We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect location and view” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Lucia

Save Saved
You added Hotel Lucia to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Lucia
Akti Koundourioti, Chania Town, Crete 731 00, Greece   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #85 of 118 hotels in Chania Town
Bellevue, Washington
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Perfect location and view”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2009

After reading the review I knew this hotel was nothing special but I was mainly excited about the view from the room and it's location, which was worth it.

Since we barely spent time in our rooms anyway and spent entire time outside it was perfect to spend a night.

Just a reminder, make sure to specify a non smoking room!

One complaint I had was the bathtub. It was oddly shaped and had no shower curtain, so I had water all over the floor after the shower.

Location was absolutely perfect, right on the harbor and next to plenty great restaurants.

To get there you can take a bus from the airport, but we arrived late so had to take a very expensive taxi (as they usually are in Greece)

The bus stop was about 10 min walk, so we had no problem just walking with our suitcases when we left to Heraklion.

  • Liked — View, location
  • Disliked — bathtub
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

44 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    5
    19
    12
    5
    3
See reviews for
1
27
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
montreal
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2008

We stayed in Hania during July. We walked around after our ferry docked and came across Hotel Lucia. We payed 50 Euro a night for a room which had a balcony facing the harbour. The view was amazing. The room was clean and comfortable. the staff was very friendly and helped with directions and recommendations. I would highly recommend this hotel..

  • Liked — location, cleanliness, service
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, Greece
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2008

We stayed in a corner room with a small balcony facing the harbor.
Here's what I didn't appreciate about the place:
1. The bathrooms appear to be 'additions' to the original room plan -- They are a box within a box. The bathroom is extremely cramped (at least in our room _09). I'm used to tiny bathrooms in Greek hotels, but this one takes first prize! The toilet bowl rim extends into the shower space, and when one sits down, one heel rests on the shower basin rim. Also, there are no shower curtains; when you take a shower, so does the toilet bowl. No mop or rag is provided to help you clean up the puddle of water on the bathroom floor afterwards, and we had to use the bath towels provided. Proof of the tight space in the bathroom is that they had to carve out a square hole out of the bathroom door so it could open and close; otherwise the rim of the sink would jam against the door. This hole means that ALL sounds in the bathroom can be heard in the bedroom.
2. The hot water during the days when I was there didn't run 24hrs. After a long excursion around Chania, we'd return to the room at 4pm to find no hot water. We contacted the reception desk, and after a lengthy philosophical discussion about what could be wrong (including the following suggestion: try the cold water tap, the hot water might come out from there!) they turned the basement boiler on for us eventually. But this situation continued on a daily basis. We'd want to take a shower late in the day but couldn't most of the time.
3. There is a contraption affixed firmly to the wall next to the airconditioning unit and the TV. It's a self-timer, and I'm assuming that it's installed to prevent 24hr usage of the AC and/or TV. Well, this thing ticks and at night if you notice the sound, it might prevent you from sleeping. It was only on the evenings when I'd had several rounds of raki or wine for dinner that I managed to sleep soundly.
4. The closet seemed to have been sprayed with some sort of insecticide or air freshener. I couldn't hang up any clothes in there as they absorbed the smell. Also, the blankets must have been stored in this closet, as they too gave off the same odor. My roommate didn't complain, but to me this odor was a nuisance.
We peeked into another room on our floor and that too had the same problems as ours: cramped bathroom, no hot water in the afternoon, smelly closet/blankets, ticking timer on the wall.

Some positive things about the Lucia:
1. Walls/insulation between the rooms appears to be adequate, as we didn't have any problem with noises coming from rooms adjacent or above us (another common Greek hotel issue).
2. The Chania harbor hotels have an unbeatable view, but the scenic location also has its drawbacks. A couple of the cafebars on the harbor play music late into the night. One evening one of them had a large-screen TV broadcasting a soccer game. I'm assuming when the weather gets better and one is tempted to leave a window open at night, that the music & hubbub from the cafebars might be a problem. The Lucia's windows appear to be newly installed double glazing, and they do keep the sounds out.
3. Despite the tiny rooms, a small refrigerator is provided.
4. The location is convenient: there's a kiosk next to the entrance (for buying bottled water, etc.) and right behind the Lucia is the "Tamam" taverna, with excellent food (We dined there 4 times in 6 days).

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Bathrooms
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Chania Town hotels

Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2007

We stayed at the Lucia after visiting several other small hotels in the area which did not have the views and quoted twice the price. We paid 50 Euros for a 'no-frills' room with a balcony providing fantastic views over the harbour. You can't miss the hotel it's the only blue and white building on the harbour front. There is a great coffee shop downstairs providing breakfast (hotel did not supply) and a great restaurant in the small cobbled street directly behind the hotel. Who could ask for more? Staff friendly and helpful. Don't expect a fancy reception area - when you have the views this hotel has you don't need it.

  • Liked — Views and proximity to restaurants and bars
  • Disliked — Nothing really
  • Stayed May 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Lucia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Lucia

Address: Akti Koundourioti, Chania Town, Crete 731 00, Greece
Location: Greece > Crete > Chania Prefecture > Chania Town
Amenities:
Free Parking Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #85 of 118 hotels in Chania Town
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Despegar.com so you can book your Hotel Lucia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Lucia Chania, Crete

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Lucia, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.