We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delightful!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Waterlily Hotel

Save Saved
You added Waterlily Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Waterlily Hotel
Kalathas | Akrotiri, Chania Town, Crete 73100, Greece   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #42 of 118 hotels in Chania Town
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Delightful!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013 via mobile

Our stay at the Water-Lily couldn't have been more enjoyable! We were greeted with the warmest hospitality by Nina, Angela, and Giorgos. Our 1 bedroom suite was lovingly and beautifully decorated with a spacious balcony. The lovely sandy Kalathas beach is only a 10 minute walk from the hotel. Nina always offered excellent advice about what to see, eat, and do in the region, and we were always delighted when we took it! The day-trip tour that we did with Nina included the archaeological site of Aptera, whose unique history was brought to life by Nina's vivid narration, the delightful and delicious Dourakis winery, whose wines are first rate and memorable, Frangokastello, the Aradena gorge, and 3 gorgeous beaches for swimming including Marmara, where the cave swimming puts The Blue Grotto to shame! A must do opportunity that provided rare insights into the region that could never be experienced on one's own. Thank you a thousand times for making our honeymoon so memorable!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

30 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    17
    9
    3
    1
    0
See reviews for
5
12
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Florence
Top Contributor
107 reviews 107 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013

We've been here for 5 nights during our trip to Crete, and Waterlily is perfect to go around west ans south west Crete. The apartment we had was comfortable, the bathroom seemed to be a little bit old but all the rest was fine. The position of the hotel is perfect, really near the beaches of Kalathas and Stavros and only 10km from Chania. The staff is beautiful, with Angela and Nina giving all necessary advices to make your stay better and better. The breakfast was beautiful too, with homemade marmelade, pies, cheese, bread and local olive oil.
We'l be back again at Waterlily !

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013 via mobile

Very very clean apartment , with all you need in. The reception is awsome they help you with every thing you need ,there's a mini market right in front of the hotel. No problem with late night check in or out ! Awsome at night , no noise at all!! Kalathas beach is 15 minutes walking (we walked there every day with a 3 year old So don't worry) chania old harbor is 10 km (approx 12 euro taxi ) the airport 15km (approx 20 euro ). There's only one restaurant in kalathas but you have plenty a km away.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
derbyshire
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2012

We have just returned from a short stay at the Waterlilly Hotel and cannot praise our experience enough. The hotel was refurbished last year and is most attractive and very well appointed. Nina who is the owner, along with her sister, could not have been more helpful, she made us very welcome and comfortable and was very informative about the area.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Waterlily Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Waterlily Hotel

Address: Kalathas | Akrotiri, Chania Town, Crete 73100, Greece
Location: Greece > Crete > Chania Prefecture > Chania Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
#8 Best Value Hotel in Chania Town
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the beautiful countryside of the Akrotiri peninsula near Chania, the Water-Lily is an elegant hotel that surrounds its guests in absolute calm. Recently renovated, in 2011, the comfortable, very spacious suites with their vivid colors, country-style furniture and the staff's instinctive hospitality create a chic and cosy atmosphere for our visitors' retreat. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Tingo, HotelsClick and Travelocity so you can book your Waterlily Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Waterlily Hotel Chania, Crete

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Waterlily Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.