We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Hotel!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Spilia Village Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Spilia Village Hotel to your Saves list
Spilia Village Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Spilia Kolimbari, Chania Town, Crete 730 06, Greece   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Complimentary bottle of wine
Ranked #55 of 120 Hotels in Chania Town
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Frankfurt, Germany
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Fantastic Hotel!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2014

Hotel was excellent! very warm staff, peacefull garden, very good breakfast, with fresh orange juice, and local Cretan products. We stayed to villa thalia, into a beautiful green garden, full of orange trees.

Room Tip: Villa Thalia
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

93 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    45
    31
    9
    6
    2
See reviews for
26
38
1
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Barnstaple, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2013

Great accomodation (large spacious room), great food and helpful staff; the nights are quiet and peaceful. We spent two weeks there and would happily return. Ideally, you need a car but there are plenty of facilities in the hotel and the pool is great (and I don't like water!). There is a fabulous taverna which is a couple of minutes walk up the hill and it is worth the trip for that alone. We visited the traditional pressed olive oil producer and the oldest olive tree in the west; both worth the trip. The lagoons to the north are worth a visit if your car and nerves are up to it, as is the nearest gorge to the south. Only downside was the local mosquitoes, but a trip to the supermarket and some plug in deterent soon sorted them out! Try the local house wine and the figs with ice-cream, then you might want to visit the gym afterwards.

Room Tip: Lots of stairs, find the rooms out back near the car-park!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2013

My week in the Spilia Village hotel in October 2013 was delightful. My room was spacious and very clean. Housekeeping needs were attended to by the staff promptly. The hotel which is a recent rebuild of an old mill consists of rooms around a good sized pool in shady gardens. The breakfasts were excellent with plenty of variety. I had only two negative points: the bed was hard (usual for Greece) and the packed lunches meagre, but both these drawbacks were minor in my overall impression of the hotel which was that it was charming and well worth another visit. I would recommend it to my friends.

Room Tip: Ask for one by the pool with WiFi - not all rooms have it
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampshire UK
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2013

The hotel is a little remote but was great for our organised walking holiday. Facilities are good, nice rooms, good food and lots of it including breakfast, really friendly and helpful staff. My only complaint was that sometimes the hot water wasn't hot but in all other ways it was a pleasure to stay there. (Really enjoyed that there were kittens in the grounds who, whilst not encouraged, were allowed to roam and looked pretty healthy).

Room Tip: We had room 122 in newer section over the bridge. Very nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

The villa is located on top of the village with excellent views. The double bedroom has a wonderful balcony with an excellent view of the village. The single bedroom has a more panoramic view. On the right is the sea, in the middle you can see the local church with all the lights on during the night and on the right you see some of the village's houses.

What I found really calming was the sound of the goats and the dogs in the early evening. The smell of the flowers and the natural environment.

Also the service was superb. The villa was cleaned and tided up by the hotel every day.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mirfield
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013

The hotel is an ideal base for a hiking holiday. The friendly helpful staff ensured my stay was enjoyable. The hotel has a lot of character and it is nice to be in a small village away from the tourist centres.
The breakfast and evening meals are excellent and local produce is used in the preparation of the meals.
A well priced picnic lunch and inexpensive drinks added to the feeling of well being.
The hotel has a lovely swimming pool for relaxing after the day's hiking.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Top Contributor
231 reviews 231 reviews
55 hotel reviews
Reviews in 86 cities Reviews in 86 cities
157 helpful votes 157 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013

We booked this hotel on the internet and we were pleased with it. It is not luxurious, but it is very very comfortable, and is well situated for visiting Chania, the White Mountains and the beaches at Kolymbari. We would certainly stay there again. Our first room was disappointing with a tiny shower room which frankly smelt, and whose shower was very old. On asking we were soon shown to another room with a spacious bathroom. Nearly all rooms seem to have an outdoor sitting area with a table, chairs and umbrella or a balcony. The staff were very friendly and we very much enjoyed all our food at the hotel. There is a small swimming pool, and most days there were only a handful of people around it. Most guests were couples like ourselves, who enjoyed sitting reading during the day and exploring and going out for dinner in the evening along the coast. Breakfasts were excellent - they have a machine for squeezing fresh oranges and they serve the most lovely Greek Yoghurt and tiny croissants which are as light as a feather. Fresh fruit was available and there was always a variety of cooked food as well as cheese and cold meats. If I wanted to find fault, I would say that they could have provided more local peaches and nectarines which were in season. However, one could eat as much as one wanted, and we thoroughly enjoyed our breakfasts and the variety of food on offer. My husband just loved the Greek Omelettes. Supper and food was availabe around the pool. The food was all wholesome, locally sourced and plentiful. The menu for the evening was a little limited, but we only ate in three nights and were happy with our generous portions and local house wine. Speaking to other visitors they all were in agreement that the menus were a little bit limited. We also thought the beds rather hard and the pillows rather synthetic, but overall we would recommend this hotel. The staff could not have been more helpful. They arranged a hire car for us, and we very much enjoyed our visit. Recommended to couples especially but it probably would not suit those with teenage children who would find it rather dull! One gripe was that the cleaning trolly with dirty bags and laundry should not be left outside by the entrance to the hotel as this was most off putting! The bottom line is that we would stay here again and recommend Spilia to our friends.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a proper bathroom and do not accept the first room your are offered! You might...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Spilia Village Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Spilia Village Hotel

Address: Spilia Kolimbari, Chania Town, Crete 730 06, Greece
Phone Number:
Location: Greece > Crete > Chania Prefecture > Chania Town
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Chania Town
#13 Luxury Hotel in Chania Town
#29 Romantic Hotel in Chania Town
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Spilia Village Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline and Despegar.com so you can book your Spilia Village Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Spilia Village Hotel Chania, Crete

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Spilia Village Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.