We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Make sure you find this gem” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Lotus Eaters

Lotus Eaters
Seafront | 250meters From Main Square, Keeping the Sea to Your Left, Elounda, Crete 72053, Greece
28410 41538
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 91 Restaurants in Elounda
Price range: $26 - $74
Cuisines: Greek, Mediterranean, Seafood, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romance, Large groups, Doing business, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Scenic view, Entertaining clients, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night, Dessert
Herndon, Virginia
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Make sure you find this gem”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

It took us two attempts to find Lotus Eaters but well worth it (from the main square, head toward the Ferryman Taverna sign on the waterfront and go a little farther when you reach it). We ate outside with a nice view over the water. Dan waited us on us and made our meal into a fun experience. He filleted the Bream and Sea Bass tableside while describing where it was caught and where our other food was sourced. He obviously takes pride in his work.

The fried zucchini was the best we had in Greece (better than in Santorini or in Athens). It's shaved or sliced very thin so that they appear more like chips. My kids loved it and they hate vegetables. The desserts were also very well done.

This was the best place in Elounda. In fact, we used Lotus Eaters as the benchmark for other restaurants for the remainder of our trip.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LotusCrete, Owner at Lotus Eaters, responded to this review, June 21, 2013
Thank you for your amazing review.
To be able to stand out over so many dining experiences you must have had during your trip to Greece is truely a privilage.
Hope to see you again if you ever return to the Med,
Thank you again,
Daniel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

632 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    552
    46
    18
    7
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
1 review
“Food how we like it”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013 via mobile

Have literally just come from rhe restaurant. The hummus was the best myself and wife have ever had. That includes visiting many many delis and making it ourselves. Our main courses the Stifado and Spiced Lamb were rich and full of flavour. Service was immaculate and we will be returning on Wednesday. Thank you for an excellent evening.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LotusCrete, Owner at Lotus Eaters, responded to this review, June 21, 2013
Thank you for such a rapid & amazing review, to have such a positive impact on someones holiday makes what we do not only a joy but gives us renewed energy to keep up the good work for everyone.
Thank you again & hope wednesdays meal was as good as the first!
Daniel & Andreea
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Disappointment”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

After visiting this place after all good reviews we can say that the food is the worst we ate in Crete. We had a stomach problem all day after his african food. Total disappointment .Give it a miss.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LotusCrete, Owner at Lotus Eaters, responded to this review, June 17, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review our "african food", its moroccan spiced lamb by the way,if you had eaten with us, you would know.
Its one of 3 dishes we cook fresh everyday so trust me,it wasn't my food that made you sick.
I just wish you had shared some of your positive expieriences with TA & put in atleast some details about yourself, a one off terrible review? Really?
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great Cheesecakes”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013 via mobile

What can I say that other reviewers haven't? This is a fantastic Taverna offering something different yet still staying true to Elounda/ Greece. The service can't be faulted and offers an experience as well as a fab meal. If your lucky enough to go on a night where Daniel has made a cheesecake then your in for a treat! They are divine, so much so I've been trying to replicate since getting home!
Will Definately be returning to Elounda soon and will start and end our holiday at this Taverna as usual

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LotusCrete, Owner at Lotus Eaters, responded to this review, June 17, 2013
Thank for you the lovely review.
Reading such nice things written about our restaurant gives us the ability to keep up the good work, to come to work smiling and generally to be here to provide you all with the best dinning experience we can.
Hope you had a fantastic holiday,
Hope to see you again next year,
Daniel & Andreea
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“So worth a visit”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013 via mobile

Two words describe this restaurant 'absolutely fabulous' will be going again without a doubt food outstanding as is the service & the host

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LotusCrete, Owner at Lotus Eaters, responded to this review, June 17, 2013
Short and sweet: beautiflu review: thank you!
I am sure I will be lucky enough to serve you again one day,
Thank you again,
Daniel & Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lotus Eaters also viewed

Elounda, Lassithi Prefecture
Elounda, Lassithi Prefecture
 
Elounda, Lassithi Prefecture
Elounda, Lassithi Prefecture
 

Been to Lotus Eaters? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lotus Eaters, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.