We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“1 Week in Agia Marina” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Ta Thodorou

Hotel Ta Thodorou
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Hotel Ta Thodorou to your Saves list
Hotel Ta Thodorou
Kato Agia Marina, Chania Town, Crete 731 00, Greece   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #97 of 120 Hotels in Chania Town
leeds
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“1 Week in Agia Marina”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

my Wife and I stayed in villa Thodororou 17th to 24th September very happy with the room and the staff, linen and towel change midweek, Demetrious the owner didn't speak much English but Adonis and Edith did if there was anything you needed and you asked it was there within 15 min. Marianna the maid kept the rooms clean and was happy to provide help and assistance if needed. A 5 min walk to the centre Taverna Mythos served great food at a good price Euro30
for two garlic bread Greek salad suvalaki and a Lt of wine, didn't order a desert but on the house came a plate of frees fruit nectarine grapes and different types of melon, also a choice of ouzo or Rakia

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

7 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1
    3
    0
    1
    2
See reviews for
2
3
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Hungerford, England, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2012

Have just returned from this resort. The studios were basic but functional. The same as every other I've had in Portugal, Spain etc.2 ring hob, fridge, dresser and wardrobe. Clean, great shower - good water pressure, large balcony. Only downside the beds were hard and the pillow like a bullet. I would have liked a dustpan in the room (as I broke a glass) but in fairness I could have asked for this. I don't want to spend my holidays in the apartment so good enough for me.
The location was excellent, not sure if Angela T went to the same place but the beach was literally 1 min walk in a direct line. The pool was clean and a good size for swimming, again only 1 min from the apartment. Each beach bar had their own beds but you could hire any of them, all supplied lunches, beers, coffees etc. The beach was lovely and the life guards kept a keen eye on the guests when the sea got a bit rough.
As for the location, lots of different local restaurants all in walking distance, a number of supermarkets and ATM's and a brilliant bus service into Chania on the doorstep. I would return to this area/resort and highly recommend it if you want a base to get out and about.
Do be prepared to be harassed/touted constantly for massages on the beach but a firm no works well.

Room Tip: Take your own pillow.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
uk
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2012

good spot a minute walk to beach and very near to all this area has to offer, its own little beach bar,good food, and clean,.... but this place spoils itself by the owners not taking any notice of easily remedied complaints . the self catering is the most basic i have experienced in greece , but they do have a beach cafe??? the cookers were lethal one couple got a shock off theirs that fused the lights ,ours was broken so did not work as it should, we had been told yes we will replace tommorow ! they didnt,the flush was broken on the loo so was hit and miss whether you could get it to work or not without damaging it anymore ! we told them and i said i dont want to make the damage worse , also telling them at the same time that when you used the sink in kitchen either to wash up or do some washing when you let the water go it flooded the tiny bathroom ,!! . yes they said we thought we would have this problem in this appartment as some girls had previously trashed it !! others staying though said they had the same problem, every day they said we are waiting for plumber using the greek holiday time as excuse for not being able to get anyone! the rep was told and she even gave same sort of reason ... the beach is great the sea nice and safe for kiddies but there are 2 beach bars either side that play dance music all aft and one of them all evening as well so be warned take yourear plugs to the beach ! it.can get wearing :o(. plenty of tavernas good eating places excellent 24 hr bus service all along the strip nice little amusement areas for kiddies , water sports for teens, we were only there for a weeks r and r beach holiday and thats what we had but it was marred by the lack of concern re appartment , just glad we had not booked 14 days .... cos self catering would have been a nightmare !..... would stay in the area again no problem it was lovley ... but give this place a definate swerve ... sharon lancashire

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bury, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2012

The villa is quite a walk from the town centre. The amenities are basic. In my room there wasn't a kettle but there were mice! To get to the beach entailed a walk down a dirt track (no signposts, just guess) and once there it was difficult to see which loungers etc belonged to which hotel. There was a complex next door which became very very loud and noisy with 'music' being played at full blast, this was not conducive to the quiet holiday I was expecting. I moved out after two nights.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essex
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2011

Being seasoned travellers to the Greek Islands and having been visiting Agia Marina in Crete for the past 10 years, we have a rough idea of what to expect.

Agia Marina is probably one of the most pleasant beach resorts in Crete with a pleasant blend of tavernas, a superb golden beach and a genuinely friendly feel to the area. Certainly a resort that is family friendly.

We have in previous years stayed at another family run Hotel which was this year sadly shut due to the owners health. We saw Hotel Thodorou on the Olympic website and thought we would give it a go. In over 30 visits to the Greek Islands we have never used Olympic, and from this debacle from start to end we will never use them again!

We chose Hotel Thodorou because of its proximity to the beach (50mtrs) and central position (only 500 Mtrs from where we have previously stayed), all pointed to this being a promising alternative...what a mistake!

On the coach from the airport to the Hotel, the rep gave out intro packs to everyone which included a note of which room we were allocated to. On arrival at the Hotel, we were given our key, pointed in the direction of our room and were just walking off when the owner rushed up, took the key from us and beckoned us back to the rest of the arrivals. He went into a huddle with the young lady who was issuing the keys and suddenly appears with a different room key. It soon became apparent that the room was already occupied! Nice start!

On getting into our re-allocated room, my wife wanted a second pillow as the pillow on the bed was shall we say 'a trifle tired'. I wandered down, found the young lady who was distributing keys and asked her if we could have another pillow, she said of course no problem. Great! Well, great that is until we got back to the appartment after a late lunch and saw what had been left. Sadly I didn't take a picture of it, but we were given a very badly stained pillow sitting inside a rather grubby pillow case. I raised the issue with the owner, he said it would be sorted. It wasn't...or certainly wasn't for the next 3 days! I raised the issue with the rep who said she would look into it and get back to us. Well, she may have raised the issue but she certainly didn't get back to us...in fact we didn't see her for the rest of our two week stay! But that was no great shakes as she really was next to useless and was far more interested in selling trips than helping resolve issues.

The Olympic brochure states (or stated!) that towels and bedlinen are changed twice a week. An interesting take on changing towels and bedlinen twice a week...clean sheets/towels when you arrive, changed on the Friday/Saturday = changed twice a week. However if you stay for a fortnight, towels and sheets are then changed again on the next Wednesday and errr that's your lot!

Our change of towels in the second week presented us with an interesting specimen of a hand towel...I have attached a photo as what we were given is very hard to describe.

The rooms in fairness, were clean and basic. Ours had a partial seaview from the balcony. The bathroom was 'compact'. Mattresses on the beds were good and comfortable and in fact looked almost brand new. Surprisingly though there were no mattress protectors.

Also one should be aware of the proximity of the Villa Mercedes Nightclub which is only 200 mtrs along the beach from the Hotel. During the month of August and into early September, Villa Mercedes starts up at about 23.30 and continues until about 05.30. Great for night owls, but not so good if you like your sleep.

If you do stay here and have the temerity to complain to Olympic you will be given fairly short shrift with the coverall "well we have never had complaints before".

Some may be quite happy with this accomodation, we will not be returning to Hotel Thodorou and will never travel with Olympic again.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Ta Thodorou? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Ta Thodorou

Address: Kato Agia Marina, Chania Town, Crete 731 00, Greece
Location: Greece > Crete > Chania Prefecture > Chania Town
Amenities:
Kitchenette Restaurant Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #97 of 120 Hotels in Chania Town
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 17
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Hotel Ta Thodorou reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Ta Thodorou Chania, Crete

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Ta Thodorou, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.