We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Homely Hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Morfeas

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Morfeas to your Saves list
Hotel Morfeas
13-15 Isodion | Palea Poli, Chania Town, Crete 731 00, Greece   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #17 of 71 Chania Town B&B and Inns
Brecon, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Great Homely Hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

Had a weeks stay here and found it all you need for a comfortable and relaxing stay. Its very clean and its location hard to beat .Its run by Maria (mother) and daughter Amelia both of who's help and company are so enjoyable .Hotel is very clean, situated in one of the prettiest streets in the old town. Hope to visit again to enjoy Chania and this Hotel .Thank you Maria and Amelia. Next door is Taverna Colombo great place for food drink and chat with Nico the owner a great guy.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

39 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    19
    16
    3
    1
    0
See reviews for
2
19
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Leeds, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013

I agree with the previous review, not 5 star luxury but if you want clean comfortable accommodation right in the centre of the old town, this is a perfect place to stay. Amalia is extremely friendly and helpful at all times, even provided us with a hairdryer and kettle on request. If you arrive by taxi, be aware cars can't go into the little narrow streets where the Hotel is located, they will drop you as near as possible. The bus station is only a 5 minute walk away, we caught the airport bus on our return journey which was straight forward and less expensive, get a timetable from the bus station as the times differ on different days of the week.

Room Tip: We had room 5 which is very high up, didn't hear any noise from the bustling streets below.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingston upon Hull
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2013

If you want 5 star facilities go and pay 200 euros a night, if you want great location near the harbour about 20mts, friendly people at bargain rates this is where you should come.Amalia is really friendly and great person nothing is a problem, we are already planning to return.

Room Tip: Rooms 1,3,5 have balconies
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Orchard, Washington
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013

My husband and I are both over 60 and I am somewhat handicapped, but we are very adventuresome for all that. We have stayed at Morfeas several times for extended periods. Although the stairs provide some aerobic exercise, the gracious hospitality of the concierge, Amalia, and her family make that no problem. The rooms are small but lovely, extremely clean and pleasant. Ours had a small refrigerator and a little balcony where you could cook and make coffee on a camping stove if you chose. We bought food in the market and ate breakfast and lunch in our room. The alley below the balcony could get quite noisy at night, but with a sleeping mask and earplugs I had no problem with that. The bathroom is very basic, but provides very clean and practical toilet, sink and shower. Morfeas may not be the best choice for those who want luxury, but if you want to experience immersion in a lovely, warm Greek neighborhood that you will never forget, then this is the place for you.

Room Tip: The alley can be very noisy and light at night. I suggest bringing a sleep mask with you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Limassol, Cyprus
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013 via mobile

Nice wee hotel more of an english style b&b without the breakfast.

Amelia is very helpful. The rooms nicely decorated and good base for operations.

Tamam restaurant nearby 2 minutes walking. Worth a visit

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013 via mobile

Lovely spot. We were made to feel very welcome, I would totally recommend this hotel for someone looking for a real local flavour of Greek hospitality. My husband made a friend of the neighboring taverna owner and our little dogs made friends with everyone.

Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CYPRUS
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
51 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
121 helpful votes 121 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

We have booked the standard room and upon arrival, Amalia was kind enough to offer us free upgrade to a bigger room, With a balcony. The size of the rooms was perfect for the three of us and there was an extra bed for little girl.

Nice room, clean, small kitchenette, fridge, ac and a lovely balcony overlooking the narrow street with the old traditional houses.

I think that it is time that hotel will replace the old chairs in the balcony of our room as you have the feeling that it will break any minute from the time you seat on.

The hotel is on preserved building so there is no elevator which at the time of check in/out it is a good exercise!!! As we were on the 3rd floor!.

The location of the hotel cannot be better as it is just in the middle of the old town next to everything. The old port is just 50m away, super market, restaurants, café
And everything you need is just next to you. Also the KTEL central station is just 5min on foot.



Nice little hotel in ideal location at a budget price, just go for it!!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
amalia82, Owner at Hotel Morfeas, responded to this review, October 24, 2012
Dear roula and Thano
thank you for your kindness...youre right it is time to replace the old chairs in the balcony and i am apologize for that.
thank you again hope to see you again ..:)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Morfeas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Morfeas

Address: 13-15 Isodion | Palea Poli, Chania Town, Crete 731 00, Greece
Location: Greece > Crete > Chania Prefecture > Chania Town
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 71 B&Bs / Inns in Chania Town
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
MORFEAS: the principal god of dreams in the Greek mythology. Thus we decided to name this beautiful, small and family hotel, located at the old harbour of Chania at Eisodion 13-15 next to Metropolis and 300 metres from the beautiful beach of New Country. The building that combines old and modern creates a pleasant atmosphere that aims to offer you relaxing and calm moments at all times. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Morfeas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Morfeas Chania, Crete

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Morfeas, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.