We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Crete 2013” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Spilia Village Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Spilia Village Hotel to your Saves list
Spilia Village Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Spilia Kolimbari, Chania Town, Crete 730 06, Greece   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #58 of 118 Hotels in Chania Town
Caerphilly, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Crete 2013”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2013

Great holiday. Really enjoyed our time at Spilia. We stayed in one of the villas which was wonderful as we we were effectively upgraded from the original booking of a superior room. Would certainly recommend the hotel...it felt very traditional and a world away from the mass market all inclusive option typically available through mass tourism. Thanks Spilia!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

91 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    44
    30
    9
    6
    2
See reviews for
26
37
1
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Shoham, Israel
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

This is our 2nd time at this hotel. This time it was even beter than the first time.
As before we were at the Irine vila. The vila is still in a very good shape. Milk and Illy coffee was waiting for us at the hotel (to take with us to the vila) while the wine was already in the fridge...
The stuff is great, ready to help you in anything and always smiling.
Breakfast is very nice with a good options for everyone.
The only problem was the wi-fi: at the vila the wi-fi had a problem so there was no connection to the internet inside the vila. However, we could use the network at the pool, so no big deal.
We are looking forward to our next vaction there!
This is a very good place for a summer vacation both with kids or with friends.
Note that you must have a car with you as there is no alternative in this remote village.

Room Tip: If you need internet connection make sure that the wi-fi at the vila is OK.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Avignon, France
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013

I have been going to Crete for several years and for me west Crete is the only place to stay on the island. We went to spiliavillage for the first time 2006, since then we go every August 14 days. Hotel is very beautiful, clean, friendly and quiet! We love spiliavillage!!!

Room Tip: Rooms closed to the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ηρακλειο Κρητης
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2013

We booked through booking.com 2 villas for 2 families of 10 persons. It turned out that one of the two villas were not available, so the management offered 2 suites instead with the same price, which we accepted thinking they were of similar quality. We didn't know though that the 2 "suites" were possibly the worst rooms in the hotel....
1. The suites were ground floor looking onto a communal road and did't have a veranta or balcony so no view. Further more, they were quite dark inside.
2. In one of the rooms, water was coming out of the floor drain after shower and the bathroom was smelling like swamp. Fixed the second day.
3. Fridge didn't work, fixed the second day.
4. Nowhere to hang swimming suites or towels to dry.
5. NO Internet in any of the two rooms.
And of course for these rooms we had to pay the exceptional price of one spacious villa with garden outside as we had seen in the pictures.

The villa on the other side was quite better with two disadvantages:
1. The villa was located approximately 400 meters away from the main body of the hotel, inside the village. That meant that we needed to walk or drive in order to go to breakfast or use any of the facilities of the hotel.
2. The stairs to the second floor were totally unprotected, without stair cage and thus completely unsafe for children.
3. The third night when we went back to the room there was no water for shower or toilet.
4. Reception was closed from 11 at night till next morning, so we needed to wait until next morning to take a shower.

On the positive side:
1. Located on a nice village.
2.Quite nice architecture elements
2. Sofia and the other reception lady (whose name I don't know), who did lots more than just reception work, apparently working over hours, and tried to do their best.
Conclusively, in my opinion:
- Definitely not a four star hotel.
- Definitely overrated!
Wouldn't go there again!

Room Tip: Do not choose the "Tripodakis" or the "Anastasakis" rooms. The hotel names them...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spiliavillage, Διευθυντής at Spilia Village Hotel, responded to this review, August 25, 2013
Dear customers, we have read carefully your comments and we would like to quote the following:
1. The booking of rooms, requested via world wide web on line booking system, with which we work flawlessly for years. The reservation program of booking.com, let you book two villas (without pool) instead of one that we have had available. The company (booking,com) contacted you, after consultation with us, explained the problem and asked to choose between another accommodation or two rooms in our hotel.
2. The distance of the villa residing eventually your friends or you, from the hotel is 400 meters and this refers to the description of the room. And we do not understand why you mention it, since you accepted the booking, you had to know that.
3. The price you pay for two maisonettes (was the price of villa, without pool) was finally cheaper than the price you should pay for the two rooms.
4. Our hotel for the most part has been completely renovated and we have tried to preserve the original shape of the buildings, the rooms were actually in the alley with a small balcony, but this was the original building and we respect it as we respect and all customers who choose our hotel.
But it is our obligation to protect our space from comments that do not reflect Honesty and Reality.
Sincerely,
The management
Of Spilia village
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lion-sur-mer, France
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013

A very nice hotel, near to the city of chania and close to all fantastic beaches of western Crete falasarna, balos, elafonissi etc.. Excellent breakfast, nice rooms. Good food in tavern. Free internet acess, gym and sauna. Only problem was the mosqitos.
We could not sleep first night we arrived, but after reception staff gave us something to put in the room. Anyway our holidays to Crete was excellent and relaxing!

Room Tip: Room near the pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2013 via mobile

Beautiful hotel with komfort rooms,very clear,big swimming pool,nice dinner area and very kind all staff.We really enjoyed our 5night there,and we will come back for sure.the Car is necessary,its great to see Ballos and elafonisi beach on this area...only wifi is on the lobby and pool area(poor),only one -tive thing.....

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Middlesbrough, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013

We stayed for the first week of the season, the hotel was 90% empty but the staff & breakfast were excellent. We booked half board & were the only diners each night, the dinner was most disappointing: we were asked to order at breakfast & the dinner was limited & not freshly cooked, either reheated from food cooked earlier in the day: including soggy chips, all of which was served luke warm. Our room was lovely & clean but the place had the feeling of early season trouble shooting; our bath took 2hrs to fill & neither the plugs on the sinks or in the bath worked & didn't empty. When we switched the jacuzzi on brown stale water came out. One morning we woke up to no running or flushing water at all in the room, although this was fixed during breakfast. The sauna didn't work at all & the indoor pool was freezing. Staff were very helpful..,
Disappointing for what we'd paid out of season - although I guess in season with full staff it's quite different.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Spilia Village Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Spilia Village Hotel

Address: Spilia Kolimbari, Chania Town, Crete 730 06, Greece
Phone Number:
Location: Greece > Crete > Chania Prefecture > Chania Town
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Chania Town
#14 Luxury Hotel in Chania Town
#30 Romantic Hotel in Chania Town
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Spilia Village Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Spilia Village Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Spilia Village Hotel Chania, Crete

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Spilia Village Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.