We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great reception and location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Iason Studios

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Iason Studios to your Saves list
Iason Studios
2.0 of 5 Condominium   |   32 Angelou Street | Old Town, Chania Town, Crete 73131, Greece   |  
Hotel amenities
Montreal, Canada
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Great reception and location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2011

The hostess, Despina, is charming and very knowledgeable about the area. She is generous with her knowledge and time and welcomes her guests with a tray of local treats and raki.The studio apartments are kept clean and are relatively well stocked. Our studio was large and comfortable. The balcony was a welcome addition and a nice place to read and enjoy a glass of wine. It was very much as described and rated. A very pleasant and positive experience.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

66 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    48
    15
    2
    0
    1
See reviews for
6
40
7
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
uk
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2011

Quiet, quite difficult to find , the owner left messages on our home phone, mobile and stuck to the door to help us out though, very helpful, excellent english. Room was good with a kitchen included. Parking involved a short walk.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Petaling Jaya, Malaysia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2011

This place is lovely for a b&b. The room was huge, and there's nothing better than to be able to soak up the sights and sounds of beautiful Chania on your own private balcony. There's also a lot of privacy as well, considering how Iason is located off the main street. I felt like a local throughout my stay!

The one drawback, however, was that my ferry arrived at 6am, and although dead knackered, we couldn't check into my room until 11am or so. Although it's not Despina's fault (to her credit, she did leave the keys to the reception area so we could store our bags), we would've really appreciated if she mentioned this to us before my arrival so we could brace myself for the hours of wandering around aimlessly on the empty streets upon arrival.

Anyway, I was a lil' disappointed that she did not greet us with Raki, fruit and nuts OR freshly made muffins when we arrived....unlike other guests. Maybe she forgot. Oh well. It's still a nice place.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
perth Australia
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2011

We were lucky enough to spend 8 glorious days in Hania after most of the tourists had gone home. We really loved our little apartment, though not fancy it was everything we wanted. A comfortable bed, a little kitchen, just big enough for breakfast or lunch and a lovely sunny balcony overlooking the pretty lane with a table and chairs, perfect for relaxing with a book and a glass of wine. Despina was a gracious host who showed the remarkable Cretan generosity, bring us Raki and fruit and nuts as well as freshly made muffins when we arrived. The location is perfect for exploring Hania and the neighboring towns if you can drag yourself away. We really loved feeding the local Free Cats from our kitchen window, within days we were their new best friends! I would go back to Hania and Iason Studios in a heartbeat. It was one of the real highlights of 2 1/2 months of traveling.
Oh and as a bonus, although it is technically an apartment, Despina has staff come and clean every day and change the towels and bedding.
The only problem we had was that the drainage was not good in the shower, a common problem in all these very old towns. But in fairness, we did not mention it to Despina and she may have been able to have fixed it if we had asked.
There are wonderful restaurants just meters away and it is within metres of the Harbor.
Just go and enjoy it!

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2010

A gorgeous, cosy self-contained apartment just a one-minute walk from the main tourist area in Chania yet far enough away from the street noise, Iason studios is in a perfect position. Despina welcomed us warmly with a comprehensive guide to the city and possible daytrips on the Western side of the island, as well as a sample of local fruits, nuts and the ever-present local spirit, Raki. While it is important to let her know what time you’ll be arriving and the toilet worked but was a little temperamental, this is a great value place to stay in Chania. A/C and wi-fi worked well.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olmsted Falls, Ohio
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2010

My husband and I stayed at Iason Studios for six nights in June of 2010. After some problems with the airlines and not arriving in Crete for almost 30 hours, it was so comforting and reassuring to know that Despina had rearranged the taxi for us, which was one less thing for us to worry about. She was even there to greet us and help us to the studios from the taxi at 10pm at night! Even though it was late, she took her time to acquaint us with the hotel, answer questions, and even brought us a tray with fruit, nuts and Raki to welcome us to Crete. The location is perfect-in walking distance to almost anywhere in Old Hania (the Harbour) and New Hania too. The cobblestone streets and small shops added to the old-world ambiance that typifies this very safe and inviting area. Her studios were very clean, roomy and were stocked with all the necessities (even a cold thermos of water in the 'fridge for us) we might need for our stay. Despina is fluent in English, and did so much to help us in any way that she could. She recommended places to see, restaurants to dine at, did our laundry and even assisted us in changes to a car rental. Having gone on to other areas in Greece, and seeing what other lodging facilities offer and/or don't include, the Iason Studios were by far, over and above any other place we stayed in the country. This kind of service and accomodations for these hotel rates is just amazing-this hotel and the area comes highly recommended. Book this hotel now!!!!!!!!!

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2010

My aunt and I have the 3 person suite at Iason Studios.

The location is absolutely perfect in Old Chania town. The guest house is a block off of the sea wall, and just a few minutes walk to the main tourist area in Old Chania but even better, its just a block from the hidden back streets of Chania full of artists studios and charming restaurants - much much better than the tourist strip along the water!

Our suite has its own kitchenette and we have been able to make our own breakfast each morning. A small market and bakery are half block down the street and we have been able to purchase groceries at very reasonable prices.

The suite itself is bright and clean with its own balcony, and two twin beds. The wi-fi connection is just great and has not dropped on me once.

Shower is tiny but water pressure has been decent enough and hot water has been pretty good.

Despina our hostess has been very kind, available to answer our questions and provide any help we need. She was here to meet us when we arrived and brought us a map of town and pointed out a few places to get us started on our tour. We very much appreciated her hospitality!

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Iason Studios? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Iason Studios

Address: 32 Angelou Street | Old Town, Chania Town, Crete 73131, Greece
Location: Greece > Crete > Chania Prefecture > Chania Town
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 107 Specialty Lodging in Chania Town
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Iason Studios 2*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Iason Studios is a small family business and includes five studios in a two-storey building with private bathroom, kitchen facilities, and balcony. The building is situated on the west side of the old town, with no traffic, just a few meters from the old Venetian harbour where you can find most of the historical sites of the city of Hania as well as many places for entertainment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Iason Studios reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Iason Studios Chania, Crete

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Iason Studios, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.