We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great people, great food, great views ... simply the best!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Lotus Eaters

Lotus Eaters
Seafront | 250meters From Main Square, Keeping the Sea to Your Left, Elounda, Crete 72053, Greece
28410 41538
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 91 Restaurants in Elounda
Price range: $26 - $74
Cuisines: Greek, Mediterranean, Seafood, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romance, Large groups, Doing business, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Scenic view, Entertaining clients, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night, Dessert
St. Neots, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
129 reviews 129 reviews
82 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
331 helpful votes 331 helpful votes
“Great people, great food, great views ... simply the best!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013

We loved this taverna so much that we travelled from Sisi twice to eat here. The food is fantastic with a good balance of flavours. Not overdone or cordon bleu - just hearty, home-cooked Greek fare. The white chocolate cheesecake is simply to die for and Dan actually made a lemon sorbet for my son due to his dairy allergy. We pre-ordered roast leg of lamb for our last night in Crete and only wish we had larger appetites because it was delicious. Everything about Lotus Eaters was fabulous - the breathtaking views, the outstanding service from staff, and the fantastic food. We enjoyed a superlative dining experience, and we will be back, hopefully sooner rather than later. Do not leave Crete without eating here!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

632 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    552
    46
    18
    7
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
London
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Perfect”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2013

Having been blown away by the quality of food (and wine) on this island we stumbled across Lotus Eaters, purely by chance and without a doubt it was the best of the best. The friendly and professional service, intimate atmosphere and gorgeous view, makes this the perfect place for lunch or dinner (we did both).

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
1 review
“Excellent!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013

On can taste the freshness in the ingredients and the passion put into the cooking and the dedication to the restaurant by Dan and Andreea. A small jewel of a restaurant tucked at the end of promenade. Give it a try, we definitely recommend it!!!

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
1 review
“Very lovely restaurant!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013

Just walk along the seafront, passed all the other places and there you will find the Lotus Eaters Very attentive and knowledgable, Dan and Andreea make you feel very wecome and the comfortable chairs and the tasty food make you want to stay for ever If I ever come back to Elounda, the Lotus Eaters will be my first port of call Thank you!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BASILDON, ESSEX
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“LOTUS EATERS AGAIN!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013

As usual we are looking forward to our annual trip to Elounda, and particularly to meeting our friends at the Lotus Eaters. No doubt Dan and Andreea are already busy making sure that the restauant will be in its usual pristine condition. We have always found the food, the view, wine, cocktails, and not forgetting the service, to be exceptional. If you are in the area make sure you book a table, you will not be disappointed.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lotus Eaters also viewed

Elounda, Lassithi Prefecture
Elounda, Lassithi Prefecture
 
Elounda, Lassithi Prefecture
Elounda, Lassithi Prefecture
 

Been to Lotus Eaters? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lotus Eaters, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.