We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good time!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Aquila Elounda Village Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Aquila Elounda Village Hotel to your Saves list
Aquila Elounda Village Hotel
5.0 of 5 Resort   |   P.O. Box 16, Elounda, Crete 72053, Greece   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 36 Hotels in Elounda
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Suffolk
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Good time!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

The Hotel is set on a steep climb down to the beach. I would not recommend it for people that have difficulty taking stairs, there are slopes that can be negotiated if steps aren't your thing, even some of those can be on the steep and slippery side. The staff at the beach bar are very friendly and efficient, the staff in the lobby bar are on the slower side to take your order, however, they are friendly. Men are required to wear long trousers from 4pm in the lobby bar, this in my opinon is too early, as the only other bar is the beach bar, and whilst we were there last week the winds were very strong, making sitting outside a challenge! I think tailored shorts for men would be fine. As in previous reports the sun bed issue is a problem, however, even if the hotel did supply more sunbeds, I don't know quite where they could be put as all available space did seem to have a bed on it. They do ask for beds not to be reserved however, this of course gets ignored and is not enforced by the hotel. There are 3 cabana's that can be hired for an extra 30 euro's a day, however, they were empty for the majority of the week, which seems ridiculous for those not able to get a sunbed. I think the hotel really need to re think about charging for those, especially those choosing to be AI. The food was lovely, varied every lunch and evening, the restaurant Mirabello is lovely and I would reccommend booking and eating there more often than the main hotel restaurant as the setting is just gorgeous. We had a fantastic week with great friends.

Room Tip: Room quality seem to vary all over the complex, we had 753, the room was lovely and did have a sea v...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,041 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    609
    310
    94
    18
    10
See reviews for
58
850
8
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (313)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
guildford, uk
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

We spent 11 delightful nights at this beautiful hotel just off Elounda.
We very much enjoyed its slightly out of town location, its tranquil beach with amazing torquoise waters and an out of the world back drop of majestic mountains. So thats the poetic bit done!
On the practical side, I will stick to what hasn't been already said.
We arrived from Gatwick on tuesday night on a late flight at around 1.30am after an hr long transfer from Heraklion. We had reserved a sea view bungalow which is what we got although the hotel were very happy to exchange it for a higher level room the following day, as being quite short, trees got in the way of a panoramic view of the sea.
The room was excellent. All mod facilities including beach bag, fabric bag, hair dryers, air dryer on the spacious balcony, freezer compartment in fridge with ice rack etc. There was never any shortage of tea and coffee sachets which are replenished separately from when the housekeeping do up the rooms. TV has sky sports 1 so we could watch some sport but not cricket or rugby which are on sky 2. We had a twin bed but upon our request a mattress overlay to convert it to a double bed was quickly sorted out.

We stayed half board as we did not want to be hotel bound which you tend to if you have paid for AI. This was perfectly adequate for us as we are not big drinkers and did go out during the day on trips using the excellent Minoan buses or taxis. The restaurant service and food are both excellent. We ate in main restaurant and a few times at the Mirabello with great sea views and the symposium. You will see a lady called Georgios in the main restaurant- she is the hardest working person I have ever seen. The fish is particularly good at the restaurant and some mornings Champagne is served as part of buffet breakfast!

Go early to the beach although we always managed to find beds there. The decking area with pillows is perfect. spent a few afternoons lazing there listening to TMS on my kindle radio player. The Jacuzzi is brilliant- does get a bit mucky by end of the day from the red soil in the surrounding area which was possibly due to severely strong winds on several days. The salt content is so high that you can float easily in the bay area of the beach.

Elounda is a beautiful village, We walked to Paradisso, a small taverna near the windmills by the salt pans (road to elounda). Authentic place where they served us home made Rose with cucumbers and juicy tomatoes as snacks! (healthy)

The hotel is faultless, reception service was always friendly and prompt. We came back to our room to surprises on two ocassions- cake on a birthday and champagne for our anniversary. Luke and Kelly from Thomsons were ace. A high to Charmaine from Richmond in the hotel jewellery shop. Met a lovely couple from Newcastle (Simon and Karen) and a German and Spanish couple who we share our anniversary with. Hope you all had a great trip.

small feedback if I could offer is that the room cleaning could be improved on the 5th level of rooms.Our room cleaner in 657 was great though.

Thank you Elounda village for the best holiday ever!

Room Tip: book a sea view room. There is an unsightly partially completely contruction next to hotel which cou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derbyshire
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013

This is by far the best hotel and holiday we have had so far!!. Just got back from 2 weeks of pure heaven!! We are already booking for next year! We met others that were already repeat guests and one gentleman was on his 5th year! The views are truly breathtaking and photos just cannot do it justice!

We stayed on an all inclusive basis, and booked a room with a shared pool, so we were automatically upgraded to "Mythica" status. This gave us even greater privilages. We were greeted by Maria the Guest Relations lady who explained everything we needed to know about the hotel. She then personally showed us to our room. I was fighting back tears when I saw our room, pool and stunning views. There was a vase of red roses, an ice bucket contining a bottle of sparkling wine, some Greek sweets, a basket of fresh fruit and a bottle of white wine.

Our Mythica status also meant we had a newspaper of our choice delivered to our room every day. The fruit basket was renewed every other day. We had a lovely range of "spa" like shampoos and shower gels which were replenished as soon as we used them. We had "turn down service" in the evening with a chocolate waiting or us on our pillows. We had unlimited use of all the restaurants (we mainly ate both lunch and dinner at the wonderfull Mirabello, overlooking the bay). We could choose anything from the menu in the evenings (even the ones without the house sign) at no extra cost except for the "Highlight" dishes. We attended all the themed evenings at no extra cost except for the Lobster Night which we payed 35 euros each. Live music was played at these events and dinner was 5 courses. The food was amazing and I have gained over half a stone in weight!!. The main course was covered in a silver dome which they lifted off in unison. I dropped my knife and immediately it was retreived off the floor and a clean one was brought to me on a napkin covered plate. We usually had a bottle of white wine and a bottle of water which was sat in an ice bucket next to us (even at lunch time) We didnt even pour our own wine as our glasses were refilled as soon as we drank.

I found the range of drinks very good and a comprehensive list of cocktails. We need not have spent a penny and didnt move from the hotel for our whole 2 weeks (we didnt want to). I would not even entertain Half Board. We met a couple who started on half board but upgraded to all inclusive while they were there, however their holiday still cost them £600 more than we paid and they had a standard room and no Mythica Package!!

We had 2 weeks of blissfull relaxation and pampering!! I cant speak highly enough of this hotel and we really didnt want to come home!

The staff work so hard and they cant do enough for you!. Special thanks go to Maria - Guest Relations, Maria - our maid (who even changed our beach towels for us). Nikos - Manager of the Mirabello, and also Marilena and Irini - waitresses in the Mirabello, and last but not least, Elani the blonde waitress from the Lobby Bar.

Room Tip: A Bungalow with a sea view and shared pool is certainly my choice
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bearsted
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013

We stayed for 10 days on an all inclusive basis and had a fantastic time. Our stay formed part of our 30th Wedding Anniversary celebrations and the hotel was kind enough to upgrade our accommodation. The complimentary champagne was also much appreciated. Having seen some of the recent reviews on Trip Advisor, we are surprised by the criticisms. We found the accommodation, staff and food all superb. Being All Inclusive, it was nice not to be asked to wear a plastic wristband. The hotel is hi-tec e.g. drinks orders are taken on a handheld pad and sent to a laptop at the bar. Very efficient. We thought the All Inclusive deal was very good and recommend it. A lot was included and there was a generous discount on items not included. There were more than sufficient items included for us not to incur a bar bill at the end of our stay and we made significant savings on themed dinners too, most of which were included for AI guests. It was nice to see the dress code actually enforced (so many hotels seem to ignore it from our experience) with no vests/shorts etc. at dinner. Shame though about some men who wore the required long trousers but with sandals and no socks!! We enjoyed the peace and tranquillity of the hotel with no children under 16 allowed and the hotel’s quiet but very pleasant location. The hotel is built on several levels and some areas could prove a little difficult if you have severe mobility issues. We rate the hotel very highly and recommend it.

Room Tip: Any room with a sea view is worth the extra charge.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berkshire
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2013

We've just returned from a week on HB and can highly recommend this hotel. It has high quality public rooms, lovely grounds and is well cared for, with friendly staff. It's set on a hillside, with a variety of rooms of different shapes, laid out a bit like a village, with stunning views of Elounda bay. It cascades down to the sea so there are quite a few steps.

Our room (255) was large, with both a bath and separate shower, comfortable king size bed with light duvet (good with air conditioning), chaise longue, and sea view from the balcony (though you had to look over the building in front a little). Tea & Coffee facilities were included too. We could have done with a dressing table/ mirror for makeup/hairdrying but generally had all we needed and it was kept very clean.

The hotel was couples/over 16's only which suited us, as it made for a relaxing and fairly quiet atmosphere. The sun beds were very comfortable, all with umberallas. They did get quite busy but we didn't struggle too much to find one. The wind in Crete is warm but strong, but all the umberallas coped well with this.

Food in the main restuarant was reasonable with lots of choice, though mostly international. We did have a free dinner in Symposium, one of the a la carte restaurants, which was very good and more Greek. Plus a credit for lunch in Mirabello (on asking) when we had not taken an evening meal, and the food here was excellent.

As you might expect in a 5* hotel, the drinks etc were similar to the UK, or a main city, with wine 23-33 Euro a bottle (water in the on site shop was reasonable). I might have been disappointed if I had gone AI as not all things were included, but thought HB was a good deal.

As we were after a relaxing time we didn't attend the Thomson welcome meeting but did go to a departure session. This focused on explaining some potentially large airport queues and I felt trying hard to sell a 'VIP' option for 37 Euros a person to avoid them. We decided not to bother with this and actually found the queueing fine. Yes there were 4 places but it all moved pretty well, and we were through all of them in 30 minutes. The reps helped with the first 2 stages, and the airport had plenty of staff so it didn't seem much of an issue. May be it would be different later in the season or if there were delays but no issues on a Thursday afternoon in mid July with 3 flights leaving at about the same time. That apart, the reps seemed friendly and ready to help.

At times you could have been forgiven for forgetting you were in Greece, but we had a great time, in a lovely hotel, and would consider returning.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, England
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2013

We paid extra for all inclusive, but were not told on the coach or at the welcome meeting that only drinks with a little house sign were available on AI - only 16 cocktails out of 50 and 1 beer out of 12 could be had on AI. Drinks not on AI were very expensive. We felt well and truly ripped off. The food in the buffet restaurant was excellent - remember to tip the waiting staff - they work 72 hours a week for 600 Euros a month - shame on a 5 star hotel. We arrived on aThursday and the Gala Dinner for the next day was fully booked - forget it if you are only there for a week. Asian Night was excellent. The Al La Carte restaurants had a very limited menu for AI guests. We only had one night of entertainment - Brazilian dancers - the hotel needs a serious injection of atmosphere in the evenings. Do not go to this hotel if your mobility is not great, 71 steps down to the 'so called' beach - the small patch of sand in the Thomson Greece brochure IS the beach! Only one bar open in the day so you have to go down most of the steps (no handrails) to get your drinks. Not enough sunbeds. BBQ nights, greek dance and language lessons although advertised did not happen. Nowhere to walk in the evenings as the hotel is in an isolated position. 7 Euro in a taxi to Elounda and 13 to Ag. Nic. It is a steep walk from the hotel to the mian road, then about 2.1/2 mile to Elounda on unlit roads and for most of the way no pavements, beware mad drivers. Ferry from Elounda to Spinalonga Leper Colony is 10Euro return and 2Euro to enter the site, just about the only tourist attraction on this side of the island. Swimming pools had several layers of sun cream scum and were extremely slippy and you get blue feet if you use the bigger of the pools - what paint do they use!

Room Tip: We booked 2 bungalows and were offered an upgrade to a 2 storey apartment with shared pool, we did n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Market Drayton, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2013

Visited this hotel in May for a week AI and a well earned rest and, after reading previous reviews, was hoping for a comfortable hotel without the noise and fuss of children with good a la carte food (not something most all inclusive hotels provide). Image our delight! Arrival was simple check in and escorted to our room. We were upgraded from a sea view bungalow to a junior SV suite which was in a better location we thought and more spacious - we were so pleased. The bed was large and comfortable, cleaned well each day. The bathrooms are a little snug but. We booked into the Mirabello restaurant for dinner our first evening and to be honest ate there each evening under the stars bar the last when the restaurant was closed. Even the Lobster evening (which was 40E pp) was sublime and well worth it. The staff in this restaurant are excellent also especially Lorenzo (?) Although the menu didn't change all week, we enjoyed every mouthful. We ate here our last lunchtime also as it was closed in the evening and the menu was varied and delicious. Don't expect to lose weight on this holiday! The beach bar which opened at 10am was very efficient - beach/pool service regularly but the star here was Zia. What a credit to the hotel with her joyful and funny personality. The small beach is kept clean and smartly presented with sun beds and parasols and there are several tiers of double sun beds overlooking the bay. There is an independent water sports hut by the beach - we hired a jet ski one day but the price of the sailing was expensive for the quality of the boats we felt. There was some evening entertainment at the Lobby bar but we dined late each evening and by the time we arrived it was over so can't say what it was like.On the AI package not all the drinks are included. It is very limited on the cocktails and spirits only a couple inclusive which was a little disappointing but that is the only niggle with an otherwise lovely hotel on the Elounda peninsula - worth every penny. we will definately be back! Thank you to all the staff for a wonderful week.

Room Tip: worth splashing out for the suite for the space and location
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Aquila Elounda Village Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aquila Elounda Village Hotel

Address: P.O. Box 16, Elounda, Crete 72053, Greece
Location: Greece > Crete > Lasithi Prefecture > Elounda
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Elounda
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Elounda
#2 Spa Hotel in Elounda
#3 Luxury Hotel in Elounda
#4 Romantic Hotel in Elounda
#10 Family Hotel in Elounda
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Aquila Elounda Village Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 208
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Aquila Elounda Village ELOUNDA in Elounda, an exclusive couples and adults only Hotel, for those who seek privacy as long as luxury, set amongst beautiful gardens and magnificent view of the Mirabello bay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Splendia, Priceline and Despegar.com so you can book your Aquila Elounda Village Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aquila Hotel Elounda
Aquila Elounda Village Hotel Crete

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Aquila Elounda Village Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.