We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“World-class luxury resort” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Domes of Elounda Boutique Beach Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Domes of Elounda Boutique Beach Resort to your Saves list
Domes of Elounda Boutique Beach Resort
5.0 of 5 Resort   |   Tsifliki, Elounda, Crete 72053, Greece   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 36 Hotels in Elounda
Oakland, California
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“World-class luxury resort”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

Fabulous location - on a hillside overlooking St. Nicholas Bay. The resort has the design of a Greek village, with suites perched along the hill so that all suites have stunning views of the bay and Spinolonga. The salt-water pool, beach and lounges shared the same views.

We enjoyed our suite which is inspired by local architecture and artists. Our bathroom,with natural lighting from a dome, included a large walk-in shower plus a multi-person jet tub. We even had a jacuzzi on our terrace.

The resort staff is professional and friendly, always happy to give tips about the island. The manager, Giorgos, greeted us as we arrived and toured us around the property, and made sure that a bottle of wine and a fruit platter were awaiting us as a welcome gift. No matter what time, a polite driver was available to take us to our room if we didn't want to walk.

Great food and entertainment. The breakfast buffet is amazing, featuring a selection of local and international cuisine. Lunch or dinner? The outdoor restaurant on the water has romantic ambience - you can even dine on a pier and enjoy the warm night breeze. The menu is upscale local. If you still have time and energy, enjoy one of their regular evening events.

We travel a lot, but Domes offers a unique experience.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

832 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    573
    165
    55
    27
    12
See reviews for
331
373
10
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (187)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012 via mobile

The hotels beach staff and facilities are realy wonderful,
The dining room staff uniforms were realy not clean every day and the food variety is poor for this
5 stars hotel.
The rooms are large and nice.
Staff are friendly.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
domesofelounda, General Manager at Domes of Elounda Boutique Beach Resort, responded to this review, November 19, 2012
Dear Tzvika F,

Many thanks for taking the time to write your review and thank you so much for your positive comments in relation to our 5 star facilities, the luxurious room amenities and our hospitality on the whole.

We do take your comments into serious consideration and you will be pleased to know that our already enhanced menu is now being revised for the summer of 2013 and will be enriched in order to satisfy our guests’ discerning pallet.

We hope that we will welcome you again at Domes of Elounda.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

Firstly, to give context to my review we are a family of four with two daughters aged 5 and 2 years. Having taken a number of family holidays together both in the UK and abroad we have built up a list of ‘must haves’ to make our holiday as much of a success as possible for us and my review is written based on how the holiday actually met our needs; couples, older groups, families with older children will probably have a completely different experience to ours. Also, the hotel closed on the day we left so this may have also had an impact.

We put the holiday together ourselves which worked really well. We booked flights with Easyjet, Manchester to Herkalion Airport. Emailed the hotel direct and were given a number of accommodation options all more reasonable than we were offered via a tour operator and likewise organised a taxi transfer with the Hotel which was expensive at 90E each way but was efficient, safe [the car had two fully functioning baby seats] and direct.

Weather – I’ve covered this topic first as it possibly is the underlying reason we didn’t quite have the experience we were hoping for. Through research I was hoping for the best possible October scenario which was mid 20’s temperatures and little rain/cloud. What we actually got was 2 days of very heavy rain and showers, 3 days of cloud and high winds and 3 days of mixed sun/ cloud and wind. Obviously the hotel cannot be blamed for the weather but my comments are based on how much impact this had on the facilities/overall experience.

Hotel Situation– Is a 15 minute walk from Plaka [tiny village, several small tavernas/restaurants, boats to Spinalonga but most importantly home of the reasonably priced mini supermarket] and, we were told, a 40 minute walk from Elounda or 11 euros each way in a taxi. There is nothing else in the immediate vicinity of the hotel which was a bit challenging in the poorer weather. Hiring a car is always an option….

Accommodation – we were in a Luxury one bedded apartment with pool and sea view [Room 125]. We found the room a decent size. Our eldest daughter slept on a type of sofa bed and we were supplied with a travel cot for the youngest. There is a small fridge containing a highly expensive ‘Mini bar’ which we duly emptied and filled with water and milk from Plaka. Room Highlights are the Jacuzzi bath which we all enjoyed, the ok toiletries supplied and the fantastic balcony from which we had a fabulous view of Spinalonga. There were also two mini bath robes and slippers for the girls which they loved. The piece de resistance should have been our very own pool but unfortunately it was so cold that my daughter’s lips were blue after a couple of minutes in there. As a consequence we only used it a couple of times. The pathways are surrounded by lovely gardens which I particularly enjoyed but the paving is very uneven, almost like ‘crazy paving’ and the 30 steps to our room started to be a bit of drag with the buggy to cart up and down several times a day, despite the consolation of the amazing view at the end of it. The rooms with pools are indeed very close together. It didn’t bother us too much but had the hotel been busier it might have done. Will put a photo on to demonstrate this.

Main Hotel & Food – The hotel itself has a smallish unremarkable pool for adults and another smaller round pool for children. For lunch you could order food from the bar next to the pool which we did on occasion. Lunch for our family cost around 50/60 euros; Apple juice costing 4.50E per child. I would describe the meals at the hotel as ok. Evening meal was generally good with the odd great dish [Sushi was the star offering for 4 out of 8 nights, and the main constituents on all 8 nights were fried potatoes {cut into different shapes} Greek salad, lamb in a sauce, fried chicken/pork and a roast fish offering]. Just for the record my 2 year old daughter was told to ‘shush’ by a neighbouring table of more senior diners. This did make me feel rather uncomfortable. She generally isn’t a particularly noisy child but, as with most toddlers, can behave unpredictably.

Beach – A slight disappointment for our children. It is more like a stony, clay lakeside edge as there is very little sand and the roots of various olive trees hang into the water. It is very picturesque and peaceful. On the plus side the water was warm and clear and there are many great shells to be scooped out of the clay. You can also watch the various boats and windsurfers go by. The beach bar was closed for our entire stay, although you could get lunch at the restaurant there.

For Children – We utilised the kids club which was very secure and the girls running it were great. My only previous ‘kids club’ experience was at a Sensatori Resort [Gran Melia] last year and Domes did not compare in terms of activities offered, however I felt confident in leaving my girls in their care which provided me and my husband with a chance to enjoy a bit of downtime after a very busy year.

To sum up this holiday we had a good time but it didn’t quite hit the mark overall.

Room Tip: If travelling early/late in the season an outdoor balcony jacuzzi is probably a better option that a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
domesofelounda, General Manager at Domes of Elounda Boutique Beach Resort, responded to this review, November 19, 2012
Dear Joanne E,

I am sorry that you did not find your experience at Domes of Elounda as enjoyable as others on this site did, but would like to thank you for your constructive feedback.

Elounda enjoys an outstanding climate with very hot summers and plenty of sunshine. It is a pity that the weather was not in your favour at the time of your visit and it is indeed a rational underlying reason you did not enjoy your stay as much as it would be expected.

We are glad that you did like your suite, the fabulous views of Spinalonga Island and the garden and pathways that environ our complex.

Domes of Elounda is in reality very conveniently located within easy access to three villages, home to local shops with traditional handicrafts and souvenirs, to mini markets and of course to tavernas, restaurants and bars. Plaka is in a walking distance, while Elounda and Agios Nikolaos are preferably reached by bus, taxi or car.

Furthermore, the private beach is certainly ideal for both adults and our young guests with crystal clear waters and a relaxing landscape with natural shade.

Thank you again for taking the time to share your view.

We would really wish to welcome you back and give us the chance to hit the mark and offer a more seamless experience, hopefully, with plentiful sun rays.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

We stayed here for a week in October and had a lovely time, the room was nice and spacious, large bathroom and an indoor pool (however not the practical as very cold, if heated we would've used it). The beach was lovely, sea warm and clear. We rented a boat which is recommended. However drinks and food at the beach bar are very expensive. 2 slices of toast (no crusts) with a slice of ham and cheese inside around 6 euros 50. We ate lunch at the beach restaurant, which was fine but not fantastic.
Would recommend buying water from outside of the hotel, as a previous reviewer said it isn't sold in the small shop and at any of the bars is very expensive. I feel you should be able to buy water for a reasonable price.
We ate in the buffet restaurant maybe 3 nights, I actually find it of a good standard, surely buffets are always going to be difficult to make suitable for everyone and I found it enjoyable, although wouldn't have wanted to eat there every night.
Staff were lovely, and on another note would recommend the Ferryman in Elounda, as plenty of other people have, amazing staff and very good food.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
domesofelounda, General Manager at Domes of Elounda Boutique Beach Resort, responded to this review, November 19, 2012
Dear Lucyjort,

Thank you so much for taking the time to post your positive review of your stay on Tripadvisor.

We are most grateful for your feedback and we are delighted to know that you enjoyed all aspects of the resort, from the suite, the beach and the menus to last, but of course not least, the team members' efficiency that provide highly personalized service to our guests to make your trip outstanding.

We would really like to welcome you back in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012 via mobile

We stayed at this hotel, just before it was about to close at the end of the season. It was starting to get quiet and they were prepping for closing in some areas even though it was 26 degrees! The hotel is lovely, with fantastic sea views. It is very scenic and the grounds are lovely. The staff are friendly and helpful and we were happy with the food, although it gets a bit 'samey' after a week! For the extra money we paid for half board the food was a bargain. Our only disappointment was it is fairly isolated. It is a good 45 minute walk to the nearest small town, there are no shops, cafes or bars nearby. We do like to get out for a break from the hotel although don't ever pick lively resorts it is nice to walk to a cafe or bar for a change of scenery. The hotel drinks are also quite expensive. A taxi is €7 to Elounda, we would walk there and taxi back. Some parts of the walk have no pavement if you have young children its not ideal, but otherwise is a flat and pleasant stroll. Most other reviews are a fair summary. This is quite a family orientated hotel, so be prepared for kids at dinner and in the bars. Sun loungers very limited, and as it wasn't roasting the pool was too cold to swim in, hence not many people were around the pool area, but I imagine this is a problem in peak season.

Overall a lovely relaxing week, although perhaps a little too out of the way for us.

Do remember this hotel is an hour from the airport, we caught a taxi both ways as can't stand travelling around an island seeing everyone else's hotels on a transfer coach! (€90 per way standard taxi cost) Our taxi was a nice Merc, which all taxi's seem to be, but be prepared for a white knuckle ride! Also when you leave don't get to the airport too early there is nothing there and a weak coffee is €4.50!

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
domesofelounda, General Manager at Domes of Elounda Boutique Beach Resort, responded to this review, November 19, 2012
Dear AngB45,

First of all, I would like to thank you for having chosen Domes of Elounda for your stay, as well as for taking the time to post your opinion about your stay.

We are so happy to know that we were able to make your stay pleasant and that our hospitality exceeded your expectations.

Moreover, we took pleasure of reading that you found the hotel grounds to be lovely and the sea views fantastic.

It would be a delight to welcome you back as our guests sometime soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

We got away for a few days with our 11 year old - booked through Mr and Mrs Smith, we expected to land in the lap of luxury - I should have read between the lines of some of the trip advisor reviews!
This hotel is adequate - up to the standard of a mid market chain - not a luxurious boutique hotel, as we had hoped....worst of all was the carnage that was the poor quality breakfast buffet and even worse buffet dinner - the promised fancy restaurants on site were either closed, adults only (on one level understandable given the mass of toddlers - but of no use to us!), or seemed to have a menu which re hashed that of the pool bar and beach bar. The food was truly dire.
For those parents pleased to leave their offspring in the complimentary kids club (warning bells should have rung), I am sure the hotel was perfect - but as it was billed as a 5 star luxury boutique hotel, we were bitterly disappointed - on so many levels.

Room Tip: Rooms are VERY close together - on arriving at ours with a 'private' pool, our daughter obs...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
domesofelounda, General Manager at Domes of Elounda Boutique Beach Resort, responded to this review, November 19, 2012
Dear GretWalton,

Thank you for taking the time to post your appraisal on Tripadvisor.

We are really appreciative of your feedback, which is such an important source of information to us, regardless of whether it is
favorable or not, and helps us refine the service we provide. We firmly believe that there is always room for improvement and progress.

With respect to your comment about the crèche and the kids club, we would welcome your clarification. Please do send us a personal message, if you wish to discuss it further.

Thank you again for the points that you have kindly raised; we have taken good note of them.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

I would like to thank everyone at the Domes for a perfect holiday. We were the last to leave the resort and the weather was perfect and the service excellent. We are definitely coming back! If you can, get a room with a sea view. Spectacular!

Room Tip: The sea view is unbelievable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
domesofelounda, General Manager at Domes of Elounda Boutique Beach Resort, responded to this review, November 19, 2012
Dear Leo L,

Thank you very much for publishing such inspiring words on Tripadvisor.

We look forward to welcoming you back next year for another week of spectacular holidays.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Domes of Elounda Boutique Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Domes of Elounda Boutique Beach Resort

Address: Tsifliki, Elounda, Crete 72053, Greece
Phone Number:
Location: Greece > Crete > Lassithi Prefecture > Elounda
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Elounda
#1 Luxury Hotel in Elounda
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Elounda
#3 Romantic Hotel in Elounda
#3 Family Hotel in Elounda
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Domes of Elounda Boutique Beach Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A very nice view from our royal villa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Despegar.com, MrandMrsSmith, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Domes of Elounda Boutique Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Domes Of Elounda All Suites And Villas Spa Hotel Elounda
Domes Elounda Hotel
Domes Elounda Resort
Domes Of Elounda Boutique Beach Resort Crete

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Domes of Elounda Boutique Beach Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.