We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excelente!!Great!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Aquila Elounda Village Hotel

Save Saved
You added Aquila Elounda Village Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Booking.com Hotels.com
and 6 more sites!
Aquila Elounda Village Hotel
5.0 of 5 Resort   |   P.O. Box 16, Elounda, Crete 72053, Greece   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 39 hotels in Elounda
Longyearbyen, null, Svalbard and Jan Mayen
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Excelente!!Great!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2013

Amazing place for couples!It was better than my hooney moon,great hotel,service and the place is just fabolous!Want to come back someday!The hotel has a private beach,where you can snorkel and relax.Really good food,we had the half board menu and it was just enough for us,with breakfast and dinner buffet...delicious food,oh my God!

Room Tip: I didnt know there were some bedrooms with a private swimming pool,next time I would like to take on...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

759 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    434
    244
    59
    15
    7
See reviews for
47
608
6
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (214)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
uk
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013

My Partner and I had a two week holiday between 9th and 23rd June 2013.
Having read lots of previous reviews about this hotel we would just like to add our bit and concur with all the great comments. From the moment we walked through the front door ' Just Relax ' just washed over us. We, like others, didn't want to leave at the end of the holiday. 30 degrees plus with wall to wall blue skies. The staff from the gardener all the way up to the food and drinks director were fabulous. Yes do go all inclusive as the half board can get expensive. The rooms were comfortable with queen size beds and A/C. Tv and disc player (No ipod connections,sadly).
A grown up hotel for adults, lovely. PADI scuba dive on site. Daniel and Elliot great guys. Daniel took my partner for her first scuba dive...not a confident swimmer by any means but Daniel was patient and away she went, amazing.
Big mention to the restaurant staff, Manolis, Doxa, Maria and George et al. They work extremely long hours and were just the best...big thank you. Do try the various types of fish on offer along with the different veg...away from the English fare. You will be surprised.
We had a great, no fantastic, holiday.
One last thing...get up before sun up (6am when we were there) and go sit on the side infinity pool and watch the sun rise out of the sea....amazing

Room Tip: All rooms face South East. Expensive rooms at the peak of the cliff over looking the Cretian sea an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

Me and my girlfriend have just returned from a weeks stay at Elounda Village, 18-6-2013 till 25-6-2013.
We did not want to come home!

First of all what i will say if you have not already booked make sure you choose the All inclusive option because you will not regret it. If you don't then the holiday could end up costing you quite a bit more as the drinks are pretty expensive at the hotel.
One thing to note is that not every drink or food in some of other restaurants is FREE! You need to look on all menus for a little 'house' symbol and that means you get it as an AI guest.
All the drinks are branded behind the bar but you just have to pay a little extra for certain more expensive brands.
As part of being 'Premium All inclusive' as the hotel calls it, you also can take advantage of the all 3 restaurants at the hotel. The main restaurant where you can eat breakfast, lunch & dinner provides quite simply the best variety and quality of food i have ever experienced at an AI hotel. My girlfriend was even having salmon and champagne some days for brekky while i was on the full english followed by waffles and chocolate sauce!
The other two restaurants are called 'Mirabello' and 'Symposuim' which are both A La Carte style where you can eat for free BUT only if there is a little house sign next to it on the menu.
Food and presentation in both of these are to the highest quality and are a must during your stay!

I will not blaber too much more so i will summarise some key points.

YES as some other reviews have said, the hotel is set out on a cliff so there are alot of steps around the complex.

YES sometimes if you want the best sunbeds you may have to get up early to get them, but we found no problem getting a bed at various different locations around the hotel.

YES the hotel is 3km from the nearest town Elounda (lovely little fishing town well worth a visit)
But there is a public bus which comes to the reception and it only cost 1.5 euro.

If you want a hotel that has lots of things to do throughout day and lots of entertainment at nights, then this is not the hotel for you. There is some entertainment at nights in the shape of a young couple singing and then the odd themed night.
This hotel is definatley a chilled out place perfect to eat well and recharge your batteries while catching some sun!

We could very well be back in the near future superb holiday!

Room Tip: We had a bungalow sea view room, would advise to pay the extra for a sea view as some rooms don'...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Camberley, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013

This resort was very impressive from the moment we arrived. The staff were always very friendly and helpful, the room was clean and well appointed, and the food in the Buffet Restaurant was superb. The Lobster Dinner night at the Mirabella Restaurant was quite an expensive option but made for a very special and memorable occasion, which we would repeat again on another visit. The 4x4 Off Road adventure was an excellent day excursion and although not cheap is highly recommended and worth the cost, a great day out with very interesting and professional guides. Another 'must-do' trip is to the island of Spinalonga, but make your own way there by taxi and local ferry boat (10E). The only downside to the whole week was the fairly expensive prices for drinks especially wine when you book Half Board, and you have little option as it is quite a walk to any alternative venues for eating or drinking somewhere else. However, the small town of Elounda is lovely and only a cheap (7E) taxi ride away. Walking 3.5km on a narrow dusty road in the sun is not much fun, and positively dangerous at night. The Thompson Reps on site were very helpful especially when we had a dental emergency during our stay, as were the hotel staff in finding us a good local dentist! This was a memorable holiday and one that we would be happy to repeat at a future date. Highly recommended. We will definitely return for another quality chilled holiday here.

Room Tip: Worth paying a little more to book a Sea View Bungalow near the Infinity pool, although this entail...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013

I have just come back from a week staying at this hotel. We booked our holiday through Sovereign and travelled on Thomson Airways. Initial impressions of the hotel are good, it has a modern entrance, full on A/C, and very helpful reception staff. The head of guest services gave a small talk on the hotel services to all new arrivals - explaining restaurants, dress code, activities, spa etc....

We stayed in a Sea View Bungalow - stunning view. Room 472. However it is at the very highest pat of the hotel, so a slight walk 10 mins from beach to room (very hilly, so bear in mind if you have problems walking far). The room was clean, bright, great shower - nothing to complain about at all.

Food was good not great. We stayed Half Board so dinner was always in the buffet restaurant. They mixed this up each night with different food available. They had a carvery section (beef, lamb, turkey), ice cream station, big salad bar too. The hotel also has themed nights in its 2 other restaurants - Lobster night, Asian Night, Greek night, Gala Dinner. We decided to try Lobster night and also Greek night. Lobster Night was 55 euros a head on HB extra, this was not worth it. The meal is a set dinner with 5 courses and you only get half a lobster to eat and you do not get to choose how you want it cooked. The food was ok but nothing spectacular. However Greek night (35 euros per head on HB) was great fun. The night started with wine tasting for 1 hour, with 4 white wines and 4 red wines from Crete and Greece. They were not nice. I do not think Greece is renowned for its wine but it definitely wasnt to our tasting, but it was a fun start. Then we went on to the food. This again was a set menu but traditional greek food including a lamb spit roast. After dinner, they had traditional greek dancing where everyone was able to join in at the end. Great fun!

The drinks and food are expensive here, and not just the alcoholic ones! A sprite from the tap 300ml, 3 euros, a cornetto ice cream, 3 euros, a peppermint tea, 4 euros. The wines are also expensive. There are not many on offer outside of greece. We had a Sancerre - 60 euros and wasnt even that nice. We then tried a SB from Macedonia - 40 euros. Another thing that annoyed us was that you cannot take any drinks from one bar/restaurant to another. One thing we like to do is start off in the bar then move to dinner then move back. It would of been nice to do that with the one bottle of wine but we were not allowed due to government legislation (not sure on that one). We tried one night to take a half drunk bottle of water out of the restaurant and we instantly got told off.

The beach is small but you can dive off the rocks into the sea which is nice. The sunbeds are great - the ones like beds!

Myself and my fiance are late 20s, early 30s. There is not an abundance of things to do at the hotel but they do offer to organise trips should you wish. It is a heavily british hotel - thomson rep is there every day.

Overall this is a nice holiday but there are plenty of other places to visit.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013

My wife and I stayed for 10 nights all inclusive from the 16th to 26th May. The premium all inclusive package was fantastic value for money and contrary to other reviews, it is absolutely clear what is and isn't included
Yes, the hotel is on a hillside and has a number of steps but if you have no mobility problems you should be fine
The sea view bungalow room we had (721) was lovely
The food was fantastic right from the main restaurant to the a la cartes (Mirabello and Symposium) and the beach bar. My wife and I spent a lot of time at the beach bar and the service from the team down there was excellent. In fact, the service right across the hotel was excellent, all of the staff were so helpful and friendly.
The Mirabello restaurant had wonderful sea views and the Greek night at the Symposium was superb, great food and terrific entertainment.
We spent most of our sunbathing time on the good quality sunbeds on the pier by the man made beach. The snorkelling was good, plenty of fish to see.
The walk in to Elounda isn't an easy 2 miles although we did it 3 times, you can take a taxi at 7 euros. We walked back a couple of times and caught the local bus once which dropped you off on the main road at the top of the hill which gave us a short walk back to the hotel. The cost of that was just over 3 euros in total.
I am a runner and used to run in to Elounda and then over the causeway to the island across the bay. A good run and anything up to 7 miles depending on when you turn to head over the causeway. There is a beautiful little church on the island as well as nice beaches, even if you are not a runner, it's worth a walk across just to see the view back across to the Elounda Village and the mountains behind.
We did take a 13 euro taxi to Ag Nic which was very nice but we were glad that we stayed in the Elounda Village and not the original hotel we had considered in Ag Nic. Again, the local bus back from here was only just over 3 euros and dropped you off in the same spot at the top of the hill as the bus from Elounda.
I would just like to mention the Thompson rep Richard who was fantastic and so helpful to us even though we travelled with Sovereign.
I definitely recommend doing Spinalonga yourself, if you can manage the walk to Elounda, it's 10 euros each on the ferry and 2 euros each on the island itself.
One last thing, it was my wife's ??th during our holiday and the hotel arranged a lovely cake and ensured that we had a table at the Mirabello in the evening at the time we wanted even though it was fully booked.
Thanks to everyone at the Elounda Village for making our holiday so special. We would return.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alsager, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

Have to start on a negative, it does get better though, as this is a very good hotel but not 5 star. The Savoy and Dorchester are classes a 5 star and the Elounda Village is not of that standard. However, the hotel is a very good hotel with attentive staff, great food, large and clean rooms and a relaxing feel to the whole place. We stayed for a week and spent 5 days by the pool so we were very relaxed when we left. One reason we did spend so much time at the hotel though was that there was not very much else to do in the surrounding area. The hotel staff suggested it was not prudent to walk into Elounda especially at night as the road was not a great place to walk. We paid for a superior room which allowed us to eat in any restaurant any night. This was fine except that if you are a vegetarian then this is impossible unless you are a vegetarian who eats fish.

The pools were good but be aware that there is a the usual group of people who put there towels on the sunbeds at dawn so they are at a premium. It is the first time we have ever had to set an alarm to get up early enough to have breakfast and go to the pool just so we could have a sunbed. The thing to note is that the wind blows continually and on some days it was strong enough to move steel sunbeds.

A good holiday at a good hotel.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Aquila Elounda Village Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aquila Elounda Village Hotel

Also Known As:
Aquila Hotel Elounda
Aquila Elounda Village Hotel Crete
Address: P.O. Box 16, Elounda, Crete 72053, Greece
Location: Greece > Crete > Lassithi Prefecture > Elounda
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Elounda
#2 Luxury Hotel in Elounda
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Elounda
#3 Romantic Hotel in Elounda
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Aquila Elounda Village Hotel 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Aquila Elounda Village ELOUNDA in Elounda, an exclusive couples and adults only Hotel, for those who seek privacy as long as luxury, set amongst beautiful gardens and magnificent view of the Mirabello bay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Tingo, Otel, Venere, Expedia and Asiatravel.com Holdings so you can book your Aquila Elounda Village Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Aquila Elounda Village Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.