We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Large, clean, and great value” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Esplanade Hotel Apartments

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Esplanade Hotel Apartments to your Saves list
Esplanade Hotel Apartments
Kalathas | Akrotiri, Chania Town, Crete 731 00, Greece   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #12 of 114 Hotels in Chania Town
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Montreal, Canada
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Large, clean, and great value”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2014

Pros: This hotel, close to one of the airports in Crete is a great place to stay for this who don't mind (or prefer!) being right outside all the hustle and bustle of the city centre.

We booked a unit with 3 bedrooms - this unit also had 2 bathrooms and a living room with kitchenette which was great. The views from out balcony were exceptional. The rooms are very basic, but really do reflect the greek theme, with their white walls and ceramic flooring (which really help with those hot hot days).

I would definitely (and have) recommended this hotel to others! The size of the hotel cannot be beat, and all this at a very attractive price.

The hotel has a nice, modest sized pool, and sun deck as well!

Con: The only con for me was Being close to the airport, so you do hear airplanes - so for people who cannot tolerate this, please be aware... though, it did not bother me so much.

Room Tip: See if you can get a room with a balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

87 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    76
    11
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
24
41
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
West Yorkshire, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2014

Stayed here for just one night (our last night) as it is close to the airport. The rooms were massive (with separate living room and bedroom). Only downside is the ac was only in the bedroom, and we didn't have a balcony.
The bed was so comfy!
Yannis was very friendly and chatty.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014

We stayed at the Esplande apartments during a week long break to Crete. The apartments are located about 10-15mins from Chania airport and a further 10-15mins to Chania town. We were met by the great host, Yiannis, upon arrival and shown around our room. The rooms are basic, but well furnished, spacious and very clean – beds were comfortable, great shower, lovely sea views from most of the balconies. Given how reasonable the rates were, I thought this was a very well presented and furnished apartment.

The location is nice if you like being slightly out of the hustle and traffic of Chania town, but close enough to reach it in a few minutes by car. You might struggle by bus, but I’m sure the hotel owner could advise – we got loads of excellent advice about less well known places to visit and the tourist traps to avoid.

Overall a really excellent stay, a welcoming host and great value. Would have no problem recommending.

Room Tip: Rooms on the front of the property have the best view, balconies that look out over the beach and th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basel, Switzerland
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2014

Located just 10km from Chania Airport Esplanade Hotel Apartments was a perfect place to start our Crete Adventure. Our flight was late in the evening so we were looking for a place located not far from the airport. Esplanade was our choice and it was a good one ! Yiannis is a great host which gave us a feel of greek hospitality. He will even put your country flag on the post in front of the hotel !!
A GPS is must when driving from the airport in the dark. It was not easy to find :)

Apartments are spacious and clean. When we arrived Yiannis left some snacks,water and Raki on our table :) There is a fridge and fully equipped kitchen in the apartment which is very handy when staying longer than 1 day.

The pool is great with good views on the coast.
The sandy beach and restaurants are located just 1300m from the hotel but you need to walk partly on the road so be careful when walking with kids. Also be aware of the dogs!
The sandy beach is great for children !

Kalathas is also a great for exploring Chania Town. Distance is about 15km

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2013

A group of 6 of us stayed for 4 days in the three bedroom apartment. Yaniss went above and beyond in welcoming us, including flying the Canadian flag. It is basic accommodation, no elevator and no fancy furniture etc. but great value in a great location very accessible to Chania and to the national highway and the airport. A car is recommended but there is bus service to the village. Once you figure out the winding roads it is relatively easy to get around. Keep in mind that he closes for the winter. We were the last to check out I believe.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rugby, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

As other reviewers have said, Yiannis is a brilliant host - he met us from the airport and even stopped off at the supermarket so we could stock up on essentials on our way to the apartments. We stayed here for 7 nights in September and had a one bedroomed apartment with a small balcony overlooking the apartments next door (Extremely noisy family next door for the first few days!). Although we got the morning sun with breakfast on the balcony, unfortunately this meant our only sea view was from the shared stairway and not the sea view balcony we thought we had booked, as the kitchen area window looked out onto the side of the next apartment. The apartment next to us would have been lovely with it's wrap around balcony of a decent size with good views - I don't know the number of this one but it is above the main reception.The facilities and equipment in the apartment are very good, the bathroom having the usual mixer tap over a hip bath, and the kitchen had a full sized fridge and kettle, two electric rings, coffee maker, toaster etc. Twin beds in the bedroom, which was air conditioned, and flyscreens at all of the windows and heavy metal blinds also in the bedroom. The apartment was kept spotlessly clean, and we had good quality towels (including tea towels) provided every day. Kalathas itself is little more than a hamlet, with the nearest of the 2 supermarkets within an easy walk. The beach was just over a mile away, and would have meant an uphill walk for the return journey so if you have any mobility issues you would need to use a car (as we did). The beach itself is great, as are the others on Akrotiri peninsular. There are some airbases nearby so there is quite a bit of noise from aircraft, but we didn't find this a problem. Chania old town/harbour is a very easy drive and a must see. Eating out can be a bit of a chore, as there is virtually nothing within walking distance, so this meant driving every evening to either neighbouring Chorofakia (Irenes for Greek food, Ramblers for steaks) or Kounoupidiana (Burakis for Greek food). Personally, I think 7 nights was too long in Kalathas, but it obviously depends on what you want to do and if you don't mind not having facilities within walking distance.

Room Tip: Ask for the apartment over the reception if you want a good view and plenty of balcony space
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

Yiannis is a fantastic host and goes out of his way we had an amazing holiday thank you and hope to be back. Full self catering facilities in room incl fridge etc. ideal if cooking for yourself and a supermarket nearby. There are only a couple of tavernas close by on the local beach and these can close early. Around 10km from Chania town but on a bus route 1.60 euros each way but last bus returns 8pm. Taxis between 13 and 15 euros one way. The location is a little bit out but a great base if you have a car or don't mind using the local bus network which is very good. Overal appartments are spacious, clean and well priced with good views of sunsets and sunrise from the room. We also had a sea view balcony room with tables, chairs and washing line etc. very good overal.


  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Esplanade Hotel Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Esplanade Hotel Apartments

Address: Kalathas | Akrotiri, Chania Town, Crete 731 00, Greece
Location: Greece > Crete > Chania Prefecture > Chania Town
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Chania Town
#5 Romantic Hotel in Chania Town
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Esplanade hotel-apartments is located in Kalathas, 9 klm from the center of Chania in Crete and only 850 meters from the sandy beach of Kalathas. All 13 apartments are comfortable and have all amenities that tourists will need while their holidays. Private bathroom, swimming pool, children's pool, Free WIFI INTERNET, AC, TV, fridge, kitchenette, telephone, etc. There are big apartments with 3 bedrooms, 3 bathrooms, 3 balconies, about 110m2/each one, which are suitable for big families or a group of 4-5-6 friends! Of course, there are smaller apartments for families with 1 or 2 small children and studios for couples. We can ensure our clients that we offer very clean and confortable apartments and an enjoyable holiday. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Esplanade Hotel Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Esplanade Hotel Apartments Chania, Crete

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Esplanade Hotel Apartments, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.