We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice friendly place.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Elounda Sunrise Apartments

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Elounda Sunrise Apartments to your Saves list
Elounda Sunrise Apartments
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Akti Oloundos, Elounda, Crete 72053, Greece   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 36 Hotels in Elounda
Sidmouth, England, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Nice friendly place.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here about 6 years ago. We are staying in a different village this year but when we walked into the bar here the owner remembered us and treated us like long lost friends. How nice. It's very relaxing here. I had forgotten but such a nice atmosphere I might come back..

Stayed June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

188 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    134
    35
    14
    1
    4
See reviews for
51
84
11
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013

we have just returned from a lovely relaxing week staying at these apartments. The room we had was excellent as was the view and we got the sun all day long. The apartments were spotlessly clean. The two brothers who own them are very helpful and friendly as was kiki and lynn nothing was too much bother for them. We stayed there on a recommendation and will certainly be going back. We hope Lynn is feeling better now. Thank you for a gorgeous room with a spectacular view.I

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Den Helder, The Netherlands
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2013

We've been here for a week with 5 persons. Good stay! The appartment was cleaned every day, also the bedlinnen was changed every 2 days.
Very nice people, thanks to you all, especially Janis, Dimos, Kiki and Lyn. Forgive me if I spelled your name wrong.
I don't know how to descripe this, but for me it was a great way to stay on Crete. I would strongly advise this place for anybody who is found of a relative quite stay, no loud youngsters during night hours, 5 minutes walk from the center, three steps from the sea. Beautiful is the best way to descripe this week.
I felt in love with this place, or was it one of the very kind ladies behind the bar?

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wakefield,west yorks.
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
82 helpful votes 82 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2013

Wonderful apartments,in a great location,a beach 2 mins walk,tavernas and only a short walk to the centre.The family Dimos,Yannis,Kiki and Lynn who was working the bar area would go out of their way to be helpful.The apartments were kept spotless by the cheerful maid who cleaned every day,they also have a weekly B B Q with great food and entertainment.Go and visit ,you wont be dissapointed.Thanks to all for the most wonderful holiday.Alan and George.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013 via mobile

Wonderful place to stay Proprietors and family were very helpful and so friendly Would even stay there alone .apartments were clean and beds very comfortable lovely peaceful location yet a very short walk away from all the shops and tavernas Will definitely go back Its an absolute must !!!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eastbourne, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013

You really could not want for more. Always request room 21, it overlooks the sea and pool and is the perfect sun trap. Spacious and always kept cleaned, daily, by the chambermaid.

We shall be visiting again with no worries.

Room Tip: Room 21, or if your taking a family, ask for the family room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013

My partner and I stayed here in October 2012, it was the week when the season ended and the island was expecting bad weather which was very unfortunate for us! Apparently the week before had been glorious! Regardless of the weather, we found the Sunrise apartments a very pleasant place to stay.
We hired a car at the airport and drove to Elounda, the apartments were easy to find, just a stones throw from the center of town where there were many nice restaurants, touristy shops & supermarkets but it was not so close that we were disturbed by noise from bars or people in the evenings! We parked our car on the street in front of the apartments with no trouble, I'm not sure how easy it would be to find parking in the middle of summer along that road though! There is a boat that goes regularly from Elounda to Spinalonga island, the port is a 5 -10 minute walk from the apartments. Most evenings we walked into the town center (just a 5 minute walk) for dinner at one of the many sea front restaurants. We were often spoiled for choice for where to eat! We also drove to Agios Nikolaos for dinner one evening.
The weather wasn't warm enough to sit by or even use the small pool at the apartments but on the warmer days of the week we walked along the road in front of the apartments to some rocks where we could swim, the sea was still warm! There is also a small beach a 30 second walk from the apartments with sun loungers.. sadly we didn't have enough sun to take advantage of these!
The owners (A very friendly and helpful couple who speak English!) had to close the pool side bar and pack away the Tv's due to the bad weather that was forecast (I assume the Tvs show sports during high season!), however they were always around and on hand if we needed anything!
The apartment had everything we needed, we used the small kitchenette each day to prepare breakfast and a little picnic lunch to take with us when we were out and about exploring in our little car. We cooked pasta one evening when we didn't feel like walking into town in the rain! There was also a menu to buy breakfast or snacks from the pool side bar at reasonable prices however as they had to close due to the bad weather this wasn't an option for us! The apartment was clean when we arrived and was cleaned by a cleaner on a daily bases. She changed our sheets & towels once in the week which was fine with us. The bathroom was fine.. nothing exceptional but it was all we needed, there was plenty of hot water! The bed was comfortable too! The apartment had a fan and air conditioning but we didn't need to use them! There was a Tv in the bedroom.. we switched it on once but didn't find any channels in English so didn't use it again! There were other guests staying in the apartments but we hardly heard or saw any of them!
If you are looking for somewhere clean, quiet, cheap and cheerful this is the place for you!
My advice would be that unless you specifically want to stay in Elounda for your entire stay, hire a car or a scooter and explore the local area... there are buses to Agios Nikolaos, the closest larger town, where are are lots more shops and lovely restaurants but if you want to go into the country side or visit some of the ancient ruins then a car is best!

Room Tip: There are rooms with a sea view... I suppose you should request this specifically if you want one wh...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Elounda Sunrise Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Elounda Sunrise Apartments

Address: Akti Oloundos, Elounda, Crete 72053, Greece
Location: Greece > Crete > Lassithi Prefecture > Elounda
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Elounda
#5 Romantic Hotel in Elounda
#5 Family Hotel in Elounda
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Elounda Sunrise Apartments 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Elounda Sunrise apartments are ready to host each visitor and provide them with an unforgettable experience. The neat, friendly atmosphere, the clean and beautiful environment, the friendly personnel will do everything to make your stay a memorable one. The complex includes a restaurant for breakfast and dinner, next to the swimming-pool with a fantastic view of the Gulf of Elounda. In the central bar there is satellite television, a swimming-pool with a swimming area for children, a place for gathering, wireless Internet connection. If you want to take your laptop from home, you are more then welcome to use our wireless connection. All the rooms have private heating and air conditioning, telephone, safe, mini-bar, satellite television, bathroom and balcony with great sea views. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Elounda Sunrise Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Elounda Sunrise Apartments Hotel Elounda
Sunrise Apartments Hotel Elounda
Elounda Sunrise Apartments Crete

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Elounda Sunrise Apartments, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.