We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful location - historical significance + modern luxury in one” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Monastery Boutique Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Monastery Boutique Hotel to your Saves list
Monastery Boutique Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Agiou Markou 18, Chania Town, Crete 731 00, Greece   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #44 of 114 Hotels in Chania Town
Certificate of Excellence
Norfolk, Virginia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Beautiful location - historical significance + modern luxury in one”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2014

We stayed here on March 25-26 during our port visit to Souda Bay, Crete. We had a group of 9 friends, so we rented 3 of the rooms on the second floor. The owners were incredibly friendly and helpful and made every effort to ensure we had everything we needed and all questions were answered. The views of the bay and city were amazing from all 3 rooms and the roof. The owner's plan on adding a jacuzzi to the roof which will be spectacular in the evenings. Cannot recommend this hotel highly enough if you're staying in the Chania area.

Room Tip: All three rooms we experienced on the second floor were spacious and soundproof. Room selection only...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Leo C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

67 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2014 via mobile

What a beautifully restored hotel. So unique. A must experience! It's immediately by the harbor and you can still see the old monastery part of the hotel. It's tastefully decorated with modern twists! It's so charming. Each room is named after the nuns from the old monastery! The rooms are lofts; on two floors. So space is NOT an issue. You cannot but appreciate this incredibly luxurious hotel!

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Nathalie K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Istanbul, Turkey
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2014 via mobile

This is certainly the most authentic boutiqe hotel,located right on the old port,with fabulous views,in 17th century converted monastery,beautiful suites with high ceilings and master bedroom on the loft with direct views to the port from your bed,tasty home made breakfast from Ioanna,the owners are two delightful cousins,that made our stay unforgettable.

Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
4 Thank Yannis R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Limassol, Cyprus
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2014

service excellent, staff helpful very warm, and friendly atmosphere
the rooms have beautyfull dezine and new furniture the beds is comfortable and very clean. excellent location renovate monastery brand new

Room Tip: ολα ειναι τελεια οποιο δωματιο και να διαλεξετε all rooms are perfect
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank theofania1997
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2014 via mobile

Renovated historic monastery turned into a boutique hotel with state of art architecture that combines modern clean lines with tradition. CLEAN spacious room with welcoming staff, comfortable bedding, and nice to have amenities. Great location, in the centre of the the old port, great view, and parking. Highly recommended.

Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
3 Thank Annatsa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Churchover, null, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2014

A beautiful newly refurbished hotel in a great location. The room was lovely. Nice and warm even though it was January. Can't fault it. It was my birthday and the owners made it very special for us. Thank you xxx

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Carolyn B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nyc
Level Contributor
19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2013

It was a historic building decorated elegantly and the owners are sincere and lovely. Everything was arranged in detail. It is centrally located and best restaurants and bars are in a walking distance. We had a lovely time

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank gulfem k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chania Town hotels
0.2 mi away
Casa Delfino Hotel & Spa
Casa Delfino Hotel & Spa
#2 of 114 in Chania Town
5.0 of 5 stars 641 reviews
0.4 mi away
Samaria Hotel
Samaria Hotel
#5 of 114 in Chania Town
5.0 of 5 stars 279 reviews
0.2 mi away
Porto Veneziano Hotel
Porto Veneziano Hotel
#6 of 114 in Chania Town
4.5 of 5 stars 728 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
La Maison Ottomane
La Maison Ottomane
#1 of 114 in Chania Town
5.0 of 5 stars 132 reviews
0.9 mi away
Halepa Hotel
Halepa Hotel
#35 of 114 in Chania Town
4.5 of 5 stars 179 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Belmondo
Hotel Belmondo
#22 of 114 in Chania Town
4.5 of 5 stars 158 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Monastery Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Monastery Boutique Hotel

Address: Agiou Markou 18, Chania Town, Crete 731 00, Greece
Location: Greece > Crete > Chania Prefecture > Chania Town
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#11 Luxury Hotel in Chania Town
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:4 star — Monastery Boutique Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Monastery Boutique Hotel has six elegant, luxurious suites: Valeria, Marussa (the Catholic monastery was built by Marussa Mengano), Santa Maria (the Italian name of the monastery was Santa Maria dei Miracoli), Venezia, Olivia and Lavinia. Each suite features: air conditioning, telephone, computer, wireless internet access (Wi-Fi), satellite TV, electronic safe, mini bar, hydro massage shower or Jacuzzi bath, bathrobes, slippers, hairdryer and high quality toiletries. And of course, on the beautiful roof terrace, you can relax and enjoy the panoramic views to the mountains of Crete and the sea! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Monastery Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Monastery Boutique Hotel Chania, Crete

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing