We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The perfect place to stay in Chania” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Iason Studios

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Iason Studios to your Saves list
Iason Studios
2.0 of 5 Condominium   |   32 Angelou Street | Old Town, Chania Town, Crete 73131, Greece   |  
Hotel amenities
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“The perfect place to stay in Chania”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2012

This was our second time at the Iason Studios. We chose to stay here agian as the location is perfect, one street back from the beautiful harbour. Not only is the location great but as everyone who stays here will tell you, Despina is a wonderful host. She greets you will raki and treats, all the information you need for your stay and still does so much more. It was my husbands 50th birthday on the second day of our week long stay. I contacted Despina before we arrived and asked if she would help organise a few surprises for him. She recommended an excellent restaurant, ordered a lovely birthday cake and lots of helium balloons. Despina found a birthday card in greek for me to give to my husband. After doing all this, she then delivered them to the restaurant in time for our celebration. It was such a surprise for my husband and it made his birthday very special.

As for the rooms, they are cleaned everyday and the towels and bed linen changed regularly. There are 5 rooms, one of which is on the ground floor. All have a balcony. They are spacious and have a well equipped kitchen. There is parking at the end of the road, next to the sea which is a very short walk to the Iason Studios.

I would like to take this opportunity to thank Despina for making our stay and my husbands birthday very special. We will be back to see you again.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

69 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    50
    16
    2
    0
    1
See reviews for
7
41
7
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Mountain City, Georgia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2012

We have visited and stayed in Chania many times over the years for business and pleasure. Although we have stayed in hotels in the past this time we wanted the option of being able to do some cooking and to be right near the harbor. Iason Studios was perfect! We stayed for six nights. Our room was comfortable, spotlessly clean and it was obvious that lots of thought had been given to small details. The kitchen had everything we needed to prepare and serve a simple meal. Our small balcony was a lovely place for morning coffee. There were many good restaurants and cafes nearby. The streets in front and behind are so narrow that cars are not permitted so the only sounds you hear are snippets of conversation as people pass by on the street below. The owner Despina is a wonderful example of the hospitality Crete is famous for; she offered to pick us up at the airport, made excellent restaurant suggestions (to places serving traditional food not tourist traps), and always had time to stop and chat when we were coming and going. We will be staying here again next year and recommend it highly.

Room Tip: Rooms on the second and third floor have balconies, but you do have to climb stairs. There are also...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2012

We didn't know what to expect of old town Chania, so it was a pleasant surprise to see how picturesque and vibrant it is. Iason studios is perfectly located within a quiet alleyway near the harbour. A variety of excellent restaurants and gift shops are close by and it is easy walking to the central market and banks. Free street parking is available just a few metres away. Our host, Despina, is delightful. Upon our booking she provided detailed instructions to how to get there and upon our late arrival there were home made snacks waiting for us. The free laundry service was unexpected and greatly appreciated. The self-catering studio was a good size, it was very clean and had a balcony and modern bathroom. We discovered the rooftop deck on our last day and took a bottle of wine up to watch the sunset. Overall it was great value for money.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2012

We spent 3 nights in this small studio complex located right in old town Chania. There are 4 rooms, all of them up some stairs (no elevator). The studios provide self-catering, so great for having breakfast in.

Lots of excellent tavernas right outside your door, the water front with the old fortress and light house to explore, lots of shops and markets.

Our hostess, Despina, was wonderful! She provided snacks and raki when we checked in, and even did some laundry for us. We would definitely stay at Iason on a return trip to Chania.

Room Tip: All of the rooms are good. The top floor rooms have easy access to the roof-top for great views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dorset
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
60 hotel reviews
Reviews in 63 cities Reviews in 63 cities
83 helpful votes 83 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2012

We stayed here for the first and last nights of our holiday. Despina was an excellent hostess, very helpful with very good English. We were welcomed with drink and snacks. The rooms were clean, spacious, comfortable with nice balcony. The kitchen area well equipped. The location was perfect, quiet but a few steps away from the lovely Venetian Harbour with its cafes and restaurants. Car parking (free) nearby no problem.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2012

My husband and I spent a week in Hania in March, 2012, and, although the weather could have been better, our stay at Iason Studios was perfect. As noted by everyone else, Despina is a wonderful hostess. She shuttled us to and from the airport, provided great feedback for our travel plans and did our laundry. The studio was just right - kitchenette, satellite TV, modern bathroom - and the location is ideal - walking distance to shops, the harbour, restaurants, etc. Sometimes a stay in a luxury hotel is nice, but we prefer having the flexibility of an apartment, and like to support small businesses. I wouldn't consider staying anywhere else if we find ourselves on Crete again.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2011

Great location close to the old harbour and 10 mins on foot to Nea Chora beach which is blue flagged.

Despina greeted us with a warm welcome of raki, fruit and nuts as well as a number of guide books and bus maps to get us started.

The area is lovely despite a couple of days bad weather but the TV in the room helped through a few wet nights including a funny Greek come dine with me programme! If you are looking for a great location, warm hospitality and modest prices this is the place for you. It is humble and welcoming and I'm so happy I chose to stay. I felt like a local shopping in the local supermarkets, using the convenient bus stations and eating in restaurants although I would avoid the harbour front ones as they can be very pricey and pushy. I would recommend the restaurant on the top of Angelou St as well as Tamam not far away from the studios.

Lovely balcony for sunny days, relatively quiet apart from a little noise from nearby builders but nothing you cannot handle. The cleaners cleaned every day but changed towels and linen every other day or so but I imagine if you have a problem you can have a word with Despina. It feels like home away from home and I almost didn't want to write a review so others can't steal my future holiday destinations!

:)

Room Tip: Choose a higher up balcony room. Room 3 has some questionable views but building work is only tempor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Iason Studios? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Iason Studios

Address: 32 Angelou Street | Old Town, Chania Town, Crete 73131, Greece
Location: Greece > Crete > Chania Prefecture > Chania Town
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 111 Specialty Lodging in Chania Town
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Iason Studios 2*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Iason Studios is a small family business and includes five studios in a two-storey building with private bathroom, kitchen facilities, and balcony. The building is situated on the west side of the old town, with no traffic, just a few meters from the old Venetian harbour where you can find most of the historical sites of the city of Hania as well as many places for entertainment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Iason Studios reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Iason Studios Chania, Crete

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Iason Studios, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.