We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean, no frills, budget hotel!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Irene

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Irene to your Saves list
Hotel Irene
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   9, Misael Apostolidou, Chania Town, Crete 73131, Greece   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #83 of 118 Hotels in Chania Town
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Clean, no frills, budget hotel!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2012 via mobile

We stayed here in July and found the hotel to be quite well placed just off Ye main drag and the rooms to be clean with everything you need. The wifi didn't work in your rooms only downstairs. But for the amount we paid which was around £10 a night- it was amazing! Would recommend if you want somewhere with no frills on a budget.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

37 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    4
    16
    16
    1
    0
See reviews for
5
19
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2012 via mobile

Hotel Irene provides basic, clean facilities with excellent customer service. We received valuable assistance from the multi lingual Vera. We were provided with excellent advice with things to do and places to see.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2012

We found this hotel on Travelrepublic and after looking at the reviews we decided to book here.
when we first got there we were met by our receptionist who spoke good english!we found our rooms to be clean and in good order, our breakfast consisted of meat,chesse,bread and my favourite of honey and greek yogurt and not forgetting the boiled eggs!! oh and tea and coffee on request! when bits ran out they were topped up at regular intervals!! the hotel is about 10mins walk to the harbour! one review said it was 20mins walk from the airport to the hotel???? please don't try this as it's 20 - 30 mins taxi ride!!
if your looking for a great little friendly hotel then stay here in hotel irene!!
we will be back.
The Raynors.

Room Tip: if you ask for a high room they will do thier best to get it for you!!!! we did.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norway
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2011

We checked out this hotel from the internet at a time when almost everything in Chania had been sold out. We told them we wanted a nice quiet room with a balcony where we could see the ocean. When we arrived they had saved us the best room they had and were incredibly nice. They were so happy to see us! We became at once a part of their little family.
The hotel is only average in accomodation - not the largest rooms, but it is clean and the rooms come with refrigerators, air-conditioning and hot water.
The location was perfect for us - the only hotel exactly half-way between the beach at Chania and the town. We only had a 10 minute walk to the beach and the same to dinner each night.
The main attraction was how nice they were. It was impossible to not feel at home there. It also came with a little breakfast, complete with cookies! Charming.
If you want an upscale hotel in the middle of the action, or something trendy, then you should check out an alternative for more money, but if you just want to have a clean quiet hotel where you are a valued guest greeted by a smile each time you enter or leave the hotel, it doesn't get much friendlier.

Room Tip: Just call or send an e-mail and tell then what you want. The people who work there are people, not...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2011 via mobile

The hotel is cheap, clean, near the beautiful port. The personnel is friendly. The breakfast is limited in choice but good. The rooms are small but clean and with ac and bathroom. It's no luxury hotel but it's perfect for budget holidays in charming Crete.Recommended for young people or people without too many pretensions.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2011

A simple B&B type of hotel, was quite reasonable pricing 35Eur per Double room with breakfast. Generally clean and good location. One bad thing was there was no one at the reception during the night.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Irene? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Irene

Address: 9, Misael Apostolidou, Chania Town, Crete 73131, Greece
Location: Greece > Crete > Chania Prefecture > Chania Town
Hotel Style:
Ranked #83 of 118 Hotels in Chania Town
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Irene 2*
Number of rooms: 21
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Despegar.com, HostelBookers, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Irene reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Irene Chania, Crete

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Irene, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.