We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb Hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Orestis

Save Saved
You added Hotel Orestis to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Orestis
2.0 of 5 Small Hotel   |   Ano Stalos, Chania Town, Crete 731 00, Greece   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 67 Chania Town B&B and Inns
Angmering, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Superb Hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013

Although we only stayed for one night before moving to a villa Platon & Kostas were amazing hosts. The rooms (ingeniously designed) had the most fantastic views and the great pool was very welcome. The village is quaint and away from the bustle of the seaside development. Platon spent at least an hour marking tavernas and places of interest on our map as well as treating us to a very good Cretan chardonnay. Would definitely return and recommend to all.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

43 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    38
    5
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
7
30
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Aalst, Belgium
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2013

Just returned from Orestis in Stalos... and we already want to go back! Platon & Kostas: thank you so much (again) for all the hospitality, great room, beautiful view and swimming pool! We will recommend this hotel to everybody! This hotel is perfect for anyone who wants a quiet and relaxing holiday. The area is very beautiful and quiet, with the beautiful beach of Kato Stalos within walking distance. We will return to this hotel without any doubt!!!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

I have stayed at Orestis hotel twice. The rooms are spacious and very clean. The owner is very kind and friendly. The hotel is situated at a really quiet and peaceful area with a lovely view. The famous Greek tavern Leventis is very close to the hotel. I note, though, that a car is needed for transportation. One can easily find a parking space. I certainly recommend this hotel!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013

We also booked the accom based upon Trip Advisor, and there was no disappointment.
Kostas and Platon were amazing, the apartments are immaculate, the pool unbelievable, and the views WERE amazing. The tavernas in the town were all of high quality, with the Leventis Tavern unbelievably friendly. I was suffering a hamstring tear from 3 weeks previously but still found the walk to Kate Stalos at 20 minutes very easy and pleasurable. A taxi would cost average 5 euros there and back and we got a taxi back, but there is a bus from the village to Kato. In Kato the buses are incredibly regular. However the peace and quiet in the village is blissful and the friendliness of the regulars a wonderful change from our 'Facebook' society.
Beautiful and happily going back in October.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013

We booked Hotel Orestis based on the high TripAdvisor rating, but I think these glowing reviews create impossibly high expectations, and for us, at least, led to some disappointment. I think if we had seen a couple of more balanced reviews, we would have known what to expect and avoided this initial disappointment -- so I am going to try to provide such a review.

Here's what's absolutely true:

* Kind, hospitable staff who go out of the way to help you out - can't emphasize this enough, we felt so welcomed and taken care of by Platon and the rest!
* Simple but modern and well-equipped apartments, with 2 terraces each
* Beautiful, inviting common area and pool
* Great value for the money

Here's what disappointed us:
* The hotel is located in a village 2km from the nearest beach and the main road. The taxis are a ripoff, the buses are infrequent, so if you don't have a car, it's very difficult to get anywhere. And there's not really much to do in the village - it's pretty small and functional, not the type of place one can explore even for a few hours. Renting a car is a must...and having to drive everywhere takes away from relaxation time.
* The views are pretty, but I wouldn't call them fantastic or incredible - we had better views in our hotels in Napflio, Mystras, and Delphi. The "sea view" means that you get a little corner of the sea visible beyond the hills.

That said, we enjoyed our stay once we had adjusted our expectations (and rented a car)!

Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

Small apartment complex in a small village, two kilometers from the busy coast and a half hour drive from the airport of Chania. A stone's throw from three good authentic taverns and a shop for groceries. Each apartment has several terraces, on the poolside and overlooking the mountains and the sea. There's always shade, which we needed at the sometimes high temperatures. The Greek hospitality was great and made ​​our holiday complete. Arranging car rental, advising on excursions, restaurants and beaches... nothing was too much for Plato and Costas. We were here for 10 days and certainly will be back! This is an excellent base for rest seekers who want to explore the western part of Crete.

Room Tip: Highest apartments have the best view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013

We also came across Orestis on Trip Advisor. We were looking for accommodation for myself, husband, 3 year old and my parents as were wanted to explore some of the area involved in the Battle of Crete which my grandfather had been involved in and Orestis was ideally located for this. All I can say is what a find! It was beautiful - we had 2 apartments which were side by side but so easy to feel like we were all together as we had a common landing. Going in June meant it was not busy so the times we were in the pool, we had it to ourselves (my daughter's swimming came on a lot in those few days), and the views from the apartments were fantastic. We had hired a car which made life very easy for the tripping around we wanted to do, but we ate at all of the three local tavernas which were within 5 mins walk of the hotel. Platon and his staff were very welcoming and friendly and I cannot recommend Orestis highly enough.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Orestis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Orestis

Address: Ano Stalos, Chania Town, Crete 731 00, Greece
Phone Number:
Location: Greece > Crete > Chania Prefecture > Chania Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 67 B&Bs / Inns in Chania Town
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Orestis 2*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on the hillside in the peaceful village of Upper Stalos and built in the grounds of the Agha's Manor House (today Villa Orestis) dating back many years back to the Turkish Occupation of Crete, this small group of twelve apartments enjoy fantastic views of the sea and Crete’s White Mountains.Just 200 meters from the Village Square and similar distance from three of the best local taverns in the Chania area, you can simultaneously enjoy the charm of rural village life, coupled with the advantage comfortable accommodation and a lovely swimming pool.Also the distance from the sandy beach is only 1800 meters and the village has a good bus service to the town of Chania, which is only 9 km away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL and Otel so you can book your Hotel Orestis reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Orestis Chania, Crete

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Orestis, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.