We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A gem” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Vachus Taverna

Vachus Taverna
Posidonos Bay 33 | Opposite The Main Beach, Elounda, Crete 72053, Greece
+30 2841 041380
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #23 of 91 Restaurants in Elounda
4.5 of 5 stars 129 Reviews
Price range: $6 - $22
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romance, Local cuisine, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Description: Family taverna.Fotis,eleni and fotini in kitchen-Dimitris,nikos and sotiris in serve.29 Years taverna.Kopiaste to serve our home made food.OPA!!!!!!
Manchester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“A gem”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012

One of out regular lunchtime venues as it is very close to the beach. We also visited in the evening as it is so good. Just genuine greek food with friendly but discreet service. See lots of greek people eating here which we presume is a good indicator of the quality of food.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

129 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    95
    27
    5
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Rotherham, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Vachus Taverna”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2012

Super food at very good prices
Ws recommended by friends who went twice.
Flambe dishes are great
I had the Rabbit which was lovely

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Great Traditonal taverna”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2012

We eat here our first night and were not disappointed this is a lovely restaurant with great friendly staff and wonderful food, across the road from the beach its a little cheaper than the harbour restaurants, but the quality of the food is just as good tow starters mains and carafe of local wind for 35 Euros

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
“Afternoon Brunch take a seat”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2012

if your passing Elounda then take a seat plenty on the menu local dishes are ace the staff are friendly and helpful

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
“Fabulous authentic Greek food.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2012

We tried Vachus for the first time, this year, and because it was so good, we made several return trips.The owner and waiting staff are very friendly,and the atmosphere is relaxed.The food is always fresh ( not like some other places).If you give them a bit of notice, they will cook your favourite Greek dish, even though it's not on the menu.We brought our friends there, and they said the kleftiko was the best they'd ever had.Can't wait to go back again.We recommend the fish and also the horta.

Pat and Tim Bennett (Belfast).

  • Visited July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Vachus Taverna also viewed

 
Elounda, Lassithi Prefecture
Elounda, Lassithi Prefecture
 

Been to Vachus Taverna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Vachus Taverna, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.