We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“5 star service, not a 5 star resort though” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Domes of Elounda Boutique Beach Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Domes of Elounda Boutique Beach Resort to your Saves list
Domes of Elounda Boutique Beach Resort
5.0 of 5 Resort   |   Tsifliki, Elounda, Crete 72053, Greece   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 36 Hotels in Elounda
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“5 star service, not a 5 star resort though”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013 via mobile

Good

The service is exceptional, without question 5 star
The villas have a fantastic view and the way the resort is put together is very intimate
The way they have the beach laid out has been well thought through with plenty of shade from trees
Very child friendly and focused towards making staying with a family as easy as possible.
Great breakfasts
Good spa
Good wine selection at 1910 restaurant.

Bad

The resort could do with a renovation. Some of the finishing touches could do with a lick of paint and some things at the pool are a bit shabby.
The buffet dinner isn't great and things in general are overpriced. For example a small bottle if Heineken is 6 euros when it costs 40 cents from a supermarket. Just seems a little much.
The small pool is not heated as advertised.

All in a 4 out of 5.

Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

831 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    573
    164
    55
    27
    12
See reviews for
331
372
10
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (187)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013

We've stayed at Domes of Elunda with my 3 year old and 9 months old baby and had a really lovely holiday. The staff is extremely friendly and so loving towards kids.
The setting and the view is beautiful and the food great.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2013

My wife and I spent 6 nights at Domes (10/2 - 10/8) and had a great experience. We were welcomed by George, who runs the hotel's guest relations and he was extremely friendly and helpful. We were welcomed with champagne in the room which was a nice touch for the honeymoon. Domes is pretty self sustaining -- there are multiple restaurants on the property -- and there are also a lot of interesting spots within a short walk or drive (e.g. Spinalonga, Agios Nickolaos, Plaka). The staff was very helpful in making recommendations on things to do/places to see. The spa was excellent - highly recommend the Thermal Experience.

Room Tip: If you are traveling to Greece in October, you may want to skip on the private pool option. The poo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shrewsbury, UK
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2013

The Domes are in a beautiful area of Crete; 10 minute walk to little village of Plaka (great tavernas and a couple of shops) and a 40 minute walk or 5 minute cab ride to Elounda (small town with wide choice of excellent tavernas and a few shops/small supermarkets).

The hotel setting is tranquil with views over the island of Spinalonga and surrounding mountains. Being on the side of a hill there are some slopes to walk up/down and a few steps. There are always plently of very warm, friendly staff immediately on hand to offer a ride in a golf car if you fancy being a bit lazy. Unless you are have significant mobility issues, the slopes and steps are not overly challenging (even when carrying our 2 year-old daughter).

Without exception the staff were incredibly warm, friendly, welcoming and helpful. Nothing was too much trouble and there was always plenty of staff immediately on-hand to tend the every request or query.

The food was very good (and often excellent); although were were limited to the buffet restaurant for dinner due to our over-enthusiastic daughter who wouldn't have sat through an a la carte meal in one of the other restaurants!

The mixture of families and couples did not seem to cause any issues that we saw and although there was the odd stroppy child at breakfast and dinner (usually our own) in the buffet restaurant, no one seemed offended or troubled in any way. The atmosphere in the restaurant was lively and fun (generally with a very good pianist playing).

Every inch of the hotel was immaculately clean and well-tended. The cocktails in the main bar were generally very good, restautrant staff were knowledgable about the wines and happy to advise on their favourites (which were never the most expensive).

Prices were not cheap, but it's a luxury hotel and Greece is in a very deep recession! If you have stayed in 5* hotels anywhere in the world, you will not be shocked at the prices.

There is a creche on site that is operated by English staff. The facilities were pretty good but our daughter decided she didn't want to be parted fom us and both attempts to leave her resulted in tears! Other parents reported very positive experiences from their more compliant children! The staff that were there could have showed a little more confidence with our daughter; but as she became very upset quite quickly, this may be an unfair criticism.

The suite we had was a very good size with a large patio area complete with a hot tub. Privacy is a little lacking on the patio of the ground-floor suites. The 1st floor suites looked slightly better but you will still have neighbours who can overlook you.

Our biggest critcism of the place was the lack of tea/coffee facilities in the rooms. That being the worst thing about our holiday here, we are going to return next year (and possibly the year after as well).

Highly recommend the hotel and the area in general. Thank you to all the staff who made our 10 days in October very very relaxing and fun!

Paul and Louise

Room Tip: Probably 1st floor for slightly better privacy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Livingston, New Jersey
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2013 via mobile

I stayed at Domes end of summer 2013 with two friends. We had a villa (villa 8!), which was wonderful. We each had our own bedroom, private pool... It was exactly what I was looking for in a relaxing vacation which was desperately needed. The villa was far from the main hotel but the buggy boys were there to drive us back and forth whenever we wanted (thanks, guys!). We enjoyed the beach, the food, the spa, the wine tasting, BBQ night... Everyone was extremely friendly. Great staff all around. The views were fantastic, weather was gorgeous. I'm not sure when I will make it back to Crete but this is my hotel.

Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2013

This was by far the best resort we have stayed at. The rooms are magnificent. We had an upgrade to a one bedroom suite but still kept our Jacuzzi on the balcony .....fabulous! The food in the buffet restaurant is of an excellent quality. They tend to put small quantities out but replenish it regularly, so you never miss out and it is always fresh. The chefs are obviously very skilled and have a great deal of pride in their dishes. We were looked after by Alexandra and Sam and the service was fantastic. The maître d' was extremely efficient and always managed to sit us in our favourite spot outside.

Guest relations were extremely helpful when we needed to print some boarding passes off and the staff on reception are great too.

We ate at the pool bar too and the food there is very good and the service excellent.

The service down at the beach was also spot on. The staff never bothered us but always seemed to be on hand when we needed anything....thanks Maria!

The location is good because it is just 10 minutes walk to the small town of Plaka and so for a change of scenery, we headed there in the daytime for lunch. Try Maria's it does authentic Greek dishes to die for (!) and the Carob Tree ( Hi Nicos) for a pit stop on the walk ( or taxi ride in our case!!) back..excellent friendly service and the food looked good too..but after dining at Marias we were hard pushed to eat the gorgeous complimentary nibbles they serve with the drinks!!

The hotel bar is laid back, relaxing and quiet and Vassilis who is in charge looked after us very well.

We will certainly be looking at visiting again next year because this resort cannot be faulted. It really is all about customer service to them and we got the same impression from every single member of staff. Thanks guys, see you next year!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winchester
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013

We stayed at the domes back in June this year and thought it was amazing so we decided to go again. This time we booked a honeymoon suite overlooking the bay of Elounda. The pool outside our room was cleaned every day and ok the decking needed some attention but it is the end of the season.On the plus side the room was clean, very comfortable and we couldn't have asked for more. The whole hotel is very well maintained and the gardens immaculate. We we had a problem it was sorted straight away. Guest relations, in particular Marena and George were always friendly, efficient and very helpful. In the restaurants, our awards go in particular to Alexandra, Stathis, Christina, Maggie and Beverage Manager George who took very good care of us for the whole of our stay. Nick in the kitchen does the best poached eggs ever. One great change they've made in the restaurant is to set aside one area for young children so that they aren't running all over the restaurant. This didn't always work but it's early days. Overall it was as good if not better than our last visit we will be back next year. Well done guys keep up the good work and try to keep the same great staff.

Room Tip: The rooms looking towards Elounda have better views in our opinion although there is some building g...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Domes of Elounda Boutique Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Domes of Elounda Boutique Beach Resort

Address: Tsifliki, Elounda, Crete 72053, Greece
Phone Number:
Location: Greece > Crete > Lassithi Prefecture > Elounda
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Elounda
#1 Luxury Hotel in Elounda
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Elounda
#3 Family Hotel in Elounda
#3 Romantic Hotel in Elounda
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Domes of Elounda Boutique Beach Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A very nice view from our royal villa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Expedia, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, MrandMrsSmith and Tingo so you can book your Domes of Elounda Boutique Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Domes Of Elounda All Suites And Villas Spa Hotel Elounda
Domes Elounda Hotel
Domes Elounda Resort
Domes Of Elounda Boutique Beach Resort Crete

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Domes of Elounda Boutique Beach Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.