Elounda Village.

Regarding your room allocation, we would like to inform you that your reservation was for a Superior Double Room and in such category we have allocated you. For clarification reasons, please note that this section of the hotel overlooks the entrance of the Hotel and not the car park, and only from a standing perspective. All our rooms have been carefully designed and built so to have Sea View in any case. The second room you mentioned is an 1-Bedroom Suite, which is 4 categories higher than your original booking. Therefore, asking you for a supplement of 50,00 € per day, which is also a discounted difference in pricing between the two categories, was not such an unreasonable request. Please keep in mind that we had also shown you another option of room in the same category as your booking, however, you had turned it down.

As a hotel, we always inform our potential guest and advertise frequently that our Hotel is not suitable for any guests with moving problems and disabilities. Additionally, we would like to inform you that the distance between the Hotel and Elounda is 3 km and it depends completely on the walking speed and will of the person who decides to go on foot. It is up to the guests, whether they wish to use the Hotel’s facilities or their agency’s offers. We are not responsible for the service provided by neither of them.

Regarding the fizzy water, it quite strange your comparison of tonic with sparkling water. It is not something similar. Additionally, we would like to inform you that this is a policy of the Aquila Brand not to include sparkling water in the Premium All Inclusive Package. In the contrary, you could have asked for soda which is part of the Package. On the other hand, the fact that you did not like our local sparkling wine is not a proof of a fault product offered by our Hotel.

Finally, we would like to apologize for the inconvenience caused by the weather. Unfortunately, by October, the weather is rather unpredictable and out of our control. The fact that we had to close the outdoor sitting in the Main Restaurant was a result of guests not wanting to sit outside due to the weather. In any case, if you had wished to sit outside our personnel would have accommodated your request. Regarding the wait line, we would like to inform you that even in the best Restaurants of the world there is often a wait line, even with pre-made reservations.

Nevertheless, we would like to thank you once again for your comments and remarks.


Best regards,

Michalis Dialynas
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2013

Having stayed in a 5 * AI, couples only hotel before, we were really looking forward to staying here for 7days luxury. We were met by our Thomson rep and direct to our bus. Although the transfer time from airport is quite long at 1 1/2 hours, this was expected and did not faze us as the bus was comfortable. My only disappointment was for us this had been a long day and the two thomson reps kept saying was they were tired and it was a long day for them, they told us very little about the island and taught us one greek word!! Half way through journey they abandoned us for their hotel and we continued our journey repless!!!!!!!! Tuning up at hotel really not knowing the protocol. We eventually checked in and given our room 615, we were told there was a drink on arrival, which eventually came out whilst standing in lobby.

We had upgraded to a bungalow room al following reviews and was really disappointed with the room, you had to walk through an underground corridor to our room , the room was quiet small, dark, and the view, mmmm tiny grassed area overshadowed with trees and a wall. The room was not a bungalow, we had people above us, with its resident clip clopping in high heels every night, also having an under ground corridor tiled all noise echoed. As this hotel is built on the side of hill, pathways can be steep in some areas.

We tried the buffet restaurant our first night, which was like a scrum, not only for the tables, which the staff did try and escort guests to free tables, but for the food, how ignorant some people can be!!

We booked our tables that night for the different themed evenings after this and found the other restaurants marvellous, and enjoyed the brilliant service from the staff, food and entertainment.

The lounge bar is great for evenings . I will just mention that not all drinks are al as with food, you can only choose anything with a house marked next to it, which I never have experienced before.

The pools are lovely and clean, but the private beach was a little haven with spectacular views, we had no problems getting beds, however people still reserved beds and no one did anything, even though this highlighted often no beds to be reserved!!, if you are into snorkeling or diving this is a brilliant place, with a diving centre on hand with equipment.

We treat ourselves to a couples massage at the spa costing 130 euros, that was with 10% off! expensive a tad but worth it, you can use steam rooms, sauna and the hidden indoor pool! which might I add can be used even though you don't book treatments.

We walked to Elounda which we found a lovely walk and took a boat to spinalonga which only costs 10 euros each, if you have read the book the Island, this will mean much more to you , it was everything we expected and more.

All in all we had a lovely break and enjoyed Crete, would we go back? The world is a big place!

Room Tip: If you want a view, you will have to pay for it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kon_Vogiatzis, Marketing Coordinator at Aquila Elounda Village Hotel, responded to this review, October 16, 2013
Dear Sir/Madam,

Thank you for your positive comments on this site, as well as, your point of view which is always much appreciated and taken under consideration. We are terrible sorry about your experience during your transfer to the hotel, which has been, as you know, organized through your Tour Operator. A normal transfer by car to the hotel from the airport is not more than 45’-50’. Regarding your bungalow, which you didn’t much appreciated we apologize about the perspective that you had, of our lovely garden view bungalows, that they are, as you said, quiet and they have a discreet access from the back side, especially because we wish to preserve the intimacy of our guests and let our visitors enjoy the serenity of our gardens.

Our Main Restaurant lately attracted more guests due to the fact that the weather was exceptionally cold and as a consequence our both a la carte Restaurants, which are operating outdoors, were less frequented and most of our guests used the indoor Restaurant instead. We are grateful about your comments for our Themed Nights, service, staff and food as well as for our Lounge bar, our pools, our sun loungers and our diving center. In regards to your experience in our Spa Center, the price you have paid for each person was 65€ and that included the use of the Wet area(Saunas/hammams/Laqonium) free of cost, so we think this worth it after all, as you stated.

It’s a delight to hear that you have thoroughly enjoyed your walk to Elounda & your visit to Spinalonga and generally had a lovely break on Crete. We regret though, that the design of our garden view bungalows didn’t fully meet your expectations and we would be glad to accommodate you in another bungalow category (such as in one of our sea view or pool bungalows…) in one of your future visits.

Best regards,

Michalis Dialynas
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Aquila Elounda Village Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aquila Elounda Village Hotel

Address: P.O. Box 16, Elounda, Crete 72053, Greece
Location: Greece > Crete > Lassithi Prefecture > Elounda
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Elounda
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Elounda
#2 Spa Hotel in Elounda
#2 Luxury Hotel in Elounda
#4 Romantic Hotel in Elounda
#11 Family Hotel in Elounda
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Aquila Elounda Village Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 208
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Aquila Elounda Village ELOUNDA in Elounda, an exclusive couples and adults only Hotel, for those who seek privacy as long as luxury, set amongst beautiful gardens and magnificent view of the Mirabello bay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Prestigia and Tingo so you can book your Aquila Elounda Village Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aquila Hotel Elounda
Aquila Elounda Village Hotel Crete

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Aquila Elounda Village Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.