We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Food” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Kariatis

Kariatis
Katechaki 12 | Old Harbor, Chania Town, Crete 73133, Greece
+30 2821 055600
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #20 of 293 Restaurants in Chania Town
Price range: $12 - $49
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romance, Doing business, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Description: Beautiful, stylish restaurant built on the old Kastelli wall in the wonderful, picturesque Venetian harbour of Chania. Established in 1993, Kariatis enjoys an excellent reputation for top quality food and service with an impressive menu created and served with proficiency and flair. Imaginative and refreshingly different dishes inspired by flavoursome, colourful, aromatic ingredients from both Crete and Italy offering an appetizing assortment of Italian and Mediterranean dishes and delicious gourmet desserts. Kariatis also offers an extensive selection of award-winning Greek and International wines from around the world many of which are available by the glass. Our new Sushi Bar will be open from early November 2014.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Excellent Food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2013

We did notface service issues presumably because we sat down or dinner after 10 at the restaurant when it was emptying out. The food is great. I had bolognaise and my wife carbonara two standard dishes that any italian restaurant worth its salt has to make well.....and they were very good too. We were given some delicious desert wine with our cheque. The location is nice as well, its right besides the harbour so you have the cool sea breeze at night.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

322 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    219
    74
    15
    12
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Platanias, Greece
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Not as good as it's sister restaurant”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013

The menu is the same as its sister restaurant "Zafferano", but the service is poor and you'll be waiting a long time for your food. My wife decided to have the linguini, because I raved about it so much, but it wasn't a patch on Zafferano; so poor that we sent it back! It just wasn't the quality that we were expecting having been to Zafferano. The setting of Kariatis is better, but we're in it for the food not just the location.

Go to Zafferano in Platanias instead, you won't be disappointed.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carmel24, Owner at Kariatis, responded to this review, July 29, 2013
We found this review unnecessarily "bitter" describing our service and food unjustifiably as "poor" therefore felt it required a management response. This particular couple arrived at our restaurant, were kindly greeted and seated and in due course, once they had decided on their choice of dinner, their order was taken. They chose a very nice Greek Sauvignon Blanc and a bottle of sparkling water which was served to them promptly with proficency and care. Their food order consisted of a shared starter of tuna carpaccio which was prepared efficiently fresh to order and served to their table. On finishing their starter their plates were collected and the table was reset with fresh clean cutlery for the main courses. They had ordered a medium rare fillet al gorgonzola and a linguine pollo parmesana. After several minutes into their main courses they called over the waiter who had taken their order and complained that they were dissatified with the linguine claiming it had very little chicken or asparagus compared with the very same dish they had enjoyed at our other restaurant Zafferano a few nights previously. Our staff at both our restaurants are trained altogether by the same person, my husband who is a self-taught chef and all portions at both restaurants are based on the same measured ingredients in each individual dish. It would non-sensical of us as owners of both establishments to do otherwise! Nevertheless, focusing on service and despite it being a busy time for the kitchen, the waiter immediately offered to arrange another plate of fresh linguine with extra chicken and extra asparagus, above and beyond what we normal serve, in order to placate the situation. The linguine dish took priority in the kitchen and was prepared fresh to order immediately and served within fifteen minutes of the dish being returned. Their response was that they didn’t want it anymore and they had already asked for the bill. I sent a message to gentleman who wrote this review asking why there was no mention of the other dishes they had enjoyed, why no mention of the replacement pasta dish that was knowlingly prepared for them only to be refused once it reached the table and why no mention of after serving up two plates of pasta (the second with extra ingredients) there was no charge placed on their bill. How «poor» that he never bothered replying to me in order to help me with my management response.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Lovey food. Need to sort out the service!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

A group of seven of us ate at this restaurant last night. We were greeted and shown to our table in a very professional manner. Unfortunately half an hour later we had still not had anyone come and take even a drinks order. We even got up twice to ask someone to come and take an order. The people on the next table had been there longer than us and gave up and got up and left. It is such a shame because when we finally did get served the service was good and the food was lovely but it has put us off returning.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Best Restaurant i Chania”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2013

The best Italian in Chania. The food is excellent and has a wide range of dishes and reasonable prices, the atmosphere is very relaxing and romantic and a fantastic staff.Can´t wait for another visit!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chania Town, Greece
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Italian food in Chania!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013

Great Italian food at the old harbor!Quiet and romantic place especially for couples!Very good service and prices! Loved it!

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kariatis also viewed

Chania Town, Chania Prefecture
Chania Town, Chania Prefecture
 
Chania Town, Chania Prefecture
Chania Town, Chania Prefecture
 

Been to Kariatis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kariatis, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.