We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Giorgi's Blue Apartments

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Giorgi's Blue Apartments to your Saves list
Giorgi's Blue Apartments
| Kalathas - Akrotiri, Chania Town, Crete 73 100, Greece   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 118 Hotels in Chania Town
kathmandu
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Good value”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2011

The apartments are set a 10 minute drive outside of the main town of Chania and 15 minutes from Chania airport. They are right on the blue water, so you can either dive off the rocks into the water there or stay at the private pool in the premises. The rooms are well appointed, clean and comfortable and there is also a living space in the lobby. The host, Giorgio, speaks English fluently and is able to recommend the best place for sightseeing around the city of Chania. I can certainly say Blue Apt are good value for your money.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

166 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    148
    15
    2
    1
    0
See reviews for
33
75
6
10
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Mountain Home, Idaho
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2011

We stayed for about 3 weeks and loved it all. I had been stationed in Crete 30 years ago with the USAF. Giorgi's Blue Apartments and the village of Kalathas is the way it use to be. It is close enough to Hania yet far enough to not be crowded by other tourist. It is the perfect place to use as home base for touring Crete. George and his staff are great. Anything you need they will get for you or put you in contact with the right person.

The rooms are good and clean. The pool is great and you are very close to the beach. The breakfast was outstanding. Giorgi's is by the beach but located in a Greek village. Loved it. I'm sure we will return and will stay at Georg's.

Room Tip: Call or email George. He speaks English.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barnet
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2010

We travelled to Crete in August 2010 with our two sons aged 11 and 8. We flew to Chania, which is recommended as that is only 15 minutes from the apartments.

The apartments are on a rocky outcrop right by the sea, with a lovely view over the med, sunsets to die for and a large swimming pool which gets the sun all day. The staff are very very friendly and helpful, the apartments are clean and air conditioned and there is a bar service all day. Breakfast was provided but for lunch and dinner you will need to experience the local (or distant!) tavernas although you can get a delivery if you prefer.

George could not have been more helpful in booking car hire for us (and you do need a car to get the full experience) and giving us tips of the best excursions to take or where to eat. There are steps that lead down to the sea, not a beach but a lovely clear, almost personal plot of the sea where you can dive to see the fish. Children will be out of their depth but there should be no problems if they can swim. And for a beach, Kalathas is nearby (we drove everytime - less than 5 minutes) and has an island you can swim to plus a lovely sandy beach and gentle shallow seas.

For those who prefer the swimming pool, well the children pretty much lived in the pool which is large, warm and also has a corner for very young children. We loved our 10pm swims and a drink at the bar!

All in all we had a lovely, very hot, holiday and Giorgi's apartments were the perfect base, we would recommend the apartments highly to anyone visiting Crete.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta, Indonesia
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2009

I'm a fickle traveler - I research extensively, and came across Giorgi's Blue Apartments. Not a single bad review online. My experience definitely follows along with everyone else's experience. Giorgio is a really kind, wonderful man, and the apartments are wonderful! Set a short 10 minute drive outside of the main town of Chania, right on the water, you can either stay at the pool, take a dive off the rocks into the water right where the hotel is, or walk/drive to the Kalathas beach nearby (or any other Akrotiri beach). There's a small pool bar on the premises, and a living area in the lobby with games... We can't say enough wonderful things about this place. It's clean, the beds are comfortable, reasonably priced, and really close to Chania airport... we really could not ask for more.
Just make sure you rent a car!!

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2008

I have been to Crete 5 times and to the Greek Islands 10 times. I can honestly say that Giorgio's Blue Apartments in Kalathas, Akrotiri are the best apartments I have ever stayed in anywhere in Greece. So good that I have stayed there twice and will definitely go there again. Have a look at www.blueapts.gr and you will see what I mean. Fantastic pool area, lovely rooms, friendly staff. Only 10 kms from Chania town and 15 minutes from Chania airport. Giorgio himself cannot do enough to help you. He has fluent English. Personally, I prefer to stay by the pool because it it so lovely and peaceful - but there is a nice beach nearby - about 75m away or 8 minutes walk - with a couple of restaurants. But you should really hire a car (Giorgio will get you a good deal) because the Akrotiri peninsula has so much to offer: lovely beaches (Teresanas for instance), interesting monasteries to visit and some really good Greek restaurants. There is a limited bus service from Kalathas into Chania and taxis are not too expensive. Chania is a great town - stilll very Greek. Visit the Jewish Museum and take the short boat trip around the bay in the evening to soak up the atmosphere. Go down to the far end of the port and eat where the Greeks eat. The fish is always OK and you can enjoy some Greek folk music while you dine. Avoid the expensive Italian pizza restaurants...
.unless you are tired of Greek food...which I never do!

Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Kingstown, Rhode Island
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2008

Giorgi's Blue Apartments
Akrotiri Pennisular
Great views, clean rooms, wonderful service, helpful, kind, Giorgi is a great guy, the pool is large, beautiful, and well taken care of. I took a group of 5 artists there in May for a workshop. It was perfect!

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Giorgi's Blue Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Giorgi's Blue Apartments

Address: | Kalathas - Akrotiri, Chania Town, Crete 73 100, Greece
Location: Greece > Crete > Chania Prefecture > Chania Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Chania Town
#8 Romantic Hotel in Chania Town
#12 Family Hotel in Chania Town
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Giorgi's Blue Apartments is a small complex of 19 furnished apartments with 1 or 2 bedrooms, fully equipped.Ideally located right on the sea (30 m), only 12 min. by car from the town centre (Chania) and 10 Km from the local airport.Perfect location for quiet vacation in a warm and friendly atmosphere - best location to explore West Crete.Unforgettable sunsets by the pool bar... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Giorgi's Blue Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Giorgi's Blue Apartments Chania, Crete

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Giorgi's Blue Apartments, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.