We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantanstic !” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Aquila Elounda Village Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Aquila Elounda Village Hotel to your Saves list
Aquila Elounda Village Hotel
5.0 of 5 Resort   |   P.O. Box 16, Elounda, Crete 72053, Greece   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 36 Hotels in Elounda
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Wenduine, Belgium
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Fantanstic !”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2013

Just back from this wonderfull hotel. Money well invested. The food, the rooms, the garden, the views, ...everything was just perfect. Just the all-in SPA was poor (the sauna cabin did not work). Very friendly people, always laughing and never 'pushy'. We will return !

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,041 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    609
    310
    94
    18
    10
See reviews for
58
850
8
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (313)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013 via mobile

My husband and I stayed here for our honeymoon and we cannot fault this hotel! The service was fantastic, the food in all restaurants was outstanding, the overall decor and ambience was lovely, we had the premium all inclusive package we were greeted with champagne on arrival had a newspaper of choice delivered everyday, unlimited icecream at the beach bar and extra choice in the ala carte restaurants, all the local drinks were nice and lots of choice, we attended the Greek themed night which started with a wine tasting sessions sampling lots of Greek wine followed by traditional Greek menu and dance show which was great, the beach and pool always had plenty of sun loungers and great views, booking trips was easy and would recommend the trip to spinalonga however if we went again we'd go without tour guide as we didn't get enough time to explore the island and it was cheaper going by yourself. overall we would highly recommend this hotel! A must is the spa in the hotel we visited twice for masssges and they were superb!

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cornwall
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2013

Last week we returned from a super holiday at the Aquila Elounda Village Hotel. The room was probably the best we have ever stayed in , the views stunning and the food first rate, with great variety. Moreover, the service from everyone was excellent , especially from the Reception team and from Maria who all helped us greatly when we experienced an issue with our hire car. I can't thank them enough for their help. The location is fantastic but I'd advise having a car to get around.

Room Tip: Go for a room with a sea view - worth the extra!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leiston
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2013

Despite having advised we were arriving with a wheelchair user with limited mobility, and needed two beds - the hotel wasn't really ready. We stood while a single bed was added to our room - i think at a real 5 star facility we would have been offered a drink in the bar whilst this was undertaken, rather than standing watching after our 10 hour journey. Other annoyance was having to pay an extra charge to use the indoor heated pool. As the outside pool was unheated and the air temperature was a chilly 56 degrees, was this really necessary? The indoor pool is very small and I've never paid over £12 for a swim. If you are there for a week, this is expensive. Other slight gripes is their inability to remember they had a disabled guest who needed to use a certain route to access the restaurant. Every time we had to ask as an especial favour to be let out of the hotel and let in to the restaurant, even waiting outside in the rain whilst keys were found. Twice a day, every day, it wore thin.
Added to other guests comments on high cost of drinks. Yes, views are lovely and rooms are clean, food is good BUT if you aren't able to move around grounds freely or take a swim without paying an eye watering daily fee, it takes the edge off what should be a good experience.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RithymnaBeach, Marketing Coordinator at Aquila Elounda Village Hotel, responded to this review, May 2, 2013
Dear Guest,

We would like to thank you for your comments regarding your stay in our Hotel. We always welcome any criticism, in the process of making our Resort better. However, we would like to answer on your statement regarding Aquila Elounda Village.

We would like to inform you that in every single description of the hotel it is highly advised that our hotel is not suitable for people with walking disabilities.

Regarding the usage of our indoor pool, we would like to assure you that it is free of charge for all of our guests. And as far as we know, and we have cross-checked this with our personnel, nobody suggested to you that you can use our heated indoor pool at an extra charge.

We do feel that we are trying our best to accommodate your stay and help you move around our premises, according to your wishes. Additionally, as for the prices of drinks, as we have mentioned in previous responses to Trip Advisor, we have to inform you that the tax of alcoholic and non alcoholic drinks is up to 23% in Greece.

However, we would like to thank you once again for your comments and remarks.

With best regards,

Michalis Dialynas
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
surrey, UK
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2013

Beautiful setting, extremely helpful stadf and excellent accommodation - we couldn't have asked for more from our one week holiday in early April 2013. Weather can be unpredicatble but we were fortunate. However, there is so much to see with an inexpensive local car hire, you can be thrilled by the Greek hospitality. Very good value and a outstanding experience.

Room Tip: A sea view is probably worth paying a little extra for
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2013

We actually found this hotel by accident and just walked in to check the availability as we were driving to Elounda.

This was their opening week so we got a good price for a seaview bungalow comprised of a livingroom and a séparate bedroom, two balconies.

The view is great and the architecture/design of the hotel complex is well thought of.It is on sloping hill going down to the sea and the hotel is build by level with bungalows following that slope so that everyone can have a view. There are also some garden view and regular hotel rooms in the main building.

There are pools with seaview and various places for the longchairs at various levels all the way to the sea. There is a small pepples beach but if you are looking for a large or sandy beach, this is not it. The last leval is at sea level with a very large area for longchairs.

The restaurant has breakfast buffet , same as most big hotel. Dinner is also buffet, we did not try it as it did look too basic. Maybe because they were just opening, instead we went to Agios Nikolaus and Plaka.

Plaka is very small village but it is higher on the mountain and has a fantastic view of the bay. There are 6-7 restaurants on the side of the small cliffs with that great view.

We ate lunch at the hotel.The prices are on the high side, ( 12€ for a club sandwich) but this is a 5 stars. For those who are coming on all inclusive package, there is 2 price in all menu and rooms service or minibar; a regular and the premium all inclusive with 25-30% discount. So read carefuly what is really incuded in your package.

The staff is super friendly and alway concerned about your need. This is Crete hospitality at his best. This is a couple only resort.

Room Tip: Take a seaview bungalow if you can, it is worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ra'anana, Israel
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

aquila elounda is the nearest you would get to the top of the world in the mediterranean. The hotel is exquisite, the surroundings views breath taking, the facilities wide and good, the service impeccable, and the food - oh, the food - the best there is outside 5 star restaurants.
A perfect resort and place for a reasonably priced holiday which gives much more than just value for money.

Room Tip: if you can afford it - go for the seaview rooms. what a feast!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Aquila Elounda Village Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aquila Elounda Village Hotel

Address: P.O. Box 16, Elounda, Crete 72053, Greece
Location: Greece > Crete > Lasithi Prefecture > Elounda
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Elounda
#2 Spa Hotel in Elounda
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Elounda
#3 Luxury Hotel in Elounda
#4 Romantic Hotel in Elounda
#10 Family Hotel in Elounda
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Aquila Elounda Village Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 208
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Aquila Elounda Village ELOUNDA in Elounda, an exclusive couples and adults only Hotel, for those who seek privacy as long as luxury, set amongst beautiful gardens and magnificent view of the Mirabello bay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Splendia, Priceline and Despegar.com so you can book your Aquila Elounda Village Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aquila Hotel Elounda
Aquila Elounda Village Hotel Crete

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Aquila Elounda Village Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.