We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Faboulous food and professional service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Kariatis

Kariatis
Katechaki 12 | Old Harbor, Chania Town, Crete 73133, Greece
+30 2821 055600
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #19 of 293 Restaurants in Chania Town
Price range: $12 - $50
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romance, Doing business, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Description: Beautiful, stylish restaurant built on the old Kastelli wall in the wonderful, picturesque Venetian harbour of Chania. Established in 1993, Kariatis enjoys an excellent reputation for top quality food and service with an impressive menu created and served with proficiency and flair. Imaginative and refreshingly different dishes inspired by flavoursome, colourful, aromatic ingredients from both Crete and Italy offering an appetizing assortment of Italian and Mediterranean dishes and delicious gourmet desserts. Kariatis also offers an extensive selection of award-winning Greek and International wines from around the world many of which are available by the glass. Our new Sushi Bar will be open from early November 2014.
1 review
“Faboulous food and professional service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2013 via mobile

We had an absolutely wonderful 3 course dinner. The service was professional and the food was well composed and breathtaking delicious.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

321 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    218
    74
    15
    12
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
England
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
“Faultless service and very good food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013

We ate here as a surprise treat on my mom's birthday. It was recommended by a British ex Pat who lives locally and it delivered everything she promised!

The venue is a little set back from the harbour just behind a quiet square. There is a partial view of the harbour but nota place you'd go to watch the sunset. This was fine by us - it was a welcome break from all the touts that line the harbour. The hostess spoke perfect English and all the waiters were impeccable. The service was prompt without being intrusive and they were happy to cater my 16 month old daughter. They even gave us a choice of high chair or strap on for the chair.

The food was very good as well - my beef carpaccio was tender and fresh and the potion was very generous. The main of squid ink spaghetti with lobster was nice as well, one of the sweetest lobster I've had for long time. My mom's pork merlot was very tender but without being over cooked. I was really impressed by the pork, it is very difficult to cook pork like this. We were too full to manage the desert but they've kindly made a small birthday cake for my mom, together with jolly good singing and candle to make her feel special. We really enjoyed the food and I thought a touch of refinement might make it perfect.

The price is little more than the usual taverna or local restaurant but that's like comparing restaurant with pub. I though the price was perfectly reasonable for the food and the service, especially as they didn't even charge us for the cake. 40EUR/person inc alcohol should be a reasonable budget. I would be more then happy to go there again!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thessaloniki, Greece
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
196 helpful votes 196 helpful votes
“Excellent service and good food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

My wife and I visited Kariatis a few days ago. The restaurant is spectacular, albeit a bit kitchy, especially the karyatis statue copy by the entrance. Nevertheless, the overall experience was satisfactory, especially due to the politeness and professionalism of the staff. Very curteous and knowledgeable, all members of the staff were excellent. The food was good, without being exceptional. The prices are quite high, but not as high as similar Italian restaurants in Athens or Thessaloniki. Recommended to anyone seeking a break from traditional Cretan dishes or for a special occassion.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chania Town, Greece
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Excellent service, good food, nice atmosphere...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

Italian food in Greece can be hit or miss but Kariatis manages to pull it off with much aplomb. The staff can't be faulted i.e. quick, courteous, well turned out, always smiling and the selection of food and wines will meet even the most discerning of palates. The portions are generous and the range of starters are mouth watering, although a little more expensive than one might expect. Having said that, a table of four can order two starters and share because of the generous portions they serve. The decor is bright and pleasant and they utilise a two tier outside terrace which works well. The only thing I'd add is the restaurant probably appeals to the ladies more than their men folk although this doesn't detract from the overall dining experience. A definite must try if dining out in Chania and looking for something different.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Food was ok, service excellent.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2013

We went there for a romantic dinner and even though it was very crowded the atmosphere was still intimate. We had a special order as I have some allergies but they forgot to apply my special request to all the items served.. The food was good, but we've had better. The greek wine was ordered was very nice but not chilled enough. The best of all was the service of one of the young ladies. She was a five star waitress and very tactful, unlike the older men in headset that thought that they had to offer their opinion on everything we said.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kariatis also viewed

Chania Town, Chania Prefecture
Chania Town, Chania Prefecture
 
Chania Town, Chania Prefecture
Chania Town, Chania Prefecture
 

Been to Kariatis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kariatis, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.